We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exciting get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exciting get away”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

My huband and I travel often. Some trips are cramed full with sightseeing, walking andust see/do events. Some trips are all about simply chilling. This was one of the relaxation trips. We were there for 7 days, staying in a beachfront 2nd floor condo. It was spacious with excellent maid service. Wifi would come and go which was to be expected. Unfortunately, a tropical system moved in a and was there for our last full four days. Our room developed severe leaks in the living area, coming through the roof and window. We let management know but of course there was nothing they could do to fix it. I just didy best to soak up the water, move the sofa, etc. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and did their best to ensure a happy time.
We ate all but one meal there, the best being at Luna Maya. They are experts in lobster preparation!
We were stuck on site much of the time due to the weather. Cable had sporadic outages as did the power. We attributed that to the storm, not the beautiful facility.
One complaint is the balcony is outfitted with a high table and ,,4 high bar type chairs. Since the weather was so bad, it wasn't an issue but to sit, relax and hear the water would work better in lower seating.
The outside bar area is covered and roomy. We ate most of our meals there. All the waiters were wonderful and quickly learned our names.
I am not sure what the max winds
were but coconuts were flying. On the way to the airport, about 30 minutes away, we saw mudslides, downed trees and huge ruts in the already pothole full roads. None of that could be helped. I give the Mayan Princess a five star rating for handling this storm in a calm way, keeping everyone safe!
One other tip, I had read it best to bring a drinking cup if you don't like paper. We took three sizes of terbos tumblers they worked great in the restaurants and lounge!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rain3bow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We appreciate it. It seems you had a great time at the resort despite the bad weather. It's great to know that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable. We always want to ensure that our guests are comfortable during their entire stay. Thank you for feedback, I will be sure to share it with our general managers and staff. Be sure to come back and enjoy our delicious lobster at Luna Maya. Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    302
    119
    54
    38
See reviews for
247
376
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Four of us spent a week at the Mayan Princess from Nov. 18- 25th, 2013. While there were loads of positives about the week, it got off to a very poor start when we arrived at the hotel. This was the 2nd trip for 2 in our group & we were anticipating accommodation like we had before. What a SHOCK when we learned that Mayan Princess had acquired another property, La Sirenas next door. We were assigned rooms there, as were 5 other parties who arrived from our flight. That accommodation was very small & although apparently "new", does not compare in size with the units available on the Mayan Princess side.
All the "new arrivals" that day challenged the accommodations assigned & were told we had reserved a less expensive accommodation type.....not to the knowledge of anyone involved! On close examination, our hotel voucher said "Mayan Princess Beach Section". We would NEVER have expected not to have been staying in the property in which we had were last visit.
We were asked if we hadn't checked the hotel website which apparently describes the new property. Why would we when we booked through a travel agent & reserved exactly the suite style we had the last time????
So, a word of advice, do check with your travel agent if you have already reserved to clarify what kind of "suite" you will be getting. We, like others involved in the room allocation mess had requested king beds, apparently there are only 2 available on the Sirenas side. After complaining, I was shown an e-mail sent to Sunwing in Canada well before our departure from Canada advising this request could not be entertained. Unfortunately Sunwing didn't convey that info. Granted we were the first group of the season, & there are bound to be glitches, but this was beyond annoying.
Hats off to Elena Rocha at Reception who dealt with all the annoyed guests the first afternoon. Really, others like the Sunwing Rep & supervisor should have involved themselves in a more effective way at that stage but they really just tried to pacify us & say there was nothing they could do, which was beyond annoying. The Supervisor did say she would bring this matter up with her superiors & I gather she did.

Now for the very good stuff: The property is beautiful, staff are wonderful, the rooms are very clean & the beach is outstanding. Wonderful clear, warm water, loads of tropical fish who enjoy being fed bits of bread & or banana. Take a walk to the lava rock formation to the left of the hotel for a great snorkeling area & don't miss the iguanas on the rock who chow down on bits of banana & even bread tossed up to them.
Lots of vendors on the beach but they didn't hassle anyone.
Jen on the entertainment team was sweet. Not too much action in the way of shows in the evening & the entertainment provided was only for a short interval. There was 1 acquafit session which was fun, the 2nd one fizzled. So many of the dining staff were great...Johan James, Jonathan Emmanuel, Lani, Bayron & Glenda just to mention a few. Drinks served to those who spent their days on the beach as were morning & often afternoon snacks.
Lots of variety in the buffet....small compared to other all-inclusives, but food seemed to be fresh. All four of us had tummy troubles, but who knows the cause.

We loved Roatan & hope to return!

Room Tip: be sure to know if you are staying at La Sirenas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank casepacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate it. I'm so sorry that your trip did not had a good start but fortunately, the resort staff was able to make the rest of your stay as good as possible. We are so happy to read how much you enjoyed our gorgeous beach, food, and drinks. We hope to see you again. Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our taxi driver talked us into the Mayan Princess once we told him we wanted to go to the beach. I assume he gets a cut but thats fine, we were so glad we ended up here.

We paid 10.00 each for the use of the chairs and the restrooms. What a great deal that turned out to be. The security guys watched our stuff the whole day, they kept all the vendors on the other side of the markers they had too. This was sooo worth the money. I may have paid double had i been asked since this worked out so nicely.

Our friends bought lunch and said it was tasty, i think they said nachos and chicken fingers. We had a liquid lunch from the mini mart down the beach after we snorkeled.

This place was clean cheap and friendly. If you are headed to Roatan on a cruise and looking for a nice beach place that isnt crowded with everyone else from the ship, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vtoria981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We are very happy to ready that you had a great day trip at the resort. We strive to offer the best in service with a friendly, relaxing environment and it’s great that this was the case during your day trip. We hope next time you can visit us and stay longer. It will be a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent a week at the Mayan Princess. This is an excellent resort with large, well appointed rooms, beautiful grounds and one of the world's best beaches. The resort has several on-site restaurants, and offers and all inclusive package that includes food and drinks.

The service was excellent and all of the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The Mayan Princess sits on one of the best beaches we have ever seen. White sand beach that continues out for quite a bit into the crystal clear Caribbean. A great place to relax on the beach, or to swim or snorkel right from the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We appreciate it. We always want to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and satisfying stay with us and I'm glad that you had such a great time visiting our resort. West Bay Beach it's a real beauty and I'm glad you enjoyed it so much. We hope to see you again and once again thank you for your review.
Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We loved this resort - My boyfriend and I had only stayed at Mayan Princess for about 3 days and again, we loved it. We honestly had our doubts in the beginning from all past posts but The service, location, the food were great! Our room was perfect for the both of us and THE BEACHHHH was amazing!!! We had no problems and any ones that we had, we went to the front desk receptionists who were both always happy to answer any questions or assist us with any minor issues. We will be returning very soon, and I can't wait to spend more time there!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ohnessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
I'm so happy that you and your boyfriend had such an amazing vacation with us! Our beach is one of kind and it's great to know how much you like it. Your mention is very encouraging and helps us to ensure that we continue on this track of excellence. Thank you so much for your excellent review and we hope to see you both again!
Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My girlfriends and I decided to go on a girls vacation to Roatan Honduras and we stayed at the Mayan Princess Resort. Our first thought when we arrived was how beautiful the resort was and how breath taking the beach and ocean was. We were greeted at the outside bar by a very nice bartenter Lany. We ordered a monkey lala (a must have very delicious) and decided to hit the beautiful beach.. The service at the Mayan was beyond our expectations. Orlin and Paula makes great latte's and mocha's in the morning to start out the day. Lany and Orlin were always there to make us feel comfortable throughout the day. Be sure to visit Tamara at the outside bar in the evening she serves up great tequilla shots or whatever it is you like. Our favorite dining restaurant was Luna Maya where Aster was our server and did a great job making sure we had a great dinning experience. Our housekeeper Juana always made sure our room was clean and tidy. When our holiday was over we were sad to leave. the service at the Mayan is truely the best service we have ever experienced. Darwin and Danny boy was also there to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. I hope we didn't spell any of your names wrong we will miss you Lany, Orlin, Aster, Tamara, Paula, Darwin, Danny Boy and Juana. We will be back for another stay in 2015 so see you all then. Sue, Lisa, Kathleen and Marcia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are very grateful for your excellent review! I'm so glad that we were able to meet your expectations and creating an unforgettable vacation to all of you. I will be sure to share your review with our General Manager and staff. They will all be so happy to read it. We always want to ensure that all of your needs are met and it seems the staff did just that! Once again thank you for your review. We can't wait for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

In August I had the pleasure of staying here with my daughter and we had the greatest time. I booked through the hotel itself and Dyrla was a wonderful person to deal with. Quickly I had a quote for all the options I wanted to see and once I decided the reservation process was very easy. i also requested that they make arrangements for a wide variety of activities which she gave to (and I can't remember her name), but she did a fantastic job arranging everything including our dinner reservations at the various resturants. All inclusive premium is a no surprise package and I highly reccomend it. The dive center was great my daughter got the bubble maker program and the instructor was great with her. The food was great in all three resturants we ate dinner at, as for the buffet it was fair, but well prepared (I am not a big fan of buffets). Service in the resturants was great, but only fair in the buffet. I seemed we could never get a drink with out going up to the bar to order it. As for the other reviews on the crusie ships and being an inconvenience I did not mind at all as I meet several interesting people. I wish to thank all the staff at the Mayan Princess for a beautiful carefree vacation. We will return to this hotel anytime we visit Roaton.

Room Tip: If you are looking for peace and quiet at night book the 2 room suiets as they are the furthest from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth T, Manager at Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I'm so happy that you and your daughter had such a wonderful vacation with us. I will let know our staff your appreciation and kindness, they make their best to make everyone feel at home. Thank you so much for your great review and we hope to see you both again. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort

Property: Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort
Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#7 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Roatan resort on the island's best beach, Mayan Princess Beach Resort features waterfront hotel accommodations and service. Just steps from your luxurious condo, a white sand beach leads to sparkling turquoise waters, perfect for scuba diving Roatan's spectacular undersea gardens. Nominated for Honduras' Leading Hotel Award in 2007-2010, this Roatan beach resort offers a variety of vacation activities, first-class amenities, and beachfront restaurant. Welcome to paradise and comfortable relaxation in a tropical oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Princess Beach Hotel West Bay
Hotel Mayan Princess Beach
Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing