We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kokstad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peacehaven Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 23 Kokstad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Really impressed with our stay at Peacehaven. Pat and James were very welcoming and friendly. We took the dinner, bed and breakfast option. The cottage was cosy and nicely decorated with a great view. The dinner was really excellent: three courses including roast beef fillet with multiple sides and salad. Breakfast was also top notch. Perfect all round, many thanks!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
39
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Warm welcome, comfortable, beautifully appointed bedroom and bathroom. Evening meal and breakfast both superb. Best DB+B, both from an enjoyment and value perspective in beautiful peaceful valley. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2014

A very comfortable place to stay, in beautiful and quiet surroundings! We were particularly pleased by the setting, with well kept gardens and a lovely view of Mount Currie. The staff and management were very helpful and flexible to our needs, the room elegant and comfortable and the food delicious!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This guesthouse is situated in a wonderful surrounding. The service is very familiar, the hosts are very friendly and the meals are well prepared and delicious. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We can highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sabine19682014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

usually do this in 1 go but 8hrs plus is a hard days driving from Durban down to East London, now we have experienced Peacehaven never again!!
very friendly and comfortable accommodation
excellent dinner and breakfast
would thoroughly recommend
THANKS TO ALL

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muldersdrift
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I was attending a sheepdog trial nearby and needed a private pet friendly place to stay. The cottage I was provided at PeaceHaven was perfect with a small fenced secluded garden for my dogs as well. Facilities were perfect for my requirements.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

A very nice stay in what felt like an outdoor get away. I would love to come back when there is snow on the hills! Only 15 minutes from the main town and easy to get into town. It is a far better option than staying in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kokstad hotels
15.2 mi away
Ingeli Forest Resort
Ingeli Forest Resort
#1 of 2 in Kokstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
The Old Orchard
The Old Orchard
#1 of 3 in Kokstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mooidraai Guest House
Mooidraai Guest House
#4 of 23 in Kokstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
The Planes Guesthouse
#18 of 23 in Kokstad
2.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rest Assured Guest house
Rest Assured Guest house
#10 of 23 in Kokstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacehaven Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacehaven Guesthouse

Property: Peacehaven Guesthouse
Address: 5 Km 2nd Avenue | Kargs Post Valley, Kokstad 4700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Kokstad
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Kokstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, James & Pat Kotting, invite you to unwind and relax in the heart of the beautiful Kargs Post Valley, just outside Kokstad. Peacehaven is situated in East Griqualand at the tip of the Southern Drakensberg and central to Pietermaritzburg, Durban and Umtata. Located 5km off the N2, this cosy and intimate guest house has a magnificent view of Mount Currie. The majestic mountains which surround Peacehaven Guest House provide a breathtaking backdrop to the scenic walks, horse trails, trout fishing and bird watching available in the area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing