We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B with Hotel Amenities and a fantastic staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Bay Lodge and Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Covington, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B with Hotel Amenities and a fantastic staff!”
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed at West Bay Lodge from June 14th to June 21st. Celeste and Milos are wonderful hosts. They were very accomodating and provided personal service to us and our 2 friends with whom we were travelling. They made sure that our entire stay was wonderful (more on that later).

The lodge is situated just a few hundred yards from West Bay beach - a very easy, less than a minute stroll which goes right past Bananarama dive shop and straight on to the best part of the beach. The location of WBL is perfect as you can get away from the cruise ship hords during the mid afternoon times that they are in port and relax around WBL's small, tropical pool with a cool drink until they depart (usually around 2:30 or so).

We stayed in Bungalow #1 (I think) which overlooked the pool. The room is small and the bed is rather hard but I slept great. The a/c kept the room properly cold at night for a good nights sleep. The room is well appointed with a mini-fridge, snacks, microwave, tv, water cooler, etc. Celeste emailed us before we arrived and asked if there was anything they could stock in our fridge for us and, when we arrived, our vodka and cranberry juice was waiting for us. The bathroom had decent towels and shampoo and soaps. The bathroom needs a bit of upgrading (which Celeste says is in the planning stages) but was very clean and stocked with what we needed. The front porch has a hammock and chairs.

The breakfast in the morning was great and different each day. Our request for Bloody Marys was honored even though I think it was the first time guests had ever requested them in the morning! By the end of our stay, Marlin was a world class Bloody Mary maker! Eating breakfast each morning surrounded by the resident parrots and laid back felines made us get into that "carribean state of mind" right away. "Celeste's Island Cuisine" also serves lunch each day and dinner some nights which are also delicious.

This was my birthday week and I mentioned to Celeste that I wanted to do something special. She set up a wonderful, local boat trip for all 4 of us. The captain of the small fishing boat, Bill, took us out for snorkeling, a beach tour, and - the grand finale, lunch at his mom's house at small village. They actually had a birthday cake made for me when we walked in the door. The food was absolutely delicious! Do be aware that it is implied that his mom get's tipped for the food - whatever you feel it is worth - and believe me it is worth a tip! It was a great birthday.

Celeste and Milos have also built (99% finished) a small spa on the premises. They are training a massage therapist (who went to massage school on the mainland) to give not only massages but other body treatments as well. I had 3 massages and 1 body mud wrap. All were good and at reasonable prices. Don't miss indulging yourself!

All of the staff are friendly and eager to please. Oyuki (the office manager, I hope I spelled her name right) is wonderful. She will set up whatever tours or activities you want to book. You can usually pay for everything on your lodge account. Marlin (who, I think, is another manager) handled, not only making our bloody marys, but helps run the restaurant, bartends and handles other requests for guests when Celeste and Milos are not around. All of the other staff from the room maids to the grounds crew and the guys who take care of the parrots (sorry I don't know their names) were friendly.

In conclusion, WBL was a great place to stay. We are planning to go back to Roatan and we will stay there again. The hosts, employees, food, service, location, and ambience were all great. We always felt relaxed, unhurried and comfortable and taken care of.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz_Stelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    81
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
139
271
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Had a very nice stay at West Bay Lodge. It's comfortable and set in an ideal location right near West Bay beach, but not directly on it, which we liked. Celeste and Milos are great hosts. The only small issue we had was that maid service could be sporadic - some days our room was nicely cleaned; others more of a "tidy up." The restaurant at West Bay Lodge is great and very reasonable. Menu items are limited, but what they do they do very well.

Keep in mind, Roatan isn't Cancun - it's meant to be a little rustic. You won't find many - if any - all inclusives, but that's what gives this island such charm. Would highly recommend Bananarama as a great place to scuba/snorkel with - our guide, Paul, was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarlaCChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Before I discuss how Milos and Celeste are truly the kind of folks who go above and beyond, let me share what everyone is interested in hearing first: West Bay Lodge is spectacular. As every other reviewer has said here, it is like being with family, but, to quote another reviewer “without the drama.” We traveled to Roatan with two young toddlers (almost 3 and almost 2) and as such, we were nervous about our stay. But from the moment we landed at the airport, we were taken care of. Our driver was there waiting for us, and took us straight to the lodge where Milos and Celeste were making sure that all who arrived were taken care of. After making sure we all had what we needed and got settled in (an immediate dip in the pool was a perfect day to unwind from our travel) we were brought a welcome rum punch, and the kids were served equally cute fruit punches which, of course, they loved. After that, we went to see the sun set on the beach, and came back for some great food at Celeste’s.

The rooms are great, and if you two have little kids, you know how much you cherish nap time and how you need a comfy place for them to relax in. Each morning our kids would wake us up at the usual 6 am (or earlier) we’d do our morning routine, we’d eat breakfast, jump in the pool (a perfect warmth) and wait for our other friends (we traveled with another family). Then it was off to the beach, to a boat trip around the island, a water taxi to West Bay, visit to the dolphins, you-name-it, and then back for lunch and, drum roll… three hour naps during the afternoon, while mom and dad relaxed in the cool, incredibly neat and beautiful cabin. The rooms were always clean, always cool and after a long morning of water play and sun soaking, the kids were almost (almost) glad to go to their room (there was a pack-n-play for the baby and a great big bed for my daughter). Our cabin had a fridge with any kind of drink we wanted, we had a kitchen with all the cooking gear and utensils one needed which is great for folks traveling with families who need to prepare snacks etc. The irony is that I had made sure that we would have Internet access as my husband was adamant that he should check email at least once a day (no problem there, Milos has high speed routers all over). But our vacation on the island and our stay in West Bay Lodge was so amazingly relaxing, that we ended up not doing any work at all. For a couple of workaholics, that says it all.

And the staff of West Bay Lodge is great, reflecting Celeste and Milos’ warmth and hospitality. My kids were treated so generously and with such sweetness: the cooks always prepared simple little meals for them (like all kids, they just prefer simple cheese quesadillas to most meals) and always added a special touch: hearts made out of fresh cream, a flower with a longer stem so we could put it in my daughter’s hair; always something sweet for the babies, always something thoughtful (the housekeeper always put flowers on the beds after changing the sheets… everyday, the crib had a fresh cut flower too!). And the kids LOVED eating at Celeste’s. The parrots were just too fun. My kids learned how to approach them, and loved feeding them their breakfast and they even let the parrots take watermelon seeds out of the palms of their hands. It’s the kind of thing my daughter will talk about for months.

And now for the truly above and beyond. Upon entering Honduras, like any other country, one receives an immigration form. Beware of this form. If you lose it, you will end up paying a fine of $150 (per person!). So, what did I do? I went and threw ours in the garbage! Milos went so far as finding our garbage, going through it and coming up with the forms. If that isn’t kindness itself, then I don’t know what kindness is!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We have stayed at West Bay Lodge 4 times in the last 2 1/2 years, and we are never disapointed, and have already booked our stay for 2011 - -what more needs to be said. Our visits feel like we are visiting friends. The lodge is a 3 minute walk to the beach, close enough to visit at any time of the day, and just far enough to be away from the crowds (a major plus on cruise ship days), Where else can you enjoy a relaxing meal (breakfast, lunch and dinner) with a friendly parrot sitting on your shoulder. For those interested in scuba diving, stay at West Bay Lodge and dive at Bannanaramma - -you won't be disappointed with this combination. The lodge has recently added a spa, and they offer the best massages -- nothing is better after doing 3 dives a day. The pool is amazing, and so nice to have a quite place to hang out surrounded by mango and bannana trees, and maybe a parrot or two when they are trying to escape.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank portland_scuba_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We just got back from our 4th trip to West Bay Lodge (WBL). I can't say enough good things about the staff of West Bay Lodge and Celeste and Milos. They truly are like family. They all go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Over the past two years, we have been able to witness the progress that WBL has made--their beautiful, secluded pool framed by banana and mango trees, the addition of Celeste's Island Cuisine, the new bungalows, and the soon-to-open day spa. With these "improvements," WBL has not lost its charm. It simply keeps getting better. This is due in large part to the wonderful staff.

Mark was surprised with a pineapple upside down cake and Famous Rum Punch for his birthday. The staff stayed late because they wanted to sing Happy Birthday to him--in both English and Spanish! When we returned to our room. The bed was beautifully decorated with flower petals. (Hope Mark doesn't expect this treatment at home!) =)

The breakfasts are wonderful and the staff even came in early so we could have our breakfast before we went diving with Bananarama each day. The lunches and dinners are equally yummy--simple, very affordable and very yummy.

And the parrots--they have a very special place in our hearts. All seven--Cleo, Hamish, Cocoa, Malibu, Poncho, Rico and Lola--have such different and lively personalities and really add to one's stay. They are more than happy to help you finish off the large breakfasts.

I recommend West Bay Lodge without reservation. You simply cannot find a better group of people--friendly, accomodating, and very hard working. We miss all of them already.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDenyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2010

After another wonderful 10 days at West Bay Lodge.
This is the best place to relax!
I stayed in cabin # 1 this time, just perfect for me.
Milos and Celeste are greatest hosts, and Oyuki and the rest of staff are so very helpful in all the needs I had. I ate many of my meals there, and everyone was delicious. I really like the Grouper.
Going down to the turtle for some drinks in the evening, with the Puma (great guy). The crab races and fire dancers are fun entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hashknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

And it's so true. Celeste and Milos made us feel so welcome and comfortable. The whole atmosphere of the place is relaxed. Our expectations were surpassed daily. We stayed a week - and were sad to leave at the end of our trip - but we know we will be back some time next year for another great week. We stayed in a supreme bungalow and loved it. The grounds are beautiful (fruit trees everywhere), the pool is lovely and refreshing, the parrots and cats are a constant source of amusement, the staff (Hey, Marlone!) are friendly and helpful. We were constantly astounded by the personal service and extra perks (beach towels, cell phone usage, mini bar at cost, grocery shopping, arranging tours, being brought sliced fruit while in the pool (we didn't ask - they just did it), friendly chats at breakfast and loads of advice, Loved the hammocks!
The walk to the beach was not a problem - actually shorter than I expected. The grounds of the lodge themselves are very quiet and relaxed, however many restaurants and bars are a very close walk, cabs are readily available (although we didn't use one.
Truly cannot say enough about the place and the people. Paradise!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coralsgot2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 8 in West End
593 reviews
9.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Lodge and Spa

Property: West Bay Lodge and Spa
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#1 Green Hotel in West Bay
#1 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Bay Lodge and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your West Bay Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay Lodge And Spa Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing