We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traumhaft schön, Absolutely beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strandhotel Duenenmeer
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dierhagen
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My fiance surprised me with a night at Dünenmeer Hotel and Spa for my birthday in Autumn. We stay in a double room with a sea view with full pension (breakfast and dinner). We cannot fault this beautiful hotel. Smaller than it's sister hotel 'Fischland House' a km or so away, it is the perfect place for a romantic, relaxing weekend away. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and the hotel is full of small touches such as a complementary glass of prosecco on arrival and complimentary biscuits, fruit and coffee (Nespresso machine) in our room. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The extremely comfortable bed with down doonas and pillows is positioned such that from the bed you have a sea view...just dreamy. If you can drag yourself out of bed or away from the balcony, don't forget your complimentary wellness baskets filled with bathrobes, towels, slippers (everything you need to take advantage of the cosy sauna (with fireplace) and wellness centre in the hotel). Beach towels are available at reception in addition to bike hire for a small cost. The outdoor restaurant offers cakes and coffee during the day in addition to a small menu with salads and small meals such as flammkuchen. About 50 m walk away is the beach. The only area that did not live up to our expectations was the dinner (included in the full pension). DInner was a 3 course meal (a choice of two different dishes for each course) and we both thought that the quality could have been better. It should be noted however, that there are two different restaurant menus (one for people that have booke full or half pension with their rooms and the normal menu). All in all, the perfect place for a weekend away. Looking forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubamaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Strandhotel Duenenmeer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 138 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel is located on lovely stretch of sandy beach just behind the dunes. It is a modern hotel with good spa facilities. The ambiance and food are excellent and the hotel, surrounds and beach are very clean. It’s an upmarket place but overly luxurious, just right in fact. Many rooms in the hotel have excellent sea views. However, we booked late and there was no room at the hotel and were where offered an apartment in a thatched roof house instead. This had a balcony overlooking the dunes and sea and was very good. If you stay in the reed covered houses you need to be on the upper floor to see the see in order to look over the dunes.

The beech is a delight. There are traditional Strandkorb (literally beach basket) for hire (€8/day sits two people). There is a hut that serves drinks and food run by the hotel. This being the Baltic, the sea is bracing but invigorating. The beach is also great for jogging and it’s not crowded, even in August. During the weekend a few more people turn up, but even then there is plenty of space. The area is great for cycling (bike available at hotel) and other activities. The hotel caters for Germans. While the reception staff speaks English, the menus in the restaurant are not available in English. This doesn't matter much because there are friendly people all around happy to help out.

Minor niggles: The shower was a bit old fashioned and small. There was not broadband internet access in the apartment (a fix was offered free of charge but this did not work, but I could use Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby, also free). There is only one non-German TV channel, CNN.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My husband and I went to the Strandhotel Dünenmeer for the second time this past weekend for his birthday and it was lovely. Wonderful service from the glass of prosecco upon arrival, the great food, afternoons on the terrace for coffee and cake or a glass of wine, walks on the beach - all amazing!
We enjoyed the spa/wellness area with its pool and different saunas.
The food in the restaurant is for the most part very good other than on one night when the fish was overcooked.
Great, friendly service. 4 Star superior is an accurate rating for this hotel.
I would reccomend this hotel for a couples' weekend or a spa getaway for the girls.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misschrissyBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: DZ mit frontalem Meerblick nehmen
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RalfD1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer 316
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wohlfuehler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isolde H, Manager at Strandhotel Duenenmeer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isolde H, Manager at Strandhotel Duenenmeer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Valéa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isolde H, Manager at Strandhotel Duenenmeer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dierhagen
0.6 mi away
Strandhotel Fischland
Strandhotel Fischland
#2 of 5 in Dierhagen
67 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Grand Ahrenshoop
The Grand Ahrenshoop
#1 of 6 in Ahrenshoop
253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ostseehotel Dierhagen
Ostseehotel Dierhagen
#1 of 5 in Dierhagen
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
IFA Graal-Muritz Hotel Spa & Tagungen
5.7 mi away
Dorint Strandhotel Ostseebad Wustrow
Dorint Strandhotel Ostseebad Wus...
#2 of 4 in Ostseebad Wustrow
77 reviews
18.4 mi away
Steigenberger Strandhotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhotel Duenenmeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhotel Duenenmeer

Address: Birkenallee 20, 18347 Dierhagen, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Location: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Dierhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dierhagen
Price Range: $177 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Strandhotel Duenenmeer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Strandhotel Duenenmeer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing