We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The nicest cottage we have ever stayed in.”
other travelers have booked this property
Rose Cottage frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage frontage
Rose Cottage from the other end Front elevation of kitchen and dining room - sitting room is to the left
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Rose Cottage frontage
Rose Cottage from the other end
Front elevation of kitchen and dining room - sitting room is to the left
View from the car park
Wood store and patio doors
Patio and decking areas
Showing covered oak pergola and sitting area, perfect for outdoor dining
Another angle of patio and barbecue area
The summer house, with three piece suite
Sitting room with inglenook and wood burner
Another angle of sitting room
And again!
Kitchen with Range Master cooking range
View of sitting area in dining room (sofas now changed including a recliner; new photo to follow)
Dining area
Another angle showing patio doors
Stairwell
King size bedroom number 1
Another view
And again
King size bedroom number 2
Another view
Wet-room including WC and sink
Walking along the railway line from Knapton to North Walsham
Walking down to the beach
Keep up!!
Mundesley Ship Inn, good food and ale!!
The Ship Inn garden in summer
View out to sea from the Ship Inn
View from the Ship garden to the beach
From the Ship to the sea!
Winter in Mundesley
Donkeys overlooking picturesque Mundesley from the cliff walk
Lizzie and Mundesley from the cliff walk; out for a stroll, and a pint at the Ship Inn on the way!
The cool and shady railway walk, leading to Pigney Wood, a nature reserve, and the Dilham Canal
Fabulous parkland view from the railway walk, sheep in the foreground - perfect!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mundesley, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Valerie B
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The nicest cottage we have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Beautifully equipped property, very conveniently situated for visiting all of North Norfolk.
Well furnished, comfortable bed, enclosed garden, convenient parking at the rear,
Only a short distance from Mundesley, Most places of interest a short drive away,
Lovely views and walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, cleanliness and convenience.
Liked least: No local pub - for meals.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2014
Thank you for a very positive review. We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C
Milton k
1 review
“Awesome cottage”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Fantastic base for exploring Cromer Overstrand the Broads etc
Very high standard cottage pictures don't do it justice very good amenities loved the remote control lamps and massive cooker etc great welcome pack with loads of information on local area
Was left alone by owners and offered help if needed would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2014
Thank you for a very positive review. We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portesham...
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

we stayed for one week with our German shepherd and two friends the cottage is beautifully renovated to a high standard and has everything you could possibly need for a very comfortable stay we also hired the boat for the day and had a lovely relaxing day on the broads. the owner Graham was helpful when asked for advise on where to go and what to do we will return again. even our dog was upset to leave !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the relaxing atmosphere of the cottage
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2014
Thank you for a very positive review. We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryelle1...
south west
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dog friendly cottage in peaceful location”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Rose cottage is a traditional Norfolk cottage which has been very nicely renovated for holiday letting. It is a couple of miles in from the coast and its easy to get to North Walsham for shopping and there is a range of supermarkets (Waitrose/Sainsburys/Lidl).
The facilities are very good and the owners are very helpful if needed. Dog friendly with an enclosed garden and plenty of chilling out space. Parking and access are to the rear of the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen well equipped. Owners helpful.
Liked least: We werent clear on access when we arrived but sorted it through.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2014
Thank you for a very positive review. We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
You have given us 3 points for access information and key pickup. The full directions of how to find Rose Cottage are included in the property details in the Holiday Lettings website, but to make this clearer, we will now make it a policy to send guests full details after booking.
You also rated our bedding at 3; all the bedding is brand new, and of excellent quality. We have a policy to equip our cottages with non-allergenic bedding as feather and down can cause an allergic reaction for some guests. We appreciate that this may be not be to everyone's liking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne J
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“East Coast magic perfect for a relaxing getaway”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Beautiful cottage newly renovated. Everything you could want for a relaxing stay. Plenty of information on where to go and places to eat in the Cottage. Owners very helpful before and after arrival. Highly recommend this cottage quiet location 2 miles from the coast. Mundersley has a fabulous beach great for walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Whole experience
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2014
Thank you for a very positive review. We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddi S
1 review
“Lovely cottage - everything you could need, well thought out!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

superb cottage in a lovely location only 2 miles from the lovely small town of mundesley,the cottage is fully equiped to a high standard and best of all the owners are very happy to allow dogs to stay,great local walks to the countryside,everything you require from a countryside retreat rental property

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2014
Thank you for a very positive review. We have tried to make the Lily Pad as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzy3852
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Rose Cottage has been beautifully rennovated for the 2014 season, and contains everything a you need, providing a home from home vacation. if you prefer not to cater for yourselves, there are a list of restaurants recommeded by the owner to hand. The cottage has a beautiful woodburning stove, which many may hope not to use, being early spring we didnt need to but felt we should enjoy the comfort it brings on a chilly night. The cottage is located well for those who like walking holidays and those that perfer to get out and about. Depsite being brand new, the owners were happy to also accommodate our two small dogs, who also enjoyed a few days by the sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2014
Thanks for a very positive review! We have tried to make Rose Cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing