We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveler rating
492
84
15
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
84
15
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rum punch queen bungalow mango trees romance package lobster dinner celeste's island cuisine minute walk snorkel trip banana pancakes juan carlos mini bar every morning key lime pie home away from home relaxing stay tropical paradise the entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 593 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2018

I have stayed at WBL three times for a week each, and I loved it more with each subsequent visit. The individual bungalows are so cool, with private porch and kitchen. The pool is private and beautiful and you feel like you are tucked into a jungle. Short walk to the beach and boy it is a beautiful beach. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunsetspotter, Owner at West Bay Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. We loved having you back again with your family. Yes, we try to keep the tropical jungle feel here that the guests love so much. So happy to hear what a great time you have here each time you visit us.
Hope to see you again soon,
Milos, Celeste & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018

We planned a large family vacation 14 of us from 8-74 years of age. Celeste went above and beyond upon every occasion. She secured a safe delivery from airport and then helping us to a driver for a day to exploreVery very reasonable.. He drove us in his van to West end to shop, lunch and to a boat out in water where the kids could swing out with a rope. That was so much fun!!He took us to zip lining and an animal sanctuary. We held a slough, that was pretty special. Kids loved the monkeys. It was very affordable and safe. Another day she arranged a boat, again all 14 of us.Oscar took us to some different snorkeling areas. We saw turtles, manarays, barracudas,squid.We went see where the dolphins are, a museum, and an area where there are star fishes in the water. We even saw an iguana out in the ocean swimming to shore!
On property breakfast was always ready in an open air dining area. Fresh juice, fruit, granola, toast, and then your main entree. Plenty of food. Loved the fresh mangos, careful trees on property can drop one on you unexpectedly. Quincy was so nice brining out our food to us. We loved speaking with him and hearing about life on the island. Parrots always gave us a GOOD MORNING, hello.
Our bungalow was across from the pool, well they all are with a lovely deck and mountains behind you. We found it to be clean and comfortable.
One of the biggest surprises for us was the urgent care next door, literally! They take American insurance, we didn’t need it but it gave us such a relief knowing it was there.
We were in one of the best snorkeling areas on all the island. water was clear and warm. Coral was so beautiful. Right within a quick easy walk.
We had no issues with water, anyone having tummy trouble. No issues as well with mosquitos. We worried about that but it was not a factor.
Oh.. and weather was great. Only mildly humid. Very comfortable. Several great restaurants close by if you want something different to try. It just was an ideal location. We would go again.

Room tip: We stayed on property and at condos across the way. Both had WiFi,which we were surprised about. No bungalow is bad, all equally great.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank TammyMc2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunsetspotter, Owner at West Bay Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Thank you very much for your terrific review. We loved meeting you and having your whole group here. It was nice you were able to do so many activities while you were here. We are glad to know how much you enjoyed our breakfast buffet each morning.Fun that you got to experience mango season.
We hope to see you again down here,
Milos, Celeste & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

This was our third trip to WBL and to Roatan. Once again, it did not disappoint. We stayed in Bungalow 5 which we love. Sitting on our porch, we can barely see the other bungalows across the way. It is paradise. This time we traveled with a group of 15 and it was like our very own private get away...we booked all but two of the lodgings! Celeste was a great hostess and Melonie decorated our room prior to our arrival and included a complimentary bottle of bubbly much to our surprise since our anniversary was the day before we arrived. Quency arranged for us to go see the sloths at a local park and I think he had almost as much fun as we did. All the restaurant workers made our stay enjoyable. A favorite part of the day was to hit the pool in the afternoon...there is a buzzer on the reception hut that you ring to have drinks brought to you at the pool. So refreshing!! But honestly, the staff always came to check on us and we never once had to press that buzzer! They make your stay so comfortable, it feels like home. We love the parrots, cats, and even spent time with Jacob's dog. A couple of things to note, breakfast is included but limited, offering two hot choices per day; however, there are other choices such as fruit, boiled eggs, toast, yogurt, and breads. The lunch and dinner menu are tasty and a good deal but the staff also posts various specials available at Bananarama to give options or will recommend somewhere else when requested. Thursday nights are a blast with live music but make reservations, it fills up quickly. One night we had the lobster dinner by the pool in a very romantic setting. With 5 courses and a bottle of wine, its a great deal. The pool is wonderful, providing an oasis for days when the beaches are crowded with cruise ship tourists. And although its not directly on the beach, I see that as a plus...see previous comment about cruise ships! Plus I have stayed at larger resorts that required a longer walk to the water when they are located directly on the beach. If you pay a $10 fee for the week, you can use the chairs and umbrellas at Bananarama and the security guards and waiters will take care of you there. All in all, I see no downside to this resort and it is one of my two favorites in all my Caribbean travels. Although I just returned, I am thinking about my next trip to see everyone at WBL.

Room tip: I love bungalow 5! Its quiet and yet is easy to get to the pool and the main area
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jhinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunsetspotter, Owner at West Bay Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Thank you very much for your glowing review. We love having your group here, they are all so much fun. I am glad Quency was able to arrange and go with you to the see the slothes and monkeys. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our private oasis on busy cruise ship days. We are delighted that you were able to spend quality time with our rescued animal heree at WBL.
We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Milos, Celeste & Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

Another great trip !! The entire staff is great and the rooms are very nice. Thanks to all
our 3 weeks were great. See you next June for my 60 th, hopefully sooner.
Thanks, Melony and Celeste
Looking forward to seeing you all as soon as possible

Thanks
George

Room tip: Room 7 is great
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saltwatersoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunsetspotter, Owner at West Bay Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Thank you for your awesome review. We were thrilled to have you both back again here. We are happy you were able to extend your stay this year. We will be honered to help you celebrate your 60th Birthday with us.
See you then,
Milos, Celeste & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

We just returned from a fabulous week’s stay at West Bay Lodge (WBL). (Our first stay was in 2009). Like our first stay, we thoroughly enjoyed the accommodating staff (special kudos to Quency, Melanie and Hiram), the very comfortable diggs (this time in the 2BR condo), the yummy and reasonably priced food (especially the burgers, lobster and key lime pie), the delicious rum punch and the outstanding beach and snorkeling. We also booked a snorkel trip with Carlo (Island Tours?) through WBL. We snorkeled two sites with lots of fishes and corals- Blue Channel and Turtle Alley - and highly recommend this trip. We will return. Thanks Celeste and staff.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PATraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunsetspotter, Owner at West Bay Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Thank you very much for your awesome review. We were so happy to have you back and show you all we have done since your last visit. We are pleased to know how much you enjoyed our food in the restaurant. Yes, the snorkeling tour with Juan Carlos is amazing.
Hope to see you again soon,
Milos, Celeste & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews