We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and good food”
Review of Gallo Cedrone

Gallo Cedrone
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Castelmola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Västerås
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple and good food”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Simple food and menu, no fuss, but the taste was really plesant. Super cheap and great value for your money, sweet staff who served really tasty bruschetta and marinated olives, free of charge. Recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Elinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    99
    29
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
177 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Find this place!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were directed to Gallo Cedrone by our guide as we wanted a simple lunch. When we got there we met the family and enjoyed one of the best casual meals we had in Italy. With two boys under 16 we had to have pizza and pasta. Everything was wonderfully tasty and super fresh. BUT it is the family that runs this simple place that made it special. When they found out it was a couple's wedding anniversary they could not do enough to make it an event with comped wine toast and pictures with Mamma Maria. They treated us like royalty as we ate with a view of Mt. Etna. The restaurant is a short walk but so worth seeking it out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Went at lunch. Food and service was good. Very friendly staff. Good food at a reasonable price. Good location.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Hospitality Roberto and Mamma Maria!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were on a tour in Messina and our tour guide suggested Gallo Cedrone Restaurant. What a nice welcome we received. They couldn't do enough for the 5 of us. We all had the Margherita pizza and some beers. I usually like to sprinkle some red pepper on my pizza and I asked if they had any. Well Roberto came out with a home made version of a red pepper sauce. It was wonderful, not to hot, just the right touch to enhance the pizza sauce and cheese. We also decided to try Roberto's cannolis. He told us they were the best. They were the best we have ever tasted and we all just were so pleased with our meal. Thank you again Roberto and Mamma Maria for a delicious meal. I had always heard that the Sicilians make the best cannolis and I have to agree! If you are in the area, stop by and enjoy the views, hospitality and wonderful food Gallo Cedrone serves!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stella39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Perhaps because we tend to stay in touristy areas, we have generally found service in restaurants in Italy to be efficient but little more. Not so at Gallo Cedrone; we felt genuinely welcome and we enjoyed a bit of chat with the family who run it. Go for the hospitality, and the amazing view of Etna, and expect simple, tasty but not exceptional, food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandJaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo Cedrone also viewed

Castelmola, Province of Messina
Castelmola, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Gallo Cedrone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing