We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'Blessed' Safari” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Explore Gorongosa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorongosa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Explore Gorongosa
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A 'Blessed' Safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our guide, Blessed, was responsible for making this a brilliant stay with his knowledge of Birds adding to our enjoyment. The flood plain was amazing with sightings of fourteen different species of Antelope. After the devastation that left this Park denuded of much wildlife, the efforts of Greg Carr are bringing back the animals that made this area a top location in the 1920s. We were fortunate enough to meet Greg, a modest man with a great vision, and we urge those seeking a remote wilderness far from the Tourist trails to support the project. The normal Charter Flights from Beira have been suspended so take advantage of the 4 hour transfer to appreciate the way of life here. Also don't miss a swim in the Murombodzi falls on Mount Gorongosa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Charles36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The first time we explored Gorongosa was March 2010 (see Unspoilt Africa review, 23rd March 2010) during the wet season. We loved it then, but our exploration of the park was limited because of all the water that was still lying, and we vowed that we'd go back for longer, in the dry season in 2012. And we did, for 5 nights, and we still love it.
We were really sad that Rob and Jos have moved on, but the camp is still run to exceptionally high standards. We also combined 5 nights in Zim this year and I can honestly say it betters some of the Zim camps. The tents are spacious and very well equipped with solar powered lights, torches, magazines, bedside tables, a desk, shelves, and writing bureau (and the beds and bedlinen are still unbelievably comfortable). I think the open air bathroom (huge soft towels, eco-friendly shampoo, conditioner and body lotion provided) is the best bit - having a bucket shower while watching warthog trundling around in front of the tent is wonderful.

The food that Hakim produced from his very basic kitchen was amazing and again, was the best of the entire trip. Particularly the bush breakfasts (top tip - green tabasco on eggs) and the best coffee. We also enjoyed beautiful dinners featuring tender and delicious steaks, pork, vegetable curry, and afternoon teas which included a savoury AND a cake.

We spent our time on game drives and walking with Blessed our guide, whose knowledge of everything in the bush was incredible, who was great fun (fancy climbing into a croc hole anyone?), patient (and one of the guests, who made a fuss about everything, would have tried the patience of a saint), authoritative when he had to be, and all in all, just a great guy. As was Geoff, one of the other guides, who looked after us when we couldn't stand the company of Mr Grumpy a minute longer.

We did the fly-camping option and really enjoyed it - smaller tents, only 4 guests, a shared bathroom, and a different area of the park. Someone (!) complained because the camp was only located 2 - 3kms from the main camp, but it still took a good 20 minutes to drive there, it was in a different habitat - on a plain as opposed to the riverbank, and our walks and drives were equally interesting. Njinge our scout even managed to catch a poacher and de-activate a couple of traps while we were fly-camping.

If you have been on safari before, or even if you haven't and are tempted to go, you must support Gorongosa. The work they are doing not only to support the wildlife in the park, but also to support the locals by giving them work and prospects is truly heroic. Why invest your holiday money in a millionaire's camp in Kenya, when it could really make a difference to someone who needs help? It is a beautiful park and stuffed with all manner antelope (huge herds of sable, kudu, waterbuck, oribi, nyala and much, much more). We saw three of the big 5 (or fab 4 as they should now be called) and an aardvark (which sent Blessed into orbit with excitement!), not to mention the virtually tame narina trongo (beautiful green bird) that hung around camp.

And finally.... we bumped into Rob at Mana Pools a week after we'd been to Gorongosa and had a very noisy reunion - small world!!

Room Tip: All the tents are set apart, and none overlook each other so there are no "best" options
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank fmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was our first ever safari experience and I imagine a tough one to beat. The tents are very comfortable and well spaced out, so you really feel part of the bush and at one with nature when relaxing outside the tent in between game drives. The activities are very flexible and we didn't just go on game drives but also walking safaris and a trip to nearby Mount Gorongosa which was stunning. The food was super tasty and very prolific with lots of big meals! Pre-dinner drinks round the camp fire followed by a tasty dinner washed down by plenty of Merlot topped off each day perfectly! Finally, I can't speak highly enough of the staff - they were very friendly and efficient, and Blessed our guide made the whole experience really memorable with his knowledge and enthusiasm. Definitely worth a stay if you want to get back to nature in Mozambique.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank experience_things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed for three days and wished it had been longer. We got so well taken care of, with a personal and super friendly service and a very professional and knowledgeable guide called Blessed.

It was amazing to see and hear about the restoration of the Gorongosa national park, a sad history but with a hopeful future - as it seems now anyway. We were pleasantly surprised to see such a variety of wildlife, knowing that the number of animals is far less than in many other African countries. We had great lion sightings every day, saw majestic elephant groups and several cervals - and much more.

With only six tents, separated by at least 30 meters, it is really an exclusive camp in the "barefoot luxury" kind of way, with a friendly personal touch.

You really got the feeling that you were on your own looking out on the bushes from our tent, having siesta between our safari drives. Sitting by the fire and having dinner with all the wildlife sounds close by is something I truly miss, being back in the “real world” again, and Mozambique is definitely a country I want to revisit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ETWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

(If you have lions and elephants in your backyard, that is.)

I came to Explore Gorongosa not even knowing what to expect, but I left extremely impressed by the experience. Gorongosa National Park is a special place, and thanks to the efforts of many over the past few years, the park is slowly being restored to its former greatness. Its not the place to come if you'd like to see the Big 5 in one drive, but it is the place to come if you want the peace and quiet of being the only Land Cruiser for 99% of the time, which affords the luxury of following the animals as they move through the various parts of the park.

Explore's camp is filled with spacious tents, and the luxurious beds ensure you sleep like a rock, despite the lions roaring in the distance, or the cries of the bushbabies right outside your tent. Each day the wake-up call (a verbal "knock-knock") was accompanied by a bowl of warm water placed in the outdoor bathroom, and the bucket showers were available whenever you were ready. Trust me, you wont miss TV, computers, or your iPhone for a few days. The days are so exciting, when you fall into bed you'll be ready for rest.

Our guide, Blessed, is a literal encyclopedia of knowledge, and he made the drives special as he pointed out everything from birds high up in the trees to the various types of antelopes residing in the park. Also, the camp manager, Greg, helps to plan the daily activities, and he managed to facilitate my arrival despite my best efforts to use public transport to arrive here (word to the wise: its not worth it!).

The meals that kitchen cooked were diverse and delicious, and eating al fresco and enjoying cocktail hour around the fire really made me feel connected with the outdoors. Coming back from the drives, the greeting could not have been more hospitable, as the staff stood by with refreshing towels and eagerly awaiting our reports from the day.

Go solo, or go with a group, but just go to Explore Gorongosa. Its a place that's not to be missed in beautiful Mozambique.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffS551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bergholt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I visited in May 2012 as a solo female traveller. My stay ranks as one of the greatest experiences of my life to date. Everyone in camp was so kind and welcoming. Jeff's wild safaris have to be experienced to be believed and are really quite special.
On my first evening drive we saw a cheetah and again the next day and there are only two in the whole park. How lucky was I?
I was fortunate that my 4 night stay partially overlapped with Paola Bouley ( lion researcher) and on drives with her and Jeff we found lions on several occasions.
The highlight of my last day was finally tracking down a herd of 30 plus elephant including several young.
This is the most amazing place to visit. I feel extremely privileged to have experienced such a special place. The accomodation and hospitality is second to none. I loved my open air showers and loo with a view!
Thank you guys for a wonderful time and sorry it has taken me so long to get around to writing this review. I did warn you that I was not technologically advanced! I really hope that I will be able to return and see the progress being made with this beautiful park.

Room Tip: travel light. You really do not need too much. Bathroom toiletries like shower gel, shampoo etc are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I visited Gorongosa in June 2011 with a small group of six people. We came expecting a bit more game, but were not disappointed with the amazing number of birds we spotted in seven days and the numerous terrain changes experienced on a typical safari day from marshy areas to palm and fever forests to magnificent grasslands and flood plains. We saw some game like antelope, two lions (although we had tracked them for days), wildebeest, and a few elephant as they mainly moved at night. The tented accommodations were tastefully done, not over the top, but as nice as eco-friendly tents can be. I loved the bucket shower! The food and service were top notch. Would I go back again? Without hesitation, yes.

K Z. Fung

Room Tip: I had a tent close to the river and loved hearing the hippos at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aumkathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorongosa National Park
0.0 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montebelo Gorongosa Lodge & Safari
Montebelo Gorongosa Lodge & Safa...
#1 of 2 in Gorongosa National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explore Gorongosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explore Gorongosa

Property: Explore Gorongosa
Address: Gorongosa National Park, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Sofala Province > Gorongosa National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Gorongosa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Gorongosa is the first private safari offering within Mozambique’s flagship Gorongosa National Park. Explore Gorongosa provides guests with first-hand insight into the visionary restoration project underway within the park; through walking, drives and water-based safaris (season dependent), guests will be introduced to this amazing yet fragile ecosystem. Their highly experienced regional guide will lead guests on this wonder-safari through the ever-changing eco-zones, incredible birding and abundant game viewing opportunities of Gorongosa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Explore Gorongosa Hotel Gorongosa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing