We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you would expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Henry Morgan Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Firstly let me say that Roatan is the most magnificent island in the Caribbean. The Henry Morgan is not the most plush place , nor is it the worst. What makes it unique is the things you would expect from an all inclusive are not always provided. And then again what resort puts on movies in house during rainy days or schedules a shopping trip depending on the weather. I would say for a resort of 250 rooms or less this is a gem. The animation staff work tirelessly. The rooms are away from the beach and are rustic on the inside. The food is your typical buffett and can get tiresome, but plenty of fresh fruit. The Beach at the resort is perfect, with a wonderful beach bar and grill. The pool is impressive, however the beach is where everyone is. The pool is hardly used. The service is great and wifi in the lobby is ultra fast. For a week away without breaking your budget, try Henry Morgan. Enjoyable and laid back. Great location for those who want to try one of the many great beach restaurants along the shoreline. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room. Less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank maritimetraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

Upon arrival and as you line up for check in you are offered a nice cold refreshing drink. Get your credit card out and ready as the hotel needs an imprint of a credit card for your stay. (This imprint will be returned to you at check out). At the front desk you will be given your room number, a key to the safe,( don't loose it or you will be charged $100.00 USD) 2 towel cards, 2 magnetic card keys for your room and a remote control for the TV. The staff is excellent at showing you on the map where your room is & there not hard to find. There are no bell hops/porters here to take your bags to the room, but that reflects in the price you pay to stay at this resort. The rooms are cottage style buildings, your either on the main floor or up a set of stairs to the second floor. The buildings look like row houses. There is not side walks but board walks that are raised up from the ground so that during rainy season your not walking in water. The board walk is made out of wood, in fact all of the resort buildings have wood exteriors. The rooms have thick wood doors and magnetic door locks. In our room we needed the magnetic door card to operate the air conditioner! You have to place the card into the wall mounted thermostat to operate the air conditioner and as long as it is in the slot the air works. once you take the card out the air stops working. Our room had a king size canopy bed in it. It had sheer curtains on 3 sides of the bed, just like the pictures show on the web. 2 closets with lots of hangers in each and there is enough room to stand your suit cases in and close the doors. Between each closet is a bureau that houses 8 drawers. There are 4 drawers then a bar fridge in the middle and then another 4 drawers on the other side. On top of the bureau was a flat screen tv and a large mirror behind it. The closets are on either side of the bureau. One closet houses the Safe. The size of the safe: we could fit our tablet in it. Our tablet measurement is: 7.5" x 5" (19.5 cm x 12.7cm) and was approx 5" in height ( 12.7 cm). The bathroom has one good size sink with vanity and a large mirror. It had a wicker basket on the vanity that contained sample sizes of shampoo & hand soap, also a small but powerful hairdryer. The shower stall has a dispencer on the wall filled with body wash. The floors in the bathroom are tile but the rest of the room has varnished wood floors. There are 2 good size windows in the room and a set of patio doors that lead onto a balcony that has 2 hammocks on it...so comfy! The balcony is approx 6 ft long x 5 ft wide. There is also a clothes rack on each balcony to hang your wet clothes. There are night stands on either side of the bed. No alarm clock, but electrical outlets to plug in your phones etc.There were 4 pillows on the bed. We stayed at this resort for 2 weeks and the power went out only 3x in that 2 week period. We brought with us small LED flash lights and found lighting one of those in our rooms when the power went out was sufficient to light up our area. in our experience the power was only ever out for approx 15 minutes at the resort. The restaurant, I don't know why people are complaining about the food. Breakfast, there is a egg station, Suyapa is the name of the lady preparing eggs for us, she greets you always everyday with a smile. she will make you any kind of eggs you desire! There are fresh fruit, pancakes, french toast,bacon or sausage, refried beans, tortillas, porridge, hash browns, ham, buns, danishes, coffee, juice....such a variety something for everyone and I'm sure I have left out numerous dishes. Lunch has a large buffet with a variety. Also the beach bar has a buffet served daily for lunch and also fresh food is made at the snack bar. Supper, there is a pasta bar with 2 different pasta's, fish, meat sometimes roast turkey, roasted pork loin, rice, potatoes, veggies, sometimes there grilling skewers outside or making papusa's, fruit, dessert, so many choices. We never felt disappointing! This resort just like the other resorts we have stay at over the past 8 years always repeat there menu, this resort doesn't have as big of a variety as some other resorts do but the food that they offer was very tasty and hot! We had excellent customer service our waiters were attentive. There are restaurants up and down the beach that you can go to for a change of pace and at a reasonable price. Take your flash light with you as there are no lights when walking down the beach. small LED flash lights that fit in your pocket work well. Again the price of the resort was reasonable so we planned on trying some of the area restaurants. There was always nightly entertainment. Mr. Texas played the keyboard and sang to us nightly. There is an entertainment crew and they work very hard to keep the visitors at this resort happy during the daytime and evening! They work very long hours. The beach bar and the lobby bar make great drinks, and if they have the supplies they will make you anything you request. They don't have lots of the fruity drinks but the drinks they make are good! Always service with a smile, everyone at this resort is friendly!
My one complaint about this resort is about the WIFI...the reception is terrible!!!! They have the router kept in the office and reception in the Lobby sucks!!!! Please move your Router into the lobby area!!!! We pay for WIFI it would be nice to be able to connect easily and not take an hour to try and sent an email home! WIFI is free at some of the restaurants down the beach and the connections are great. Please bring this to the attention of your manger!!!
Other wise we loved this resort!

Room Tip: Bring a small LED flash light with you. A small one that fits into your pocket. Walk ways are not l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Holamexico08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had a great stay at this resort! rooms were beautiful, clean and comfy. Bar service was great and always had a good time. The beach was perfect for snorkelling and interacting with the beautiful fish!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jesse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Our group of 7 divers stayed at Henry Morgan Resort from May 3rd through 14th. We booked here due to the fact that their sister resort, Media Luna, was closed during the period of time we would be on the island. Instead, the owners agreed to honor their DEMA dive special at Henry Morgan Resort instead and allowed us to dive with Aqua Adventures, the on-site dive operator at Media Luna Resort.

The stay was beyond our expectations. Having never stayed in the West Bay Beach area, we were unsure of what to expect. From the moment we were greeted by name at the front desk for check-in by Elizabeth until the time we departed, our group was treated with great kindness, attention and care. We were assigned to a villa - very spacious and comfortable. It was cleaned daily in a thorough and efficient manner. We even got towel decorations on our bed each day!

The meals at Henry Morgan Resort made us VERY happy during our 12 days there. The dining room manager, Jorge, was an absolute pleasure and made everything so easy for us. If you just take a minute to get to know these wonderful people, they will do anything in their power to please you. The food quality was good. I normally do not eat fish, but during our stay here I became a fish lover! It was prepared daily in a variety of ways and never disappointed - yummy! Having been to Roatan 15-20 times, and having stayed at numerous places, and knowing what to expect from meals on the island, all of our group was quite impressed with the meal selections offered to us on a daily basis.

We initially had some concerns about the number of people who would be on the beach and what would happen on cruise ship days. As it happens, Henry Morgan Resort does not entertain cruise ship guests, so there were always beach chairs available and there was always something fun going on at the resort. Unfortunately, we were not always able to participate due to the fact that we went diving 3 times a day for 9 straight days. Exhaustion was a factor! Each day we would walk out to the dock to meet the dive boat, and each day we would encounter the same friendly security officers who were always happy to chat with us and make us feel welcome. Each afternoon there were beach volleyball games going on and live music in the entertainment area. It was a nice atmosphere. The beach bar was always open, providing refreshments after a long day of diving. (Loved their Pina Colada's and fresh doughnuts!)

No, this is not a 5-star property, but it is not advertised as such. Instead, it is a place where I felt very comfortable and very much at home. It was really my kind of place, primarily because when we left, there were people there who I will very much miss! That's the kind of place I want to return to...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CajunDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Loved Roatan,loved all the staff at HM! They go out of the way to make your holiday special. Food excellent,and we are picky eaters.coffee not so good,but it works.at the airport they give u your bracelet whit save time at check in,thumbs for that.the rooms are very rustic,but clean,water pressure sucks on the 2 floor, but your in paradise ,so deal with it! We had lots of fun with the small things that go wrong ,but we are only in a 3.5 star resort.we stay at 5 star resorts, but the staff will make u feel that u are at a 5 star resort.beach amazing,snorkelling amazing.the people of Roatan are the best we have meet in the world,thank you.give it a shot u will not be disappointed. Just go with a open mind,and meet people ,that are real,just like u and me

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank baker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

In Roatan you can find from backpakers hostals to 5 star hotels. But you can't expect to pay a 5 star hotel service in a 3 star hotel. Rooms are spacious and comfortables, villas are amazing. We spend great family time in the living room area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. In this hotel the staff is not the problem, perhaps, the food (not varied enough) we were there for 4 nights and we ate almost the same thing at dinner and breakfast! Gym compounds were hideous, the salt has rotten the materials.
Pool water is amazing at night!

Room Tip: Choose the villas rooms, and dont reserve online, try to do it from Honduras, its much much cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arleni U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This resort is not for those with high standards for rooms or food. The food and rooms are Ok by my wife and I. The A/C was loud. I do need to say I was happy they sent someone right away both times I told them about it which was impressive since it is an older resort and maintenance is a big job for them. It was still pretty loud which sucked but "E" for effort. The food was local stuff mostly. They do try to make some American type food but it's not the same.... Bacon only once for breakfast. But we were well fed and served well by the staff. That's really the only major negatives in my opinion. So if you are scared off by now I'll tell you the good stuff.
West Bay Area is the best. Find the reef to either side of HM about 150 ft out. Not that far. And it is worth it! We went night snorkelling with Ariana from TGI diving. Bio-luminescence, an octopus, crabs, sea cucumbers, sea urchins... etc. We found turtles and lion fish on other day trip. Scooter rentals are a good idea for a day trip. They allow you 24hrs so we stayed out late. You could go to West End after touring. We found so many paradise spots along the way! We took a zip line tour and a park that had monkeys and macaws. They let us interact with them too! So funny!! The best part and coolest thing off our bucket list was the Dolphin swim. Yup! You can free swim about 15-25 dolphins after the trainers give you a 1/2 hr encounter in shallow water with them. You get to pet them and they've trained them to kiss you!!
There you go. In conclusion we were very happy at HM in Roatan. Going with the less expensive resort left us with enough to go off resort to experience some pretty cool activities. And likely the pricing we were given wasn't inflated either in comparison.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frugfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
545 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Morgan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Morgan Beach Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: $218 - $1,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henry Morgan Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henry Morgan is an All Inclusive Resort located in the best beach of Roatan, West Bay. Our mission is to anticipate and deliver on the dreams and expectations of every guest's perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Henry Morgan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Morgan Hotel West Bay
Hotel Henry Morgan
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Beach Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing