We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome house, great pool, great fun!”

Review of The Whim

The Whim
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Whim
Swimming Pool Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The Whim
Swimming Pool
Kitchen
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Double Bedroom - Ground Floor
En suite Bathroom
Shower room
Beach Below
Kitchen Diner
Cot Available
Decking and Outdoor Seating Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Mundesley, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nicbapro
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome house, great pool, great fun!”
Reviewed October 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A group of mums and children we found the most amazing spot for an Autumn beach weekend at The Whim. An amazing kitchen with the biggest table ever, a beautiful and comfy lounge easily seating all 14 of us, a fun pool with added sauna bonus and a view from a picture book. All of us loved our weekend away with many a swim, a short stroll to the amazing beach with kites, buckets and spades, football in the garden and luxurious beds. I highly recommend The Whim for groups like ours, family get togethers or groups of friends. Delightful in all ways. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious accommodation and fun pool
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“golden wedding celebration”
Reviewed September 23, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My family have just spent a long weekend at this property with my in laws (who stayed the whole week) to celebrate their golden wedding anniversary. There were 11 of us altogether and we had a great time in this wonderful house. The house was HUGE with very well proportioned rooms and never felt crowded. It was very clean and well equipped for larger parties of guests. The swimming pool was clean and fairly warm and the garden had great views over the sea. The only minor negatives were the pillows on the beds which were wafer thin and the pool cover needs replacing as it kept leaving small plastic discs in the water, which were coming off the underside of the cover. Overall a great location and accommodation for large groups to spend time together in comfort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbieCan...
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hen Weekend”
Reviewed November 30, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely, large house, in a lovely cliff top location. The house was spacious and spotless. The first thing that I noticed was that the house was well maintained and well heated. There's nothing worse than being cold! In addition, the beds were all comfortable, which is something that some rentals fall down on. All the other furniture in the house was good quality and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped too. The house is well situated, within half a mile or so of a Tesco express and in a village with a good range of places to eat and drink. The owners made themselves very accessible for any problems we might have and responded promptly when we contacted them. I would certainly go back to this property and would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
271Mandyd
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large family holiday”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Spent a week at The Whim with our children and four grandchildren (aged from 8 to 3 months) and this property was a perfect venue. The house is large and spacious with everything you need for a large family. The garden is perfect for children (and adults) to play with an absolutely stunning view of the sea. The indoor heated pool completes the package with a large table and barbecue area outside. We were able to walk into Mundesley which took about 20 minutes and a Tesco Express is 5 minutes walk. There are also plenty of places to visit within an easy drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house with fantastic views.
Liked least: Lack of bathrooms and toilets
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G
Leamington Spa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large family”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at the Whim in May this year with a family group ranging from my 2 week old grandson, to my mum and dad who are both in their late 70's. The house is set on a cliff overlooking the sea at the end of a long garden (where you could find my dad enjoying the views every morning). The children loved the indoor pool and it was difficult to get them to come out to go into Mundesley, a lovely little village, with a few shops and pubs, a park, amusements and crazy golf; which was a short walk away, or a drive into Cromer for catching crabs on the pier. All of the rooms are large and even though we were a big group, with dogs, there was plenty of room for everyone. I had to contact Clair the owner on a couple of occasions to sort out changes I had made, and she couldn't have been more accommodating. A lovely place to get away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was lovely
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful, whimsical weekend at The Whim”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Following a perfect weekend at The Whim with the girlies I am already plotting another reason to go and stay. The Whim is right on the beach giving the most fantastic views of the sea. Close to everything you could possibly need, not that you need much as we found plenty of essentials ready for us to use.
The pool was amazing and offered hours of fun for us all.
Above all the house is so spacious we never found ourselves feeling over crowded, it really was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easty83
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hen weekend away”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just returned from having a lovely weekend at The Whim. The house is gorgeous and very big. I stayed there with a group of girls for a relaxed hen weekend. We used the pool which was heated and used the sauna also. The bedrooms are all of a really good size and decorated nicely. Plenty of space for parking. I would defiantly recommend staying here and hope I get the opportunity to stay again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing