We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Henry Morgan and West Bay Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Henry Morgan Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a fabulous time on this vacation. Lots to do, or just lay back and enjoy the fantastic beach. Snorkling, para sailing, scuba diving, zip lining. We checked a lot of things off our bucket lists. You could reach all of this without taxi's or buses. It was available right from the beach. Gumbalimba Park was a lot of fun. We were there on a day with no cruise ships, so we pretty much had it all to ourselves. Our resort smelled clean no musty odors, and the staff was friendly. You will take tons of pictures, we didnt fear for safety at all. The food wasnt elaborate, but you never went hungry. Brief power outages happened. This is a resort and an island I would definately recommend and will return to again. For night life, there is plenty of bars along the beach. This is not a good resort for a person with mobility issues! If you want late night action and parties, go to a different island. This is a great place for daytime activities, and relaxation.
B.Little

Room Tip: best rooms would be second floor, because of the wooden boardwalks,Unless your a late night person.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Zippy_Brendarilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,472)
There are newer reviews for Henry Morgan Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Reviews are correct when they say that this resort if average. Nothing special about the rooms - stayed in 118. Door didn't lock for the first 2 days and air conditioned dripped, but was fixed asap as soon as we brought it to the front desks attention. The cleaning staff is excellent - rooms were spotless. Shower always had warm water. If you are planning on spending alot of time in your room - dont stay here. If you are just in your room to sleep - this is perfect.
Buffet - breakfast is the best meal of the day with an omelet station that always had a line but went very quickly. Alot of "mystery" meat, had bacon twice in the week we were there. Fill up on breakfast because lunch and dinner is quite bag. Noodles, same chicken dishes and more "mystery" meat. The 11am snack at the pool had hand cut french fries that we had everyday - very good. The other snacks - not so much.
Beach - beautiful - the reason we will come back!!! The snorkeling is better than the diving! An amazing reef that we couldn't get enough of. We saw everything from stings rays to turtles parrot fish, saw it all - it was like swimming in a fish tank. Water was like bath water. Just beautiful.
The beach was also sprinkled with alot of little bars and restaurants. Really no need to go all-inclusive - there is a ton of food and drink places steps away from the Henry Morgan with much better food.
Water taxi's are available all along the beach and for $3pp, will take you on a 5 minute ride to West End - a cute touristy town where you can eat (Cannibal Cafe - yum!!) and drink and watch the gorgeous sunset!!! At night - it could cost you $5pp to get a ride back. Cabs are cheaper ($3-5 for all) but take about 15 minutes to get back from West End.
All and all, this was a fantastic vacation. If I had to do it again - knowing what I know now, I would have stayed at Infinity Bay (a few steps away from Henry Morgan and folks we talked to who were staying their said it was "amazing"), I would have NOT gone all inclusinve (to many 2 for one dinners available, and 2 for one drinks)
Another thing - pack LIGHT, no need for ANYTHING dressier than shorts and a t-shirt (both men and women) dressed up folks stuck out like a sore thumb.
If you don't dive or snorkle - go somewhere else - little to do her but that - but that's what we came for!!

Room Tip: We requested a room on the upper floor twice and still didnt get it - TRY to get an upstairs room...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2travel184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just returned from our vacation in Roatan. The Henry Morgan resort was a clean well managed resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was OK,could have been a little better. But there was lots of variety.
The only complaint would be that there is a lot of stairs all over the resort. I am handicapped so the stairs were a bit of a challenge,but manageable.

Room Tip: If you want to spend the extra money and book the villa rooms it would be money well spent. There a...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

First off just want to say this resort did not disappoint. It was an honest 3+*, beach and water being 5*, rooms 4*. Food was minimal but never went hungry, needed to be inventive sometimes with a two week stay. Beach lunch bar is amazing for fast food type fries and 'tacos'. Staff members are great. Santos is the beach caretaker (deaf mute) who goes above and beyond and surprisingly easy to communicate with gestures etc. Bring him a nice rum and coke in the afternoon to refresh. Food on the West Bay is higher priced but go to West End and much more economic - Caribbean Blue Tex Mex is very good. Diving is less expensive from here too - used Splash and would highly recommend for safety and experience.

Don't expect to get 5* if the rating is 3-4*. This is the best bang for your buck. WiFI is available should that be your thing during vacation - $20 unlimited for a week but works only in the lobby although some people who had the closest rooms to the lobby were able to get service in their rooms.

Take the walking tour offered each day at 10 am - it is a discovery in itself and lasts approximately 45 min. Was able to walk around and see some of the nature.

Beer was Imperial and slightly staunchy - preferred to have Salva Vita or Barena when buying on the beaches. Blended drinks are average - bring along a travel mug as they use paper cups. If going along the beach most restaurants have 2 for 1 from 4-6 but they do this with restricted choices. Los Rocas is a slight walk but well worth the Monkey LaLa - best we had. Fosters Beach Bar had a good lunch choice (chicken wings were good), Thirsty Turtle had a great pizza and the Argentinian Grill does great beef tenderloin and surf and turf (but it is cheaper to go into West End location).

Arranged a tour with Steve from Steves Paddle Shack in the West End. He is from California and resides in Roatan. We hired him to take us around to the East side, did a dorry tour through the mangroves and went to the French Harbour, French Key, Dixon Cove, Jonesville, Oakridge Key, Old Port Royale, Anthonys Key, Pristine Bay, Coxen Hole, and the Hole in the Wall. He was very informative and well worth the tour. He has a paddle board business run through West End but will arrange a safe tour. He took us to Pristine Bay Golf village (private member) and this was AMAZING. They are building a hotel in the future so this may open. Golfing there is about $200-225 with a cart and no need to have a caddy.

Gumbalimba Park is well worth the tour. We did the park and the zip line (13 stations) for $55 USD each. Was able to interact with Scarlet Macaws and White-faced Cappuchin Monkeys as well as seeing other nature.

If want to snorkle get snorkle guide map from the lobby this tells you how to get out by Infinity Bay Resort (just 50-60 feet from water taxi dock) and you will see the best sealife and reef from there.

If questions, feel free to contact through this site and will do best to assist you with info.

West End has a lot of VRBO availability with a grocery store in Coxen Hole for supplies - would definitely consider this in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank fergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just got back from henry morgan hotel. Where do i start? The hotel itself is average. The staff speak good english are very helpful. The rooms were spotless. Every need you have they will try to accomadate. We went with 2 other couples so we entertained ourselves alot. If you are looking for a good night life at this rsort then i do not suggest it. The bars close at 11. Its very suitable if you want a bit of entertainment then bed early. No swim-up bar so pool was not used much. Its defin a diving resort, most people are gone all day to snorkle or dive. If you are into doing that stuff then roatan is the place for you, gorgeous beaches, not a scrap of garbage anywhere, very well groomed. Next is the food, well.... Average, always the same things. But u can get fresh cut fries between the hours of 11 to 2 lol. We ate mostly down the beach a bit, a placed called banarama, awsome place, best servers, always entertainment, great pizza. Got hooked on a drink called monkey la las, gotta try one. Which reminds me, you can only get selected drinks at henry morgan. No preimum booze, no champaine( unless you want to pay for it). They had bout 6 cocktails and a few frozen drinks, so it got boring pretty fast and they are not freely with the rum like some other resorts i have been too. I suggest go see roatan but depending on what you are looking for, henry morgan might not be the one for you

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a long, a detailed review as I really want people to understand what this resort and Roatan are really all about. The resort is medium sized, right on a beautiful beach, and part of a strip of resorts, private residences and a few restaurants. If you are into relaxing, laying on the beach, snorkeling/scuba diving, adventure and have an open mind, this is the place for you. If you're looking for Cancun-type accommodations and parties, go to a different country. This is not the best resort I have been to, but is far from the worst I have been to. There can be some improvements made, but they seem to working on them as best as they can.

Rooms are clean. Basic furnishings, nice canopy bed, flat screen TV with a good variety of channels (being Canadian, was nice to see they had CBC), clean washroom, always got fresh towels. They provide scarce toiletries so I would suggest bringing your own. Always had hot water, no problems with the air con. Maid always left wonderful towel art, and you are provided with 2 bottles of water in the mini-fridge you can refill at any of the many water stations or the 1 of 2 bars. Rooms are kind of dimly lit, as is most of the resort, would suggest a flashlight, candles, and even a camping lamp if you have one. This is also in case the lights go out (which is common in the island), and this only happened once during our stay.

Food is okay, it's not bad but it's not gourmet. You will always find something to eat, and some items may surprise you. There is always an omelet/egg girl and pasta station. Beef is scarce on the island, so you will see mostly pork, fish, and chicken dishes. Fresh fruit and vegetables for salads, and there is always bread and rice. A suggestion: use common sense when choosing certain foods (ie. cheese) as some items that have been sitting around for a while when not refrigerated might not be your best option if you have a weak stomach. We did not get sick the entire time (and I usually always do no matter what or where). The a-la-cart was great, you get a choice of chicken or fish (my Grouper was to die for). The best part - if you're picky, there are a lot of options to choose from on the beach and on the road in front of the resorts (take one of the exits off the beach) and they are very reasonably priced. There are also a lot of options in West End so if you don't like the food on the resort, you WILL find something off the resort. Aside from the Lobsters, pizza, ribs, we visited a recently opened place called Hot n' Spicy and it was fantastic! The beach bar serves food from 11:30-2PM, but all we had was the fajitas they made to order as we usually came before they opened.

There are 2 bars, the beach bar (closes at 6) and the lobby bar.. Which closes around 11. Don't let this deter you, apparently the island is going through a conservative wave of government, and every resort has the same hours. This was not the case before, and is likely to change soon, but for now it is what it is. We tried to walk down the beach after 11, no luck anywhere. West End is your best bet if you want to drink later or you can buy your own booze at the local supermarkets. Ask about a trick to get beer back to your room, I'll be more than happy to share. They make really good sweet drinks (pina coladas, daiquiris), don't expect premium liquor, the beer is average vacation beer (very light). I drank 90% of the time I was there because I'm a wino. The red was okay, the white was pretty bad. Mix with 7UP.

The beach is fantastic! There can be a lot of vendors for souvenirs, massages, tours, para sailing, etc. but a polite no thank you and they are on their way. The beach goes pretty far both ways, and is safe to walk at night. White sand, turquoise water that you can see through, and amazing snorkeling! The best was at the far end of the beach by the rocks past the Infinity Bay where the coral is. I would suggest bringing flippers or aqua socks if you want to go far out as the sand get a bit hard and in case you get someones foot gets in your face and you accidentally kick some coral. I stubbed my toe because of some jerk who swam in front of me. Loungers can be hard to find at times, but we never usually had a problem.

West End. It is a beach town, always something going on. It might not always be a party (like on the weekdays) but there will be something to tickle your fancy and keep you awake. Friday night is THE night to go, lots of parties, tourists, everything is open. During the day, it's a nice place to walk, go to the beach, eat, shop. A shuttle costing $5/pp from the resort will take you there and back, check times with the front desk. The latest they were able to take us back was 11:15PM, cabs are everywhere just make sure you get into a registered one. Also, you can order cabs from the resort, negotiate price as we were able to get one for $30 round trip. We also rented a car, drove the island during the day. We visited everywhere and made it halfway to the East End, but decided to turn back as we had an agenda. We stopped at the casino, Coxen Hole, and French Harbour. Stopped at almost every bay, and it was well worth the money ($55/day). We also drove to West End at night so we can be on our own schedule.

Remember that you are booking a 3* star resort and you will have an amazing time. The staff are friendly, welcoming, and the service was impeccable. Enjoy the weather, the beach, snorkeling, West End, and keep an open mind. You are sure to have a great time (especially divers). Feel free to massage me any specific questions you may have. Happy Travels!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in a numbered block. We stayed in the A block of rooms, which are okay but were s...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank moonzchinadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Mu Husband and I just returned from Roatan and The Henry Morgan Resort- It was fabulous!!
loved the Resort, food and staff. The Henry Morgan was a great hotel. Clean, comfortable, friendly and very laid back. We loved the relaxed atmosphere and friendliness of the resort. The food was really good - had an italian flare to it and lots of fresh vegtables and fruit and ingredients to make great salads. THe desserts where amazing and fresh homemade sugar donuts everyday!!! afternoon snack time!! Wonderful!! Loved the Henry Morgan and we will go back only for longer. Fabulous beach, great location, great swimming and snorkeling.
Just a great island and Resort. Roatan is like being in Paradise.
Any questions please contact me
Vkeats
.

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter but bottom and top rooms are very similar- or take a suite.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vkeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.3 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Media Luna Resort & Spa
Media Luna Resort & Spa
#17 of 42 in Roatan
941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Morgan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Morgan Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: $228 - $801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henry Morgan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henry Morgan is an All Inclusive Resort located in the best beach of Roatan, West Bay. Our mission is to anticipate and deliver on the dreams and expectations of every guest's perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Henry Morgan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Morgan Hotel West Bay
Hotel Henry Morgan
Henry Morgan Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing