We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Bay Lodge and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$358
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$398
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$263
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$353
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foster's West Bay(West Bay)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$630
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Beach Hotel(West Bay)(Great Value!)
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveler rating
462
84
15
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
84
15
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum punchmango treesstocked fridgeceleste's island cuisineminute walksnorkel tourbanana pancakesevery morninghome away from homefront porchkey lime pietropical paradisethe entire stafftwo queen bedscable tvlobstersmall pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 563 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay at West Bay Lodge. The smaller places offer such a more personal stay to the visit! Anything we needed was taken care of, such as a trip to the grocery store from the airport. Also, we had a cane left in a taxi and the front desk hunted it down for us.

The beach is about a five minute walk and the grounds are gorgeous. We would love to go again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steener75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend and we enjoyed our stay. The highlights were the delicious breakfast, relaxing on the porch in hammocks, and strong A/C. The rooms have a rustic feel but are very nice and comfortable. The bed was a little squeaky. Staff was very helpful in setting up activities for us and helping with anything we needed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I spent 7 days at West Bay Lodge during my first trip to Roatan (hopefully not my last!). Definitely the best beach on Roatan and the Lodge puts you close to it all with some quiet time when you want it. Plenty of options on rooms, the food was good, service very friendly and personable. Melony was wonderful and helpful. I had a couple of massages at the Spa and they were great - very relaxing but awakening for your muscles.

Dan from Texas

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank explorertexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our second visit to Roatan and second stay at West Bay Lodge. Melony is the best, so sweet and kind and helpful! We stayed in the same Royal Bungalow as last year and it was fun for the two of us and our 17 year old son. It's close quarters but it works. While we have loved staying here we feel the room needs some upgrades and breakfast needs to be revamped a bit (the breakfast "buffet" had mere broken cookies by mid-week and the same three yogurts that had sat out in the heat all week) but all and all is a convenient location with an easy walk to the beach. Love, love, love Melony!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank HixieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just back from 8 days at West Bay Lodge. LOVE!!! Went with my wife and 12 year old son. First time on Roatan, and so happy we found West Bay Lodge for our stay. I will try and avoid sounding like a broken record from other reviews, but that's difficult. I also apologize for the book to follow.

Yes, the whole experience starts with a driver (complimentary) picking us up at the airport, after a long tiring trek from Seattle to Roatan. A short drive through scenic Coxen Hole and through the beautiful jungle foliage takes you to charming West Bay Lodge. Smiling Oyuki and Melonie greeted us and quickly got us checked in and up to our bungalow #3 at the top of the lodge grounds. A beautiful, charming bungalow with front porch and comfy hammock. The room itself had two queen beds, firm but very comfortable, a pretty efficient a/c given the heat and humidity of Roatan, full kitchenette (sans stove, just micro), stocked fridge, and ceiling fan. We loved it immediately. Also had a nice view over the rest of the lodge area out towards the beach a couple blocks away. Oh, and of course, the welcome rum punch in the restaurant.

So, now the restaurant, Celeste's Island Cuisine. Upon arrival, we went for our rum punch and lunch. Delicious salads with various fresh fish and seafood caught our eye and were a very nice choice. We also had the complimentary breakfast during our stay which were all delicious. They have a breakfast listed for each day, but make sure you ask what the "other" breakfast is. They always have two, plus an assortment of coffee, juice, cereal, yogurt, and other choices if you don't want a heavy meal. While there we also had some lunches and dinner, also all quite delicious, nicely prepared, and filling. The baleadas are quite the meal. We did also fall in love with the baleadas down the road towards the beach as well though, at the Bar Y Restaurante Catrachos. A very local restaurant, cheap, and quite delicious. Don't be afraid. No English spoken, but easy enough to order, and so worth it.

The location is fantastic. We are not into to the party scene or crowds, so West Bay Lodge was so perfect. Quiet but close to everything. Yes, it is just a 5 minute walk to the beach (safe day and night) where there are many hotels and eating establishments to choose from. Our biggest pet peeve, however, was how so many of the beach restaurants cater to the American tourists and crowd the menus with American food and prices no better than back home in the states. No this is not a cheap vacation spot. We were surprised by the prices. Early in the day on the beach, say before noon, look for the guy with the cooler on his shoulder containing home made empanadas. Delicious and cheap. Also, since no day was complete without hearing it, look for the gentleman selling "Banana Doughnuts, Mango Doughnuts, Banana Doughnuts". Didn't try them, but loved his constant rhythmic call. See below for some restaurant ideas.

The beach is spectacular. Beautiful white sand, gentle swells more so than any waves, crystal clear water, fish swimming up to you, and yes, fantastic snorkeling. It was our sons first time snorkeling and he was hooked. Simply walk to the far west end of the beach by the rock wall, a 5 minutes walk, walk into the water where schools of Sargent Majors and Bermuda Chub swarm around you, swim 20 yards out, and you are at the reef and fish galore. So wonderful. We did it several days. The dinner plate size chub like to occasionally rub against your leg like a cat.

Back to the lodge. We love the parrots that are around the restaurant from morning until evening. We joke back home that we miss hearing the "Hola!" "Morning" "Melonie" and other various sounds of the parrots banter. It's also quite fun watching the staff interact with them. Angel seems to be the main parrot attendee, and always has a smile on his face.
Also around the beautiful, heavy foliage of the grounds, you will see the "island rabbits" or watusa running around everyday. We found them quite cute. Butterflies and hummingbirds were also always present. Our daily visits to the pool were not only refreshing but also so peaceful, cooling off amid the beauty and wildlife. Can't forget the littel foot bath outside every bungalow for rinsing of sand. Love that!

Quick recap for eating options. The West Bay Mall across the street has two different options for sandwiches and basic grocery needs. Later in the visit, we also went to Java Vine a few times for either lunch or breakfast. Sometimes you just need a good bagel. Wiona (sorry if not spelled correctly) the owner is fantastic, and a friend of Celeste. Again Bar Y was our favorite very local eatery, Thirsty Turtle at Bananarama has some nice options if you look past the American food, and has surprisingly tasty wood fired pizza, much like a thick lavosh crust pizza. Their chips and salsa rock. Cayuco Beach Bar serves a really nice fish dinner, The Argentinian Grill, although pricey, has an amazing grilled lobster dinner. The fresh breadsticks and bread are very nice and the octopus ceviche was incredible.Nice and Spicy noodles across from the lodge is quite good, but be warned the dished are huge. La La's next to the lodge was one of our favorite meals. Really fresh and delicious Black Bean Soup, Korma Curry, and a Chicken Mango Burrito Bowl accompanied by very unique refreshing cocktails.

So much more I could say. Thank you Celeste, Oyuki, Melonie, Angel, Darson, Quincy, Andy, and the others for making this such a special experience. Any issues that arose, none too serious, were quickly tended to and resolved. No doubt, if we return to Roatan, we will stay at the West Bay Lodge.

Room Tip: Probably all are a good choice
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank seasay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews