We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay with friendly hosts”
Review of The Durdans B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Durdans B & B
Ranked #2 of 5 Mundesley B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very well kept and tastefully decorated. Hosts were also very nice. They got a baby cot for us and even offered to help with our bags. Location was good, Just 5 minutes drive from the mundesley beach. Brkfast was
standard but good still. Price looked a bit high though for size of the room though.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yokothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 156 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Booked on previous reviews. What a disappointment. Our twin room was cramped and awkward to move around for two people. Nicely decorated but spoilt by cluttered array of random pictures that looked like a job lot from a car boot sale. This is a case where less is more! Carpet in bathroom and no proper shower. The real problem was the beds, one of which had spent most of its life as one half of a double bed. It sloped steeply to one side where there was a large dip and I spent the night waking up and trying not to fall out of bed. On pulling back the duvet in the morning I noticed a dried blood stain on the bottom of the sheet that definately was not from me! Swapped with partner the second night and though an improvement this bed also dipped deeply in the middle. Breakfast was supposed to be ordered the previous night and every item counted even the slices of toast we required. We found this very annoying as we do not always know what we want until the morning. The choice was very limited with no fruit or porridge on offer and eggs either fried or scrambled. The coffee was very grainy and quickly went cold in the percolator. No doubt this was due in part to the cold dining room which was freezing on frosty mornings as it was not heated. The dining chairs were clapped out and uncomfortably dipped. We felt hurried to eat up as the hosts made it clear they just wanted to get on with their day. We were also woken at midnight by the owners dog barking as a family member arrived home and our room was above the kitchen. This could be a very nice place to stay if only the basics of a good bed and more varied breakfast choice were addressed.

Room Tip: Ask for larger room on sunny side of house. Avoid twin rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babs-4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having come from the B&B background myself it is fair to say that 'The Durdans' was nothing short of excellent. The welcome on arrival was very pleasant, spacious rooms with lovely garden views. Breakfast was fresh every morning with local eggs delivered daily. Our overall experience was excellent and would definitely visit again. Thanks Caroline & Andrew.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in March. Although the weather could have been kinder the accommodation and service certainly made up for it! Had a lovely welcome from the owners and would highly recommend the breakfast, certainly set you up for the day ahead. Owners very knowledgeable about local area and recommending places to eat. Beach is about 25 minutes walk away and the Ship Inn about 20 minutes walk, would recommend a torch if coming back in the dark! We ate at the Ship Inn on 2 nights and were not disappointed with the standard of food and service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from a last minute weekend away in Norfolk. Booked the Durdans after reading the rave reviews and we were not disappointed. Lovely place and lovely hosts. Booked the deluxe ensuite room "Sunset" which was huge with a sofa and lovely bathroom with corner bath and separate shower cubicle. Whilst the double bed in the Sunset room was fine, a king size bed would have been lovely. The fluffy thick white towels were to die for. Good tea and coffee making facilities with not only biscuits but chocolates as well! Good breakfast which you choose the night before. Car parking available. Had lovely evening meals at the local pub The Ship which is about a 20 minute walk away. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Durdans.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trundlie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Third visit to The Durdans we were not disappointed. All guests made to feel very welcome, friendly and enthusiastic hosts who are willing to share their knowledge of the local area. Lovely large bedrooms, 'Sunset', the deluxe room is recommended. Walk in shower and corner bath in a warm carpeted ensuite bathroom finish it off well and add to the feeling of luxury. Breakfasts preordered from a menu with individual choices and tastes catered for. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Sunset, the deluxe room is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0yrabutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 days in the company of caroline and andrew, never have we felt so at home than at the Durdans,kindness,thoughtfulness,excellent breakfast ,comfortable rooms,easy parking at the front door,wonderful coastline,good food nearby at the ship inn and also at the vernon arms,looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mundesley
0.7 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
304 reviews
3.9 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
940 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel, Mundesley
0.6 mi away
Overcliff Lodge
Overcliff Lodge
#1 of 5 in Mundesley
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Durdans B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Durdans B & B

Address: 36 Trunch Road, Mundesley NR11 8JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Mundesley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mundesley
Price Range: $97 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Durdans B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Durdans B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Durdans B & B Mundesley, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing