We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This resort had lovely spacious condos. Our travel group stayed in the one and two bedroom units. Food was limited in choice but prepared extremely well and very tasty. This is smaller resort so too much variety in food may create too much waste. Snorkeling was awesome right off the beach! Lots of fish to see right there. Did a side trip to lovely little paradise of French Key. Staff in dining room was exceptional. Very friendly and eager to serve you. Kudos to Brady, Darlon, Marlon and chef Harlon. Resort was peaceful... Not for party people. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick2959, General Manager at Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Sandra D,

Thank you for your review and your patronage at Infinity Bay...its greatly appreciated!

So glad to were able to get out on some island adventures and enjoyed the best resort team in Roatan!

Stay warm and best regards!
Rick K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 2,112 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I just returned home from the best vacation that we have ever had, (we have been many places but this was our first time on Roatan), due to Infinity Bay Resort and West Bay Beach. What a great vibe these places have, they are completely conducive to a no worries, relaxing time.
The condos are beautiful just like the photos show and we were super happy with our accommodations. The furniture and paint are starting to show some wear, though. We loved spending mornings out on our 2nd floor patio, very relaxing.
The beach is everything we could have wanted, silky sand, warm blue water and incredible snorkeling.

There were many great employees, but I'll start with the people who usually get the least recognition:
Great maintenance staff. If there are any problems with your room upon check-in or during your stay, they will be fixed pronto after you notify the front desk.
Wonderful housekeeping staff. We rented from Owners so our room was cleaned every three days and they did an impressive job. Spotless.
Security on the beach was always present and alert. I always felt fine about leaving our belongings at our loungers while snorkeling or leaving to get lunch. He was also great about shooing some of the overly pesky vendors away and/or not letting them actually come into the beach lounger area unless someone actively wanted something from them. If you have a chair in the front row, keep in mind that some of the massage vendors not associated with the resort will pass by very slowly and constantly scan the belongings that are there if the owners aren't there. I'm not saying that they will take anything, just saying that I witnessed intently roving eyes that made me take notice. I wish the beach portion of this resort would limit how many times a vendor can pass by in an hour or day. I am sympathetic to the fact that this is how they make their living, but they are like knats. For example, you will see the guy selling sunglasses every 10 or 15 minutes (or sooner) and he will ask you every time, no matter how many times you point to the sunglasses that you already have on your head or say "NO". We have been to public beaches in Mexico and the D.R. where there are also beach vendors, but every 10 minutes for the same vendor is a bit much. On the other side of the coin, we love the Banana Doughnut Man! He just makes ya happy! The guy selling yummy empanadas and the best pico de gallo from a cooler is nice, too. And they both only come by a couple of times a day.
We loved being at the beach bar and restaurant. The quality is great and the prices are very fair. We liked the food and the drinks, but especially enjoyed Ziggy and Stephen. All of the bartenders rocked it on Super Bowl Sunday, I'm sure that they were exhausted by the end of that shift. I should have paid better attention to names, but I think his name was Alan?, (can't see the name when the tag around the neck flips over!) that waited on us when we had meals at the beach restaurant there a couple of times. He is great at what he does. We also loved Ruby the resort dog at the restaurant!

And unfortunately, it needs to be said:
We ate breakfast at the buffet almost every morning because it was convenient. Very limited in choices. We loved the omelet station and Jorge is a hard worker. They are slow to replenish food when busy, (or not) also dishes, glassware, coffee cups and clean tables. They have self-serve juice available, and sometimes it even has glassware next to it, but most of the time we left having nothing to drink with our breakfast. Also, we sat with our food getting cold for long periods of time because we couldn't locate silverware and napkins. This was consistent all week even if there were lots of wait people on. And then the fee for them to flat out ignore you is added to your bill. I would have gladly retrieved my own coffee, water, utensils and napkin if it was self-serve, as well. I kind of felt like I was held captive every morning. I certainly understand about Roatan time, but feel that it gets taken to the extreme at this venue. Due to the high level of frustration trying to eat breakfast there, we didn't bother with dinner at the Buffet. If I was an all-inclusive customer here as many others are and it was my only option, I would have had an aneurysm by the end of the week. There is an easy remedy for this one though, don't eat breakfast here. If I could do it over again, I would have gone to the grocery and cooked it in my kitchen for the week.

All in all, I would go back to Roatan again and I would definitely stay at Infinity Bay again.
p.s. If you are an animal lover, there are 4 very sweet resort cats that are very skinny and appreciate being fed. Bring some cat food, please. :)

Room Tip: Second floor or higher but second is perfect. There appears to be no privacy the first floor and an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caribdreamerNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick2959, General Manager at Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear caribdreamerNh,

Thank you for your review and also appreciate you exchanging emails with me as well. Service and product delivery is our passion and we encourage and value your feedback. Sounding like you had a fabulous experience with the staff and the product except for breakfast. We have shared your comments with our buffet team and will make needed fine tuning adjustments to enhance that experience.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing back at Infinity!
Rick K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We spent 2 weeks at Infinity Bay from January 13 to 27.

Snorkeling is amazing in Roatan and I can't say enough about the variety and quantity of marine life you can see just yards from one of Roatan's best beaches.

This resort is rated as a 4 1/2 star but the staff we got to know are 5 star people! Front desk staff were very accommodating and patient and made the check-in a pleasant experience. Sophia gave us great advice regarding tours and off-resort activities and made a point of following up with us after our excursions. Henry on security detail always had time to share some facts about the island and kept us feeling well looked after on the beach at night. The bar and restaurant staff work long hours and are a super-friendly, fun-loving group. A huge thank-you to Alex (the "Alex special" was my favorite!), Puma, Ziggy, Steve, Andrea, Jorge, Jamie, Swiss (Mr. G.M!!), Darlon, Brady,Marlon, Kirby, Reina and Wilmer. They kept us laughing and made us feel like family. The chefs and kitchen staff were great and a big thank you to Harlan who went out of his way to make a special meal for a sick member of our group. The staff is the resort's greatest assets.

The resort does need to do some work on their all-inclusive option though. It would compare with other 4 1/2 star resorts in a place like Cuba, but certainly doesn't compare to the same star rating in Jamaica, Dominican Republic, Panama or even Mexico. The food on the buffet was excellent but the options were limited. The salad items never changed for the whole 2 weeks and though the cooks prepared the meat and fish in a few different ways, they weren't given much variety in what they had to work with. We were disappointed that sea bass was the only fish option given the amount of choices that could have been available. Dessert was limited to one choice for each meal and the fruit options never changed.

The a la carte restaurant is not at all what you would expect. It is a lovely beach restaurant, on the sand and would be a great place to have a burger for lunch but it is not acceptable as an option for an a la carte dinner. The menu items were suitable for lunch and not dinner and limited to things like pizza, burgers and fish and chips. You couldn't eat your lunch at the beach without using one of your a la carte tickets. There was an additional charge for things like steak and and other fish options and even things like nachos were only available for an additional cash outlay. The drinks available were limited to a list of about 12 choices and were only the cheapest domestic alcohol available. The only bar on site is outside and will accommodate about 20 people at most. There were many times when you couldn't find a spot to sit and have a drink with other guests unless you sat outside (in the rain). The lobby is a desolate place most of the time and has the room and potential to hold a bar which could accommodate a few more guests. All-inclusive guests were made to feel like "discount travelers" when it came to a la carte food and drink options.

Entertainment is none existent at this resort if the weather isn't cooperating and even at best there are only two scheduled bands a week. There is a huge buffet area that could be used for entertainment every night after 8 pm and should be utilized, at least in inclement weather.

Though we did enjoy our time at Infinity Bay, I believe they need to re-think their all-inclusive plan or at minimum, work with SunWing to advertise it properly. To advertise daily and nightly entertainment and three restaurants is absolutely not correct and is misleading. I would never refer the all-inclusive option to friends but would rather recommend booking the condos privately or through IB on a nightly basis. There are so many restaurants and bars along West Bay Beach that offer better dinner and drink specials and are by far a better value for your dollar.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
9  Thank Bizy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick2959, General Manager at Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Bizy B,

Thank you for your lovely review and your special mentions of our individual staff members.....the best in Roatan. Getting off property to discover the island and experience adventures is crucial to having a balanced vacation.

Look forward to seeing you back at Infinity
Rick K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Hotel facilities are as advertised, excellent location, clean and fancy. Hotel is one of the best you can get in the island, worth the money.
In the other hand, service is poor, guys in the bar seemed they need rest and more support to help guests, this is the type of service you need you be looking around for the waitress to get what you need so it really becomes selfservice. The only people out of above comment is the guy who helps you out whit the bags. Still we would come back to this hotel as out overall experience was above average.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank omunozl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick2959, General Manager at Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear omunozl,

Thank you very much for your review and taking the time to exchange emails with me. The Infinity team is thankful for your very good rating, the accommodations, product and value. We take your comments about service quite serious as its our mission and passion to deliver an outstanding service experience. Balancing labor with business levels can be delicate process. We will take a closer evaluation of this.

We look forward to your soon to be planned return!
Regards
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We travelled to Roatan with another couple in November of 2013 and stayed at Infinity Bay for 10 days in a beachfront 2 bdrm condo. We are all frequent travellers, 2 of us being flight attendants, and I can honestly say this was an amazing resort to vacation at. The pool was stunning, the grounds were well manicured, the resort staff were very friendly and the housekeeping staff were very thorough. The rooms were large and the beds were extremely comfortable. It was so nice to have our own kitchen so we could buy local seafood and make amazing meals. The entire stretch of the beautiful white sand beach was very well maintained and there are many restaurants in walking distance on the beach. The diving was incredible!! We are already planning our next trip back, but this time we will be taking our 5 year old son... he will love Infinity Bay just as much as we did.
I highly recommend this beautiful resort to anyone that is looking for a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelseyHesketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick2959, General Manager at Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear KelseyHesketh,

Thank you very much for your review and we are deeply gratified that you had the best vacation!

Being travel industry professionals, your opinions mean so much to the staff as you understand the challenges we all face on a daily basis. It was a pleasure and an honor to have hosted you on your precious time away.

Again, the best resort team in Roatan thanks you!

Rick K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We just completed our weeks stay at Infinity and am pleased to say it was quite nice though it was not without a few issues. The front desk staff were very accommodating and pleasant. We cannot say enough about the lady who took care of our room....she was very thorough and friendly. The grounds crew do a great job maintaining the landscaping and pool area. Location of the resort is directly on the beach. The breakfast buffet is passable but not superb though the staff hustles and the egg chef does a great job. Our first room was subpar.....commode leaked and constantly ran, lights did not work and ceiling fans did not work. Our second room was better but there were still lights and fans that did not work along with the safe. Both rooms were very clean but things are getting dated. It is a vacation destination but the design of the resort lends itself to making sound carry and the pool bar can get very loud but it does close at 10:00. Overall it was a good stay and the staff was very friendly.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick2959, General Manager at Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Bob

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and we greatly appreciate the fact that you chose Infinity Bay for your vacation.

We are quite pleased that you had a very nice stay for the exception of some initial obstacles that you experienced. We are extremely appreciative that you took the time to review these items. I can assure you they are being addressed with the operations team and we are making immediate adjustments!

Thanks again and we hope to see you again!
Rick K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I were on Roatan (we discovered it is ‘on’ the island, ‘in’ the town, and ‘at’ the hotel) for two weeks ending December 2nd, 2013. We stayed at the Infinity Bay in West Bay. This was our first trip, but will not be our last. We were impressed by much about the island, including but not limited to:
• the lush tropical flora,
• the rugged topography,
• the people (expats as well as locals – all the people we met were so friendly and helpful),
• the hotel (absolutely beautiful and the staff were super to deal with, from Hector the beach guard, to pretty much all the bar and restaurant staff, to the front desk staff and the gardeners and maids),
• the beach, and of course
• the reef.

The manager (Rick) at Infinity Bay was very accessible and personable. The go-to lady for island tours (the island tour is a ‘must do’) is the Infinity Bay Activities Director, Sophia, ask for her at the front desk – she is really helpful and a delight to work with. Ask her to arrange for Nola to be your tour guide and driver – Nola was born on the island and is a fountain of information on Roatan and its history. We enjoyed her stories of life on the island before it was developed! The Infinity Bay beach bar, La Palapas, is apparently a gathering place for some expats on Sundays, which we loved.

We went to the very bohemian town of West End a number of times for shopping, restaurants and enjoying the milieu (think Key West circa 1960s). We went to Gumbalimba Park, which was very informative, and interacting with the monkeys and parrots was an amazing experience. We took a trip on a small boat through the mangrove forest at Jonesville (as part of our Island Tour). We ate a great lunch in the Garifuna village of Punta Gorda. We visited Frank at his rum factory (great spiced rum, rum cakes and hot spices – and Frank is a great guy with a larger than life personality). We had a terrific massage and facial (my first, not my wife’s), arranged through Sophia, at a spa called Baan Spa Suete – lunch was also arranged at the beach nearby. We did numerous walks along the beach (West Bay beach is the best). And of course we enjoyed the reef – right off the beach in front of the Infinity Bay hotel. We’ve travelled and snorkeled a lot and I cannot think of better snorkeling (and at no extra cost - suggest you take snorkel, mask and fins if you enjoy snorkelling,and when you go out take some bread to feed the fish and be prepared to be swarmed!).

The second week was dominated by a 5-day tropical storm – our first, and an exciting experience. The energy of the storm and the volume of rain were impressive and we enjoyed walking along the beach in the deluge. We mixed our time between enjoying the storm and doing our spa day and our island tour day (the storm was predominantly on the north side of the island so the day trip, predominantly on the east side, was relatively storm free as was the trip through the mangroves – many of the SCUBA people went to the other side of the island to avoid the storm and still do their dives).

Some tips:

1. Always keep your luggage in sight.
I was so excited to be there that when we landed and the fellow at the airport with the Infinity Bay sign offered to take our bags on his cart for us, I accepted and went to the bus. Our bags didn’t show up at the hotel with the buses. Claudio, the Sunwing representative, was relentless in his quest to regain them for us. He reassured us they would not have been stolen and sure enough, they were still at the airport. It seems that the guy with the sign didn’t work for the hotel or for Sunwing and was simply looking to be tipped. When he couldn’t find us (we were on the bus) he took the bags back to the airport. It was the first time I have been lax on my cardinal rule of ‘always have your luggage in sight’ and the reason for the rule was reinforced.

2. Tip
We were advised that the average Roatan wage is about $300/month. Hydro is very expensive and can cost almost as much as rent. ‘All inclusive’, we have discovered in our travels, typically doesn’t include tips. We tipped frequently though not excessively and found service excellent and the staff very appreciative.

3. Tuesday and Thursday are cruise ship days – plan for it
We quite enjoyed interacting with new people when the Cruise ships were in, if you want a beach chair though, appreciate there will be greater demand and plan ahead. Also, there are, understandably, more beach vendors on these days. If you don’t like the crowds, plan for an alternative activity on those days.

4. Take DEET and/or baby oil
The beach is beautiful, but there are sand fleas and no-see-ums, especially at dusk. Preparation can make the beach experience more pleasurable. Baby oil stops the sand fleas from sticking to your legs. Daily application of DEET minimizes the bites. My wife is very sensitive to insect bites, but with these simple protections she had no trouble.

5. Use water-taxi to get to West End
There is a land taxi to and from West End, but the route is circuitous and significantly more costly (up to $20US each way compared to $3US per person each way for the water taxi). From West End, a taxi to Coxen Hole (the capital) is much more reasonable.

6. Remember the La Palapas bar closes at 10:00 and plan accordingly
Some evenings we were happy to retire to our room and relax when the bar closed – we kept our mini-fridge stocked for evening nightcaps (used Duty Free on the way down and the local mini-mart to top off or for items we didn’t bring). Banarama, just a short walk down the beach, is a good place to go for continued partying or for entertainment. The wine bar is there as well.

7. Take a rain jacket
We went during rainy season so this seemed obvious. Many vacationers did not bring rain protection and were less comfortable during the rainstorms, especially going to and from meals. We found umbrellas less useful due to the heavy winds, but unless you are in a tropical storm as we encountered, you may find umbrellas useful as well.

8. Support MADE IN ROATAN
We met many wonderful Roatan residents on our vacation, many of whom were expats with a shared value of putting back into the community. Two particularly special people were Bob and Debi Cowan. Their mission is to help the people on the island develop their skills in creating island crafts, then providing them support in selling these items to tourists. The money made from their shop, MADE IN ROATAN in Coxen Hole (http://www.made-in-roatan.com/), goes directly to the local artisan who created the item purchased - this income is essential to help them support their families. Bob and Debbi also distribute supplies to those who need them – school supplies and medical supplies are most welcome. So drop by their store and help these people in their very worthy cause of helping local people help themselves.

Room Tip: The studio with king bed garden view room was fine for us and very comfortable. However, there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick2959, General Manager at Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Jack G,

Thank you very much for your awesome review with impressive information and details.
The Infinity team is very happy that your enjoyed the accommodations, services, lush property, beach & reef and the great group of people enjoying life at the ocean front Palapa bar.
The entire staff really appreciates your commentary about "Made in Roatan"...its so important that you support products made in the region which in-turn supports the local infrastructure. This is crucial to our continued growth.
We have the hardest working people in the entire Caribbean and they are all thankful for your patronage and kind words!

Regards
Rick K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.1 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
3.7 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Henry Morgan Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Beach | Island of Roatan, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in West Bay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#2 Family Hotel in West Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: $223 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: West Bay Beach, Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras, Central America (15 minutes from airport). Accommodations: Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)Keywords: Luxurious Condo Resort 2BR/2BA at Infinity Bay Roatan. Planning a vacation now to leave in the fall? Location Location Location. The most beautiful upscale resort which is called Infinity Bay Resort located at West Bay Beach, which is one of the top beaches in Roatan, Honduras and of the Caribbean. The reef is only yards away, which is the second largest coral reef in the world. Swim with the turtles and an abundance of marine life, go diving and discover more, or use our complimentary kayaks. Local activities, include scuba diving, sailing, fishing, canopy tours, horseback riding, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infinity Bay Spa And Beach Hotel West Bay
Infinity Bay Hotel And Beach
Infinity Bay Resort And Beach
Infinity Bay Spa And Beach Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing