We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Henry Morgan Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Ijamsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is located on the best beach. The staff was amazing, except for the front desk. The rooms were were ok, they could have used a little updating. The food was ok. Breakfast and lunch was good. We ate dinner their one night, and never agian. We walked to other restaurants down the beach, which had amazing specials and great food. The biggest dissapointment was the hours in which the food was served. Breakfast was over at 0930!.
The best part, besides the amazing beach was the TGI dive shop. The staff and instructures were amazing and sooo helpful. Over al,l I cant complain tooo much. We aways had a drink in our hand and a chair on the beach, and paid a pretty great price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HP1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    589
    289
    120
    88
See reviews for
338
621
58
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is well situated has the best beach, but that's about it!! They kept their beach really clean!
Hotel rooms are in major need of upgrades. Beds are as hard as rock, you may as well have slept on the floor no difference. My ribs were sore every morning because the bed was beyond firm!!! Bathrooms are horrible!!! Mold in the showers, faucets falling apart, calcium all over the shower head. Shower door was so dirty I was afraid to even touch it and the walls. Bathroom would at times block and had to call them to come and fix it. I heard complaints that some guests had no hot water and no a/c. I guess I was one of the lucky ones. Some bathrooms read that you were not allowed to throw TOILET paper in the toilet!!! YUCKThe good thing about the room is that they had flat screen TV's with a great choice of channels. We had A/C but we could not regulate the temperature, the good thing was that the rooms were well sheltered from the sun that you did not need a/c at night. Food extremely basic, nothing fancy same thing almost everyday. STAFF WAS AMAZING I cannot say one bad thing about any of them. BRING LOTS OF BUG SPRAY!!!! your going to need it and badly. The hotel would believe it or not fumigate at 6 am in the morning EVERYDAY and woke up all the guests and the dead for how loud the machine was. I though I was on vacation and hoped to sleep in, forget that. I would not recommend this place to anyone. There are a few more hotels on that strip of the beach choose carefully. I am very thankful that I got a really good price for this hotel becuase I would have never paid a cent more for this place. The animation team was wonderful, they tried really hard and for some they succeeded.If you do choose this hotel ask for a suite when you get there, upgrade it's will be worth it. I was told that the suites are in much better shape and everything works and the beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dicoverbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Bay hotels

philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Im going to keep this short and sweet. This place is a steaming dump. After I carried my family's bags about a quarter mile up and down stairs trying to find my room, I opened the door and was horrified. The room was a mess and smelled horrible. There was no way we were staying. I went to the front desk and told them I was leaving and wanted a refund. They said they would not refund, so I called my credit card company and they took care of it. Should have booked Infinity Bay since I ended up there anyway. Do not make the same mistake, stay away.........

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank turbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This small hotel is smack in the middle of the length of beach on which is the reef at one end and you can snorkel there with just a mask. AWESOME!!! Just grab your bread stash and off you go down the beach to feed and amaze yourself. For anyone who is not comfortable in deep or rough waters this is the place to be. We have been to many Caribbean beaches but this is the best for adults and kids. We also were truly amazed at the great job they do with the buffet at all meals.Not so many choices that you can't decide but very good quality. They escort you to your table of choice with wine and glasses in hand as you go through the line. Nice touch!!! We also experienced some great entertainment for evening festivities. Would definitely go back. Just make sure you take your meds for malaria as it is recommended for Canadian traveller's. We did not encounter any problems but is precautionary because of the rain forest and humid weather.

Room Tip: No need as they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sdg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Ok people. This is a tiny resort set on a beautiful island. Front staff do what they can with the little they have. Rooms are amazing except some sounds noted if on ground floor. No big deal. Food is just like any all inclusive, they are cooking for the masses. You will not go hungry, I always gain weight there. George the Resturant manager is awesome, super friendly. There is no other beach like it. Snorkelling and diving are a must. Beach is safe to walk on as my wife and I have walked end to end without any feelings of feeling unsafe.
Now for those you who complain about poor wifi, long walks, bugs and heat. What the ---- where you expecting form a poor tropical country. Shame on those who dare to complain.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Canadian-swed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have never felt compelled to review a hotel before today. After having stayed in some great hotels and some which may have been less than stellar at times, my general feeling has always been understand where you are going, what you are paying, and make the best of it if is not to my liking. I have always managed to fix any small problems I may have had with any hotel with a friendly conversation with the manager or concierge. This has been my mode of operation until I checked in and immediately out of the Henry Morgan Resort. To say that this place is a dump would be a slight to dumps everywhere. Where do I start? How about with the front desk staff who were vying for extra parts as zombies on the "Walking Dead" or perhaps I should mention the swarm of mosquitos at the open air front desk that were eating my girlfriend and I alive as we were looking for any signs of life as we attempted to check in. After we found enough of a pulse from one of the front desk girls to get directions to our room, which turned out to be an impromptu nature hike over a pool of stagnant fetid water with multiple stair wells. Did I mention there were no bell hops? We arrived in our room to find all of the ambience of a cardboard box. My girlfriend went into the bathroom to discover the shower head and bath tub covered in mold. It was at this point that I informed her that there was "no way in hell" that I would spend one night in this place. We informed the front desk of our decision, which barely elicited any response from the cadavers behind the front desk. We left our luggage there & walked down the beach to the Infinity Bay Resort where the front desk girl, Olga, could not have been more gracious or accommodating in finding us a lovely room at their stellar establishment. The Henry Morgan should be demolished. It is an embarrassment to to flea bag hotels let alone all of the lovely resorts that my girlfriend and I checked out along that strip of beach. It is a dark, dank, lifeless resort that seems, as we found out after asking around, to be the laughing stock of the beach. I would have merrily joined along in the humor had I not checked there for one miserable hour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

On our first visit we brought 24 guest with us as we got married there. The hotel was great and not one of our guests complained. The bugs are an issue but bring spray. The beach is beautiful and I have seen Australia to South Africa beaches and this one is spectacular. We love going to this island as it feels very safe. We can walk down the beach at 10 pm and not worry about anything. The food is good, I never lose weight while on vacation..lol. If you want to experience a place not overrun with tourist, this is the place to go. We have been three times and are heading back in January 2014.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank canworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.3 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
15.0 mi away
Media Luna Resort & Spa
Media Luna Resort & Spa
#18 of 41 in Roatan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Morgan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Morgan Resort

Property: Henry Morgan Resort
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henry Morgan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henry Morgan is an All Inclusive Resort located in the best beach of Roatan, West Bay. Our mission is to anticipate and deliver on the dreams and expectations of every guest's perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Henry Morgan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Morgan Hotel West Bay
Hotel Henry Morgan
Henry Morgan Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing