We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (985)
Filter reviews
985 results
Traveler rating
485
323
99
41
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
323
99
41
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolblue planet diverswest endfishhotel groundsall inclusive packagehotel guestslarge balconyday passcruise ship dayshenry morganplenty of chairsscuba divingnice resortlounge chairsdive shopwater taxi
Filter
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 985 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have decided to give Paradise Beach another try as we were not happy with a few things when we stayed there last winter. Hopefully the food and service in the restaurant have improved for one. We were forced to eat out many times. When we arrived to the beach barbecue there wasn't any meat left! There is not anything available at the bar that I enjoy drinking unless I want to pay extra, like wine. I will bring my own alcohol with me this time. My husband does enjoy the beer and rum though. As for the rooms, we paid extra for a suite. There may have been a little extra space but the fridge and stove did not work and there wasn't any furniture on the lovely big terrace. It was also near the noisy generator. The room was clean. Be warned, it does get a little crazy with the cruise ship people and the vendors on the beach.

Why are we staying there again? It is a very small resort with a beautiful, well kept property and there is an excellent dive shop at the hotel. Hopefully the hotel will take note of the requests that we have made for our March visit.

This is a beautiful location, with a great beach (where you can snorkel). We also quite enjoyed our day trips into the town of West End by water taxi. It's a short walk to the other side of the island were there are more beautiful views.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RodRob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

You might wonder why i have given this Hotel a "very good" rating after you read my story. We chose this spot because it had been built in 2011 and the alternative properties looked tired. It was very nice: tile, granite, tasteful decorations, flat screen T.V. The top level with a fresh water pool, bar and nice lounge chairs is a favourite gathering spot to view the sunset.

When we arrived there were no hangers, soap dish, drinking glasses, blow dryer or iron in the room. They were quickly provided. We were experiencing difficulty with the hot water (it was luke warm or cold). At first we thought it was just a matter of extreme use at peak times, but then called in the maintenance crew. They came twice and claimed that they had fixed it. On the third visit, we found out what was wrong. There is a thermostat under the bathroom sink. When the thermostat was set properly for hot water, the circuit breaker would flip and cut off the heat. The maintenance man merely turned the thermostat down to prevent it from flipping the breaker. This resulted in luke warm then cold water. Thanks buddy. He eventually admitted that the whole unit had to be replaced but could not be done before we were to leave. We had 4 days of nothing but cold water.

This hotel is an add-on to the Paradise Resort and Hotel. Essentially, you utilize all the restaurants and facilities of the lesser property. The food was, at times inedible. I never thought i would lose weight on the trip. Still, the weather was perfect, the beach beautiful and the ocean pristine. Plus our diving with West Bay Divers was great which is why we went to Roatan.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blairzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Let's clarify something first: if you like large resort, with lots of animation and activities, big pools and endless buffet, this place is not for you. For the others, if you like an intimate place (32 rooms in the Oceanic hotel mixed with 45 room at the Paradise Beach), with charming staff, good food and drinks in a lush site, then you will be satisfied! The rooms are large, clean with large balcony and a comfortable bed. If you want a view though, you need to be on the last floor (4th) because of the building in front. The terrace on the roof is gorgeous, with a little pool, and a terrific view, especially for sunset. It's habitually quiet, and Hector, the bartender is so sweet. The only thing to complain about the hotel is the hot water on the 4th floor. I thing the all inclusive concept is new to Roatan and this hotel so the working hard on getting it better every day. The food: no, there is not a 100 choices but what you have is very good. You have seafood mostly everyday. They have a special seafood night with a huge paella in the lounge once a week (don't worry there is meat also if like me you don't like seafood) and a beach BBQ on Sunday that is very appreciated. One thing that is missing at breakfast is toasts! You have one a la carte lunch per week included: pizzeria, seafood and steakhouse restaurant (the pizza is awesome!). If you have the lobster at the seafood restaurant, it's an extra 5$. You have a list of drinks included and two glass of wine for dinner (they are generous though about the two glasses of wine. The wine is ok and they ran out of red one often so bring your own!). You have breakfast from 7 am to 9 am, lunch from 12h to 2h pm and dinner from 7h to 9h pm. They bring snacks at the beach bar at 11h am and 4 pm that are very good (house made French fries, pizza, tortillas, etc..). The staff is amazing there. Always smilling, work hard, very effective and charming.
The beach is nice with crystal turquoise water. When cruise ships are on the island you can feel the difference on the beach. This destination is truly a paradise for snorkelling and diving and accessible directly from the beach. The visibility, the variety of fish, the beauty of the coral is really something not to be missed. We got our first dive with Nick (that is from Quebec so we could speak French!!) from the West bay dive shop at the hotel and we really enjoy the experience. We did the island tour that is nice but if you are 4 people, just hire a taxi driver and you will be able to do the tour for less at your own pace. We also visited the Gumbalimba park that is nice especially the monkeys! And finally we went to Cayos Cochinos. To be honest, this is not worth it especially from Roatan because the ride is to long (2 hours to get there by boat - if you are on the continent (La Ceiba or Tela) is will take only 30 minutes). I have done a lot of catamaran ride but this one was the worst one. Huge waves of 10-12 feet at least, strong wind, wet all the time. Everyone was feeling bad on the boat and it was dangerous just to move. The sea is always rough out there so unless to be sure to have a calm sea (that probably happens a few days during the year only), don't go.
At the hotel, is very quiet but if you want to party a little bit, you can go on Friday and Saturday at West end (approx.10 minutes by taxi).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

To give the reader of this review some contextual background, I need to preface the words that follow with, that, after two hectic years without a single day off from work, we, my husband and I, were looking for a place that would focus on giving their guests “a relaxing vacation, away from the hustle and bustle of their regular lives” (i.e., Paradise Beach Resort according to the Sunwing website). The price was right, so.. why not? I was not interested in a cultural adventure or a trip of my life-type of vacation, just a relaxing time off with an option to dive and snorkel.

I will rank each section of my review separately since something that we considered to be bothersome or a nuisance may not necessarily be a problem for a particular reader. Decide for yourself.

Resort: The Paradise Beach is a small hotel, a total of 47 rooms, nicely located within a garden that is well taken care of. The hotel location is very nice. This is a public hotel with a public bar and public restaurants. This translates into a large number of non-guest wondering around the hotel grounds and constantly peeking into rooms. They (non-guests) would range from bus tours (stop for breakfast on Thursdays) to cruise ship tourist “cruisers (present almost every day) and others. As we were initially located in a ground floor room we have experienced it all, including the “pleasure” of wakening up one morning and facing 5 people (non-guest, they turned out to be from a bus tour) on our terrace peeking into our room. When complained to the manager about the tens of non-guest wondering around the hotel we were informed everyone has a right to be there. As for the bus tour people on our terrace, well we were told that we must have something against “locals”!!!! Overall for the “resort”, 2 stars maximum.

Hotel room: An average room with a hard bed. The room was cleaned daily. However, judging from bite marks on our bodies (fresh every morning) we had a strong suspicion there were bed bugs there or at least fleas. Because of that I would rate the room 2 stars maximum.

Staff: Excellent and very hard working people. They will serve with a smile, always keen on helping you and meeting your requests. I would rate the service 5 stars.

Restaurants/Food/Drinks: Except for breakfast which was repetitive and quite limited, food was delicious! What we did not like is that the hotel buffet was a pit stop for bus tours on Thursdays. Your chances to get a decent breakfast or a spot to sit down were slim on these days. Also interesting, that while we opted for an “all inclusive” we were constantly asked for the room number as the management keeps track of what you eat and drink, annoying but you give in eventually. Overall for restaurants/food/drinks - 4 stars because of repetitive and limited choice breakfast.

Beach: Beautiful if you will go there early in the morning, turquoise pristine warm water. The beach is approximately 1.0-1.2 km long and 2-25 m wide (the hotel beach is no more than 6-8 m wide) and there are thousands of people there daily. The hotel has a designated area with beach chairs so theoretically there should be no big issues. In reality, it really depends on daily “arrangements” between cruise ship guides and/or individual tourists and the hotel/bar staff. Be prepared that cruisers with or without “arrangements” will attempt to remove your towel and take your chair. And of course the hotel policy says that should you “accidentally” lose your towel you will be charged $25. Luckily, the security guy was very vigilant and protective of hotel guests and their belongings; he did the best he could despite all kinds of ongoing “arrangements”. Now, once you managed to keep your chair, you will be faced with all kinds of other issues ranging from insects to vendors. When the former one will be annoying but silent going about their business, the last one will make sure you will notice them and they will try to sell you everything you do not need. They would go absolutely ballistic on cruise ship days, knowing that for the most part, cruise ship guests have lots of money to spend on everything. Also, there is constant loud music from the hotel bar (trying to lure in cruisers and others), making a relaxing snooze on the beach all but impossible. If you are a party animal and love the constant buzz, then this place is right for you. Overall, for our beach experience, 1 star; due to the never-ending loud procession of tourists and vendors and, a lost fight with bugs.

Diving/snorkeling: This was superb. Roatan is a diver’s paradise. The reef is beautiful with an abundant sea life. We have dived with the West Bay Divers and we would recommend them to anyone. The shark dive was so far the best dive of my life. Great opportunities for snorkeling! Overall, 5 stars.

Excursions. We have booked two, the Gumbalimba Park combo and an island tour through Sunwing/hotel. We have really enjoyed the first one. As for the second one, can’t say since the driver never showed up. Apparently, on the way to pick us up he stopped to check for better deals than the one he was already paid for. Since found a sweet deal with cruisers, he just went for it. We were offered an alternative date or our money back. At this point we just gave up and took the money. Overall for excursions, 2.5 stars seem fair.

An average score for this “resort” and a whole experience is 3 stars. Summarizing our experience, weather was gorgeous, water was warm and crystal clear, food was delicious, diving/snorkeling to die for. Because of endless crowds on the beach, restless vendors and bugs waiting to suck you money and blood, we would not come back to this “resort”. Also, I would not recommend it to our friends. Should we ever choose to come back to Roatan for diving we would definitely look into other options.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RenataK_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just to clarify for anyone reading this review. We are seasoned travellers who have been just about anywhere you can name in the caribean and central south america. When people write a review they need to be able to compare to other places properly. Lets face it the bottom line for most of us is the price tag and what we are getting for our money. So when we compare to our many and I mean many travel experiences we are trying to be open minded. This resort is small and so one would likely understand food selection isn't the best. Quality however there is no excuse for...or should I say lack of. It should be noted that not only was the quality poor but being bug free would be important. Let me explain what we saw for our selves. There were pudding dishes setting out and each one had a bug in them, some two. When we brought this to the attention of the resturant staff, she simply went over to the pudding dishes waived her hands and the bugs that didn't fly away she picked out. Now I've done my share of "deep woods" camping at hunt camps etc. where things like this happen and or ignored. But never have I payed good money to eat at an All Inclusive that had this kind of an experience. I'm hopeing this isn't a standard. It would however explain why people who arrived before us had been sick and why many of the people who came in with us got sick. Now with saying this one needs to understand that the Flu bug was around and one could of got sick from the plane or who-knows.
Their La Carte dinner is very good, but you only get one of them per week. I find it strange that the food quality in the La Carte was so good and the Buffet was simply said the worse we had ever had. The service overal was quite good and friendly. The rooms are nice. the beach is great and of course Roatans water is to us one of the best. We have been to Roatan before and this trip we found the beach very busy with pendlers. Bugs can always be bad in Roatan, so bring spray. It is my understanding the old manager had died and there is a new manager. Hopefully he can and will listen to the complaints and adjust accordly. Anyone there when we were he has already lost them as a possible repeator based on the cost of the trip vs other locations. It is fair to say that all inclusive resorts in Roatan don't have a great repor for their food. You are better served renting a palce in this country and you can eat all your meals out at any number of resturants in west end village. The end result is you won't spend much more but you will notice a quality difference. We've done both. Be warned. Rick and Sandy

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank myroatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews