We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Terrific Vacation Abode!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Bay Lodge and Spa
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Terrific Vacation Abode!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

There is way to much to write about our stay at the West Bay Lodge. To say that it is helmed by amazing owners in Milos and Celeste or that it is staffed by a team of professionals including Melody, Ayuki, Angel, Nicky, Darsan and many more only starts to tell the story. Maybe a Top Ten list (in no particular order) will best sum it up:

10) Tasty breakfasts daily with an ever-changing menu.
9) 4 tame and delightful parrots
8) Shakira the watusa (agouti)
7) Exceptionally nice, though not luxurious, bungalow. Clean, roomy and comfortable.
6) A staff that is willing and happy to see to our every need. Unbelievably so.
5) A mini-mall across the street that has a small grocery, a nice wine/coffee bar and a motor
scooter rental shop!
4) The owners seem to attract a wonderful, international clientele.
3) The most amazing beach a 5-minute walk from the bungalow
2) Fantastic snorkeling - turtles, rays, squid, jacks, snapper, barracuda - you name it, it
is all there for the watching.
1) The folks at West Bay Lodge will work with guests to make an amazing dinner that ends
with a proposal of marriage. Romantic, private and fun. It was the perfect capstone to a
perfect vacation.
Thanks Milos, Celeste and the whole gang. We cannot wait to see you again, soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkap52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    80
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
132
271
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

They might be on "Roatan time" when they pick you up at the airport, but they'll show.

We had a wonderful time. The lodging was modest but just what we were looking for. The owners Milo and Celeste are friendly and accessible and the staff is great!

We enjoyed staying at West Bay to be at the beach which was stunning. snorkeling right off the beach was also stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mixhermedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We chose West Bay Lodge based on the tripadvisor reviews, and it lived up to them really well. Because it's not right on the beach, it feels more secluded and jungle-y, but it's close enough to the beach that you don't feel separated from the beach activity. The food was delicious, and there are tons of other great restaurants around as well. (Beachers was our favorite.) The Queen Bungalow was cute. It was a little small, so there wasn't really anywhere to put our luggage without tripping over it, but we didn't spend too much time in the room, so it wasn't really an issue. I recommend closing the bathroom door at night, because the bathroom windows don't have screens and mosquitoes will come in. Definitely bring bug spray. The cleaning staff was great and the room itself was clean and nice. Milos was friendly and helpful, making sure we knew what activities were going on at the beach each day and attending to any issues. The bar and kitchen and front desk staff were all efficient and friendly. The pool was awesome. The best part are the cats and parrots and watusi (which I think wikipedia calls the agouti). Juan Carlos picked us up from the airport, and we recruited him to drive us around the island one of the days we were there. He's friendly and knowledgeable, speaks great English, and gave us a really awesome island tour. I was looking to lie on a tropical beach for my 30th birthday, and the West Bay Lodge provided everything I could've hoped for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tzrpcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my first time staying at WBL, and it was an absolutely amazing experience. Celeste and Milos are so incredible welcoming and concerned with meeting each and every need of their guests. I was traveling alone, and they were wonderful about checking on me and making sure I was enjoying myself. All of the staff members were fantastic and friendly, and the hotel itself is so beautiful! The bungalows are roomy, grounds are beautifully tropical and well-kept, and there are the sweetest kitties and funny parrots wandering around the property. Combine that with the gorgeous pool, the two minute walk to the fantastic West Bay Beach, and the delicious food...WBL truly has it all! I would recommend this place to anyone looking to visit Roatan!

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are beautiful and sheltered from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our second stay at West Bay Lodge, and it met all our expectations plus! Celeste and Milo's are warm and welcoming hosts, and the staff are all equally friendly and helpful. We love this peaceful little refuge. The pool was an oasis of refreshment during those hot August days. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The Queens are pretty small, spend the extra for the Supreme, you won't be sorry. We love #5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank coralsgot2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

To be honest, we did not stay at WBL; my husband, daughter and I stayed at a condo located across the street. The owner of the condo has an arrangement with WBL, who allowed us to check in, use the pool, and rent snorkeling gear. We had breakfast here every morning for the five days we were there. It was delicious!!! They have different entrees everyday such as banana pancakes, French toast, omelette, and eggs Benedict. It also includes a variety of fresh juices, toast and pastries. Davinci took care of us every morning and was amazing!!! We had lunch here a couple of times as well as dinner and everything was so tasty! We used the pool one day during our stay and it was so refreshing. There are plenty of lounge chairs in the sun as well as in the shade. My daughter loved the pool as well as listening to the parrots. Malibu was our favorite! Overall, this place is a must see if you are in Roatan. You will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjessica521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a fabulous week with good friends at West Bay Lodge. The owners and staff were very accommodating. We highly recommend West Bay Lodge to those travelers who are looking for a local experience vs. a generic resort once can field everywhere. Great location, just 3 minutes from one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever visited. The spa is wonderful and spa services are every bit as good if not better than in the US. We booked the ultimate mind body and soul package and enjoyed great massages and facials from Belkis and Blanca. Davinci took excellent care of us at breakfast not to mention the cheerful company from Cleo the parrot. Many thanks also to Oyuki. The only reason I rated sleep quality as average was the fact that the second bedroom in the bungalow did not have privacy. The bed is separated by a privacy screen from the living area which was not clear to us from the website and emails we sent when we decided to take another couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#2 of 7 in West End
586 reviews
9.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Lodge and Spa

Property: West Bay Lodge and Spa
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#1 Green Hotel in West Bay
#1 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Bay Lodge and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your West Bay Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay Lodge And Spa Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing