We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Bay Lodge and Spa
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely hidden gem!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I had a wonderful time staying at West Bay Lodge. I prefer to stay far, far away from cruise ship and all-inclusive crowds and this place is in the perfect location to be close enough to the beach, diving centers and activities without being on the beach. It has a nice little pool and lounge area for the days that ships are calling. There are only 8 bungalows which provides a small and intimate resort setting. The supreme bungalow I stayed in was large enough for four people comfortably and was well equipped to handle self-catering. Plenty of thoughtful touches around the rooms and bathrooms! Freezing cold A/C was awesome and the flat screen TV and DVD player were good too. The porches are large with hammocks and tables. Also free wifi! It was nice to see the Roatan Marine Park posters on the wall in the room as well as a sign noting that $1/night would be added on to all final bills that will go to the marine park. There is an on-site restaurant and spa which is convenient especially if some people in your group are diving all day and some aren't. The resort is also right across the street from West Bay Mall where there are a couple shops and deli-style restaurants. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance at the other resorts and the on-site restaurant is quite good as well. Breakfast is included in the room rate and there is a small buffet of yogurt, fruit and coffee/juice along with two daily hot plate items that rotate and are made to order. Staff is friendly and I had no trouble with the parrots in the restaurant. Maybe not great for severe cat allergies as kitties are around and some sleep on the porches. All in all, great value and I'd recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cellodora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    80
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
132
271
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at West Bay lodge for 3 nights a few weeks ago. The staff are great and make you feel right at home. The cabanas are very nice and comfortable. We found it very relaxing and inviting despite it being in the busier West Bay area. Its only a few minutes walk from the beach and lots of other restaurants. Milos and Celeste are great hosts and offer probably the best snorkel trip on the island. Don't miss out on the Rum Punch!

Room Tip: Go on the snorkel trip with Milos and Celeste
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinInBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Second visit to West Bay Lodge but not our last. From the time owners Milos and Celeste met us at the airport until the time we had to leave everything was perfect. All The staff at West Bay Lodge are top notch and are willing to help in any way they can. The food is great and the rum punch even better. We had a great day of snorkling on Celeste and Milo's boat a long with other West Bay Lodge guests. West Bay beach is one of nicest beaches we have visited and has great snorkling right off shore. Many great places to eat on the beach all within walking distance. Hats off to Milos and Celeste and all the West Bay Lodge staff for another great visit to Roatan. Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I traveled to Roatan for a week in late March'14. Our experience with West Bay Lodge started off better than expected. Milos and Celeste (owners) picked us up personally and proceeded to take us on a short tour as well as a quick stop at the grocery store to pick up any items we wanted. On the drive to West Bay Lodge from the airport, Milos and Celeste explained all the sights and gave great tips on different things we could visit during our stay.

Upon arrival, we were promptly checked in and shown to our room. No waiting in a long line that would normally be experienced at any other hotel. We stayed in Bungalow #2, which was the perfect size for the two of us. Everything was clean and the air conditioning worked great on those warm nights. I loved the cute balcony; laying in the hammock each morning with coffee was just heavenly.

We had the Ultimate Spa Package, so we started off each morning with an hour of pampering at the Serenity Day Spa. I cannot say enough good things about the ladies working there. I have never experienced such professionalism and skill, even from therapists here in the states. Following our spa time, we would eat breakfast at Celeste's Island Cuisine. The food was delicious each day, and we LOVED the parrots that dined with us! Would literally sit on the back of your chair and wait to be offered up a piece of toast or fruit.

Majority of our afternoons were spent at the beach, which was a short 2 minute walk. I would suggest purchasing the wristbands at the Bananarama Resort office so you can use the chairs. It was only $23 total for the week and well worth it.

There is a small strip mall located across the street from West Bay Lodge, which has a coffee/smoothie place, small convenience/grocery store, and Captain's Van Rentals. We rented scooters from there one day so we could travel around the island a bit.

On one of our days, we joined Celeste and Milos on their snorkel trip. They took a small group of us from the hotel around the island to three different snorkel spots as well as to the dolphin area at Anthony's Key. Lunch and drinks were generously provided and it was an awesome experience.

All around, our trip was fabulous and I highly recommend staying at West Bay Lodge. Not only do you have privacy, relaxation, tranquility, and personal attention while staying there, but you also get to enjoy all of that without the frenzy and bustle found at large resorts.

Thank you Milos and Celeste, we will be back soon! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

4 Adults traveling and we had the best time of our life.The staff at WBL made sure we were taken care of on every front, transportation, activities the works.I am already planning the next one! Breakfast was fantastic every morning! Snorkeling first day, Zipline the next, Snorkeling again, Diving the next...Thanks to the staff for arranging everything! Melony, Danny, and Celeste are really great. Cant wait to see them next month!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therushings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, GA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

West Bay Lodge is a great little place to stay in Roatan. It is about 2 blocks from the beach, and easy walk. The staff pick you up at the airport, get you checked in, and then pont you to the beach. The bungalows are private, appointed with a kitchenette an stocked fridge. Items in the fridge are grocery store costs, no fancy hotel mark-ups here. The staff if very accommodating, whether you need a beach towel, a bottle of coconut rum, or a referral on an adventure. This place would be good for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. I will say that out Roatan vacation at West Bay Lodge has been one of the most relaxing vacation ever.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwhee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Loved West Bay Lodge! When you are on the property it is like you are secluded on the island with just the other guests. This trip met all our expectations and more. Milo's snorkeling trip was wonderful and the facial at the spa was relaxing. We will be back.

Room Tip: The bungalows allow for the privacy and quiet of a stress free vacation. Three minute walk to white...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#2 of 7 in West End
586 reviews
9.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Lodge and Spa

Property: West Bay Lodge and Spa
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#1 Green Hotel in West Bay
#1 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Bay Lodge and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your West Bay Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay Lodge And Spa Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing