We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Insomnia”
Review of Hotel Villa Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sonia
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castelmola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The view is unbeatable. But we were kept awake at night by barking dogs and cockrels - ok this is the country, but still. I wouldn't bother to eat at the hotel - disappointing and breakfast is very meagre, including left-overs from the night before in the restaurant and wedding parties.

A nice swimming pool, just a shame that we had to ask for towels to be brought. The mini-gym is a running machine. Breakfast tables need to be cleared while we are still at breakfast to avoid a large build up during breakfast.

Quite a nice hotel (it is clean and the view is amazing) that is inefficiently run.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rupert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 481 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 303, a beautiful, comfortable, well appointed room with an absolutely incredible view of Mt. Etna in all her active glory, right across the canyon. It was outstanding, and the fact that we were there in the off season reduced the normal 250 euro per night fee considerably!

The staff, from a charming blonde, Australian-born lady and charming Giuseppe at reception, to the sweet maids in the halls, were tremendously helpful and kind.

I have only two quibbles, and the biggest of them concerns internet access. We are on the road for a number of months, and having access to our accounts in time zones very different from Italy's is extremely important. Although the hotel personnel are pretty sure that all the rooms have internet, we know absolutely that room 303 does not. Internet connectivity ceases at the doorframe. If you sit in the hail chair provided next to the doorway (fully dressed, of course, at 1am), you will be connected. If you stand IN the doorway, you will be connected. But if you take ONE step into the room, you will not be. All that is needed to verify this is to carry an ipad or laptop from the main desk down to 303, and try it. I understand that installIng routers is expensive for hoteliers, but really, a hotel of this class should be prepared to run the connection a few extra feet, into the room itself.

Second: Could the hotel get an internet account that does NOT require the client to log in again--and again--every ten to twelve minutes? When this occurs in the middle of a transaction, important information can be lost when you are interrupted by the loss of service.

However, even with these little irritations (which I hope will soon be corrected), this hotel is simply stunning, a jewel that no one could fail to be charmed by.

It is a marvelous place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohtryit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A truly first-class hotel, with huge rooms, huge terraces, friendly staff and a view of Mt Etna that cannot be surpassed. Rather than stay in Taormina we found this eagle's nest high above the crowds, and were so happy we stayed several days there. Note that it is a long and twisty drive, but the hotel has a shuttle bus to pick you up at the train station. One little note: room 303 didn't have wifi signal, even though they insisted that it did. We sat in the hallway to connect. So check the signal in your room before you unpack.

Room Tip: Check the wifi signal in the room if wifi is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent experience. The hotel is in a remote spot which permits enjoying fantasting views if the natural landscape. You'll need a car, and I suspect that a taxi ride is likely to be expensive. Hotel offers shuttle to Taormina, but check frequency. Good service, friendly staff, clean rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anedonia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

High on a hillside several km above Taormina, the only practical way to get there is to drive up a v. steep , narrow and winding road with parked cars & buses etc - not for the faint-hearted! The rooms are excellent, great views, service very good. Food, though, is average at best (given that we are in Italy!) with the only easy alternatives a few little places in Castelmola which we did not try. Don't stay here if you want to just go out for walks in the countryside - the access really is difficult and you don't want to drive away and back more than once a day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plenipotentiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Going to fall in line with all the positive reviews. Our three days here were a joy. Highlight of course is waking up to the views of Etna, continued over breakfast offering lots of choice. The hotel itself oozes charm and character, the staff were great and gave us some great tips for visits. Food in restaurant was excellent - particularly compared to what some Castelmola restaurants pass of as food. This place goes into our top five places to stay - with a bullet!

Room Tip: You will need to book rooms with the view of Etna. Enquire about size of balcony, most are very smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arsewiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Quiet comfortable and clean hotel with incredible views. Breakfast on the terrace a delight! We did not eat in the hotel other than for breakfast but walked (climbed!) up the steps to Castelmola with it's charm and delightful restaurants and views. Poolside at Hotel Villa Sonia was great - enjoyed lunch by the pool. Easy access to Taormina - and so glad we stayed in Castelmola!

Room Tip: Ask for view over Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithbull007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelmola
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,888 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#33 of 87 in Taormina
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#18 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sonia

Address: Via Porta Mola 9, 98030 Castelmola, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Castelmola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castelmola
Price Range: $98 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Sonia 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Sonia is a historic rural home situated in Castelmola in the district of Taormina where a real corner of “Paradise” awaits you. A charming residence surrounded by green vegetation and having as much tranquility as one would desire, ideal for romantic escapes or family holidays. Ensuring your relaxation are its position, structure and the professionalism of its qualified staff, which provide the facilities that enable you to spend all the time you want to, reliving ancient times and rediscovering unique flavours that only a land as rich and generous as “Sicily” can give you. Tradition, love and hospitality for every single characteristic and detail distinguish our rooms and accompany our guests in the best periods of the year. The hotel is set in a unique and silent natural environment, yet just a few kilometers from Taormina and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Sonia Castelmola, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing