We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach Club for the Day in West Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We planned on heading to Bananarama Beach Club, it was is pretty much right in the middle of the beach, but we did not like the crowded lawn chairs so we decided to head north along the beach, about 25 yards past Bananarama was another beach club called Mayan Princess which had chairs for $10 and use of the clean bathrooms and changing rooms. It was not quite as crowded and had nicer chairs and security, so we dropped our stuff and spent the day at the beach club. They had a bar and restaurant, they drinks were a lot cheaper than Cozumel (beer $3, Mix $6). They offered us a snorkel adventure for $10 per person, the funny thing is we rode a boat back to the West end to snorkel. The snorkeling was awesome for $10 (90+ minutes), it had a ton of coral and walls about 30 feet high. We spent the rest of the day relaxing on the beach. Overall we enjoyed the beach club, it was not perfect but was nice an quiet. You could pay extra to use the pools. In the future I would look at the Fosters Resort it was a lot quieter and the beach was not crowded at all at the North end of West Bay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dt12201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it. We are glad to know that you had a great day at the resort. It's great to know that you enjoyed our drinks at The Beach Club San Simon and that you felt very comfortable at the beach. We hope you can experience a longer stay in the future, so you can enjoy more the beauty in Roatan and our services. Once again thank you for your review. Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 994 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful accommodations! We stayed in a beach front villa which had a balcony overlooking the beach, a living room, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. It was right by the bar and restaurants as well. The service was amazing and I want to make special note of Roberto and Paige. They were absolutely incredible and went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. The breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets were delicious! We did sign up for the Cayos Cochinos tour which, while enjoyable, wasn't worth the $180/pp fee. Great place to stay if you're into diving!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InaFajardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for sharing with us your wonderful stay at the resort. We are very happy to see how much you enjoyed our accommodations, villas, beach, service, and amazing staff. It seems you had a great time diving. I will share your review with our staff, specially with Roberto and Paige, they will all be happy to read it. We hope to see you again. Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Got a deal on living social so ended up paying essentially half price, & if we had paid full price we would have been disappointed.

We were fortunate to have a beach front villa, literary just steps from the water. It was essentially a small apartment, although somewhat outdated. Kitchen appliances were rusty, some of the doors stuck, cracked glass in a few of the windows, & the green couch with bright orange curtains was... An interesting choice. But it was roomy & cleaned every day, & certainly comfortable enough for us to spend 3 days in when some bad weather rolled through.

The beach is small. With just room for one row of chairs under the trees in some places. We were also extremely disappointed to see how dirty the island was. The people of Roatan are not concerned with pollution or littering, so after the storm the beach was just COVERED in trash. But the resort did a good job cleaning it up.

The biggest disappoint was the food. The buffet was random assortment of things that were never very hott, or were a little bit stale, or wilted. The guy working the buffet was a delight, always manning a station making things to order.

The Luna Maya Restaurant was trying to be good food. But generally just missed the mark. It wasn't remarkably bad, it was just okay. Nothing to write home about.

We had better luck at Calketts, outside in front of the bar. There is the most variety there & it was all a little better than everything else we had. The one thing about this place that we all found to be totally objectionable was that they brought in a dj almost every night. So while your sitting steps from the beach, trying to enjoy a nice meal with the sound of the waves, & the ocean air, you end up screaming to be heard, & forced to listen to someone else's horrible taste in club thumping music.

The beach club food is the worst. Just heaps of fried things. We only went once.

The saving grace of this resort is the pool, which they clearly spent a lot of time building & maintaining. There are beautiful little shade pods, several different secluded areas to lay out in the shade or sun, & Lenny will even swing by & bring you a cold(ish) Barena. As another review said, they pulled all the cushions off the chairs when the storm rolled through, but then four days later had never put them back out. Odd.

The company is fortunate to have people like the girl at the front desk, who is friendly & efficient at her job, the smiling guy behind the buffet, & Lenny who remembered us after out first night & made an effort to accommodate us all week. But they HAVE to ditch the dj though. All throughout our meals he said he "could not" turn the obnoxious club music down. & he had the sound system hooked up through his phone, so every other minute when he got a text that little bing would come through the speakers. Furthermore, the beachfront villas (including ours) were intruded on by his stupid music, after the doors were closed, late into the night. Getting up early to go diving? Too bad you can't get any sleep. There's just so many other things this resort should be spending their money on.

All in all, you get what you pay for, & we're glad we didn't pay any more. It was a pleasant get away, but we will be moving onto somewhere else for the next

Room Tip: Beach front villas are where it's at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cootlefruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate it. We are very happy to know how much you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings. We regret to hear that there were some small issues that did not meet your expectations. Thank you for all your feedback. We are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities so I will be sure to send your feedback to the relevant departments.
We thank you again for your review and hope to welcome you back for a stay that will meet your expectations in the future. Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

First of all I'd like to point out that Sunwing, the package provider tried to pull a fast one on us before we even left for this vacation. They sent us an email saying we'd been 'upgraded' to the 'beach section' of Las Serenas. This turned out to be a total fabrication because we found out through TRIP ADVISOR that this other place was a complete dump(THANK YOU TRIP ADVISOR!!!!). Anyway we then had to pay to upgrade to the pool suites which is what we paid for originally!!

That being said this resort has gone way downhill since we were here 2 years ago. I'm guessing there has been some management change or no one really cares anyone. Either way we will definitely not be going back to this hotel. After hauling our luggage up to the third floor we found that our roof was also a helicopter landing pad! The noise and wind that this generated was ridiculous! On further investigations we found that the patio door barely opened or closed and better yet the lock was completely broken (good thing we were on the 3rd floor). I thought well since the door lock doesn't work we'll just put all our valuables in the safe. WRONG AGAIN. The safe only worked like once out of ten tries and we kept getting error messages.

Moving on the food had gone downhill too. Last time they had a good selection and something you could always find that was ok. This time by day 3 we couldn't stomach the stuff they were serving and went off site to eat for the majority of the rest of the trip.

Most of the staff (with a few exceptions) were not at friendly and didn't even seem to appreciate the tips of which we were pretty generous with. Mostly at the bar they were pretty good at ignoring you and I eventually just gave up and went next door to another resort.

The only good thing that this place has going for it is the dive shop. They are all really great and helpful and make sure you have a good time. (See my full review of Mayan Divers).

I could go on about how much this place sucks now but long story short we will not be returning and we will not be using Sunwing again after they tried to scam us with the bait and switch room routine.

P.S.
We were there Jan 20 - 27th, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timothy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Location, location. The perfect location to the wonderful beach. The beach villas are mere steps from the water. It was always easy finding a beach chair to enjoy the water. Yes there are sand fleas but it wasn't too bad.
I like the openness and small feel of the resort. It was easy to get a drink, eat and enjoy the beach in a small distance compared to large mega resorts. The rooms are large and clean. We weren't able to get wifi in our rooms but near the restaurant it was usually pretty good.
The only bad part was the food. The buffets in particular were average to poor. The ala carte dinner restaurants were goo but the buffets were seriously lacking especially the lunch and dinner buffets. There is no variety and often cold.
IF the food was improved I would give the resort 5 stars.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank SammiLin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to see how much you enjoyed our wonderful beach and accommodations. We appreciate your feedback it's always very important to know what our guests think. We hope to see you all again in the future. Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A group of 8 of stayed with the resort February 10 -17 2014, we were very disappointed In our accommodations at the le Serena which is a recently purchased part of the resort, not what we expected, at least one or all of us had no running water in our shower everyday, we thought we had paid for poolside at the main resort not this add on, had to take our own luggage to the room up at least 30 stairs, not impressed we complained and got upgraded to blue bands (premium drinks ) half way through the week wow! As for the staff they were great, rooms were clean and food was good, very little entertainment and music. Not worth what we paid sun wing rep at the resort did nothing to help thanks Claude! Staff we feel should be rewarded for the great service- Glenda Collins, lany Romero, Mario Melendez and Jenny the great girl who taught us all how to make cocktails. Thanks to you guys we did enjoy our vacation, the resort should be proud to have you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank D I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. It seems we were experiencing some communication challenges and have since been able to address and correct these errors with bookings made in Las Sirenas. On a brighter note, we’re glad to know that our staff was able to showcase the true hospitality for which we are known. We always want to ensure to offer the best in service with a friendly environment and it’s great that this was the case during your stay. We hope to welcome you back for a stay that will exceed your expectations in the future. Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife, sister in law and I stayed in this location from Jan 27 to Feb, 10, 2014. What a terrific beach. Other than days when cruise ship passengers took the beach there was lots of quiet time to be had. The beach staff were superb. Kudos to Brian. The restaurant staff were worked off their feet and could do with more help. Glenda was the glue holding things together.
The entertainment staff of Yean and Mario could not do enough to help you at all times. The only downside was the variety of food if you did not like fish. The staff need to replenish empty trays at the buffet. Do not go too late for your meal as the variety has diminished. Disappointed when we ended up in the Las Sirenas section which is a property recently purchased by Mayan Princess. Our rooms had no telephone service.
George M.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hello George,thank you for your review. We appreciate it. I'm so happy to hear that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable. I will be sure to share your review with all of them. They will be very happy when they read it. It seems that you, your wife , and sister in law had a great time at the beach and resort. We appreciate your feedback, it's always very important to know what our guests think.
We hope to have the opportunity to see you all again.
Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.3 mi away
Henry Morgan Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#7 of 14 in West Bay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
214 reviews
13.8 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
350 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#7 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: $358 - $862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Roatan resort on the island's best beach, Mayan Princess Beach Resort features waterfront hotel accommodations and service. Just steps from your luxurious condo, a white sand beach leads to sparkling turquoise waters, perfect for scuba diving Roatan's spectacular undersea gardens. Nominated for Honduras' Leading Hotel Award in 2007-2010, this Roatan beach resort offers a variety of vacation activities, first-class amenities, and beachfront restaurant. Welcome to paradise and comfortable relaxation in a tropical oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Princess Beach Hotel West Bay
Hotel Mayan Princess Beach
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing