We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Bay Lodge and Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for almost 2 weeks in January, 2013, and it was a great choice. Celeste and Milos and their staff are friendly and helpful. We had queen bungalow #2, which is a little small (no seating in the room except the bed) but clean and comfortable. It is a very short walk to the beach, and the pool and seating areas at West Bay Lodge were a nice, quiet respite from the beach on busy cruise ship days. They have a deal with Bananarama so guests can get chairs for $10 for the entire week; however, we didn't prefer that portion of the beach since it was more crowded and noisy than some other areas. Down the beach at Argentinian Grill, they don't charge for chairs as long as you buy a couple of drinks and it was quieter. As animal lovers, we liked the resident cats, one of whom made herself at home at our bungalow and would sleep on the bed if invited in. The parrots could be a little too noisy during breakfast. Other than that, we had a great stay and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LIzOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    80
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
132
269
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I spent the Thanksgiving week in the West Bay Lodge. It's a wonderful place, very clean, surrounded by lush vegetation with friendly parrots arguing during your meals and purring cats meeting you outside your bungalow. The Queen bungalow, in which we stayed, is small but has everything you need. The restaurant serves excellent breakfasts, but even better are lunches and dinners. We also felt the prices are quite moderate. The atmosphere is very homey - the owners, Milos and Celeste, and the stuff treat you with personal attention and provide many add-ons to your stay. During our week, the weather was very rainy, so we decided to take advantage of the spa service. And that was a great decision – we felt so rejuvenated after their massages at such reasonable prices.

The lodge is very close to the beach. However, it is a quiet place. A short walk takes you to the area where there are many hotels and restaurants. Personally, I was very happy that we stayed away from the noisy beachfront. The beach is beautiful – I think the most beautiful on the island. It becomes crowded only when the cruise ships arrive.

All in all, we loved our stay at the West Bay Lodge. We definitely would like to return and we highly recommend the place to anyone who plans to visit Roatan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jola1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We are so thankful we stayed in this little resort. The service and value exceeded our expectations. One thing we were surprised by our visit was the cost of tours, taxis, food, ect. We were expecting our dollar to go farther, but the price of most things was actually a little more than you would expect to spend in the states. The local people seemed to always expect tips after any little service. After those experiences, it was even more refreshing to come back to West Bay Lodge where there were many value added things that made us feel grateful. The food in the attached restaurant is actually very good and reasonably priced. Having a hot breakfast every morning at no extra cost was also nice. The lodge stays busy year-round and many of the customers are returning visitors, that is for a good reason. I would highly recommend the West Bay Lodge!

Room Tip: Unattached bungalows are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

West Bay Lodge is a great location just off the beach, which is nice as it's away from the noise but close enough when you want more action. This lodge was by far one of the more charming and homey of the resorts we saw, especially with their menagerie of parrots, cats, turtles and even an agouti on site. We enjoyed the restaurant vibe and the food. Our bungalow was small and on the rustic side but it was very clean with nice little touches (some original local art on the walls, robes, and a stocked mini bar). They have a generator so when the electricity goes out (which it does often on the island), the ac and fan still work!

My husband was sick much of the trip, so it was really nice to have a room with a tv and lots of dvds available in the office. The spa on site is very nice as well, and not sure if it was coincidence but my husband started to feel better after a soak in the tub at the spa....

Celeste and Milos clearly take great pride in their place. When there was a misunderstanding with one of their recommended snorkel trip vendors, Celeste and Milos immediately went out of their way to make things right, which is greatly appreciated. The rest of the staff is very nice and helpful but sometimes a bit disorganized...not a big deal, you just might have to ask several times for something to get done but it eventually gets done.

Great place for families as there were a lot of kids around when my husband and I were there--if you're looking for an intimate quiet place, this may not be for you (although it could also be because it was high season).

All in all, we were very happy with our stay at West Bay Lodge and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The deluxe bungalows are a little small, recommend upgrading to something a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akabarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is our second trip to West Bay Lodge. If it weren't for an airfare spike last year, it would be our third. As long as you understand Central America, this place is a gem. Forget the only negative reviews, written years ago before the upgrades in 2009 and on, this place is a pleasure. It has the Caribbean vibe that we come here for, and it's about 200 yards off the beach which reduces the parasite population; mosquitoes, sand fleas and cruise ship travelers. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful beyond reproach. We had one problem with a disappointing snorkel outing, and Milos and Celeste were on our deck immediately telling us how they would fix it for us and make sure it never happens again. As a frequent traveler, I seldom see that kind of personal attention.
The change that we have noticed the most since our last trip is the quality of the restaurant. While the breakfasts are still just OK, the dinner that we had last night was the best that we have had on the island, and we try to sample all of the best.
We recommend this place unequivocally. But remember, you are in Honduras, not Honolulu (Yuk!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SenorVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

West bay lodge is not on the beach, it's a 2 min walk, a blessing in disguise as the party at bananarama keeps going late into the night....
The cabins are very nice, air conditioned, with a fan, pure water, clean bathroom, and lots of privacy. The pool is nice too

Milo's and Celeste are very courteous and amazing hosts.... The staff is very nice too

Breakfast and Internet included

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank murlirao2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family (kids age 5 & 7) spent our second Christmas (in a row!) at West Bay Lodge. Milos, Celeste, and the entire staff welcomed us as if we were family. West Bay Lodge is a little oasis -- really good food, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and guests, parrots hanging out in the eves of the dining room or in the mango tree and banana trees near the pool. It's a short walk to the beach with access to lots of restaurants, resorts and activities. On busy beach days with lots of cruise ship visitors, we were glad to be able to stay at our little retreat away from the crowds. We had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scubatreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
3.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
9.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Lodge and Spa

Property: West Bay Lodge and Spa
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#1 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Bay Lodge and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your West Bay Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay Lodge And Spa Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing