We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
West Bay
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,524)
Filter reviews
1,524 results
Traveler rating
937
405
108
39
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
937
405
108
39
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thirsty turtle vintage pearl crab races movie night live music laid back cruise ship west end office staff coconut shrimp fish great diving the wait staff front porch nightly entertainment bar restaurant fruit platter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 1,524 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2019

The beach is beautiful and the snorkeling is great. The issues with crowds and vendors has already been noted. The lack of shade on the beach at Bananarama is an issue. Food is standard. I only made a day visit but based on what I saw with the beach changing area and showers I would be hesitant to stay there at night.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank TXGandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama_Manager, Marketing at Bananarama Dive & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, reviews do matter to us and we use them to learn and grow as a resort. We're glad you chose us as your stop while in Roatan, West Bay is beautiful and should definitely be seen while on the island. The afternoon sun is directly overhead and can get rather hot, we always have staff on the beach that will bring/set up an umbrella for you if need be! Thank you again for taking the time to write to us, and for choosing to spend your day in Roatan with us! We wish you all the best and hope to see you back again sometime soon, our rooms are well maintained and clean so you won't be disappointed!

Best Regards,
Bananarama Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

Our family really enjoyed our stay at the Bananarama. We decided we picked the best place! Boys are 12 and 14 and we really utilized the dive center as well. Loved it. Enjoyed movie night on the beach, live music, free breakfast and great meals and wonderful service. The rooms were a little rough, dated, but more than adequate, and clean, getting a four instead of five rating.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Fearless184765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama_Manager, Marketing at Bananarama Dive & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2019

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate you choosing to stay here with us at Bananarama during your stay on the island. It's good to hear you all had fun and were entertained during your trip! We are a little more rustic than most resorts around us, we do that to help give guests a better island feel during their vacation. Thanks for coming to stay with us and we hope to see you all back again sometime soon, safe travels and see you next time!

Best Regards,
Bananarama Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

This was one of our stops on our cruise. We decided to pay to stop at this beach. Extremely crowded beach. Wifi was included but did not work. Lunch and drinks were included as well. The food was ok here. Service was phenomenal though. No beach space with shade unless you went to restaurant/bar area. Chairs are so close together on beach it's hard to get out of them. The water was amazing though. We parasailed and it was beautiful. Vendors were walking the beach nonstop and they would not take no for an answer. That is why I'm rating so low. They hounded everyone and was in your face. They'd even wake you from napping on the beach. Very rude and gave glares if you refused their service or product. Massage people walking around are very disrespectful and will put oil on you even after you tell them no. We will never be back to this area unfortunately.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Julietambling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama_Manager, Marketing at Bananarama Dive & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experiences, we appreciate guest reviews as they help us to learn and grow. It sounds as if you enjoyed your time with us at Bananarama, but had some bad experiences with the beach vendors. We're so sorry about that, Roatan's beaches are public so vendors on the beach are out of our control. We're glad you were able to do some fun activities during your stay, and are so happy the service was "phenomenal". Our waiters will be glad to hear it!

Again, we apologize if you at all felt uncomfortable on the beach, it is normally not as busy as you described.

Best Regards,
Bananarama Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Bananarama has a great location, good food, the drinks are mixed well, and best part is they have entertainment daily and food specials. Try their signature drink the Banarama cocktail. Pizza deal is bet on beach, 2 for 1 twice week. smoked pork has very good taste and flavor.

Room tip: If your a diver this is a very good choice, close to many dive tour companies and dive tour options.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama_Manager, Marketing at Bananarama Dive & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Hello Charles,

Thank you for reviewing us, we were happy to have you! It's always good to hear when guests had a good time with us, fun is our specialty! The cooks will be happy to hear you enjoyed the food! We hope to see you back again sometime, we'll keep the drinks cold and the pizza fresh! Thank you again for spending some time with us, come back anytime!

Best Regards,
Bananarama Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

My husband and I stayed in room #15 and really enjoyed our time at the resort. The people there really are what help to make this place so enjoyable...that and the great location:) From the time we checked in with Lindell to all of the great servers at the Thirsty Turtle, we always felt very well looked after. DiShon is great at the Thirsty Turtle...he always took time to chat with us. It's not very often when you leave a resort that you're hugging everyone good-bye, but that's the type of place this is. I also have to give a shout out to the cleaning crew...our room always looked so much better than the way we left it, so THANK YOU! And, I mistakenly left a pair of earrings behind and they turned them into Lindell who made sure to make arrangements to get them back to me. I felt very safe on the resort as well! Re room #15...we love this location...it's just set back off the beach behind the Thirsty Turtle so a quick walk back and forth to the beach when you need things. Having a kitchen is great for us so that we can have a quick snack in the room and then dinner out. Overall, just another great trip to Bananarama...we'll be back next year!

Room tip: 15 and 16 are duplex just set back off of the beach behind Thirsty Turtle...great location!
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lisANDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama_Manager, Marketing at Bananarama Dive & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2019

Hello,

We're so happy to hear you had a great stay with us, welcome to the Bananarama family! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for sharing your experiences here with everyone. It was great to have you here with us, and thank you for being awesome guests! Losing belongings is never fun but we're glad everything got worked out and the housekeepers/Lindell were able to help out! We look forward to seeing you again next year for your trip and wish you all the best!

Best Regards,
Bananarama Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews