We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveler rating
839
376
100
37
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
839
376
100
37
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthirsty turtlevintage pearlgarden cabanacrab racesmovie nightfire dancerslive musiccruise shiplaid backfun activitieswest endgreat divingfishthe wait stafffront porchtook great carelounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
1,236 - 1,241 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Bananarama is a quaint resort that enhances the change of pace that offers relaxation.The resort is located just yards away from the waters edge,reached through a court yard with coconut trees.Past a open air bar with a kitchen where a small but wonderful menu of coconut shrimp,chicken strips,a hamburger that could serve two.Wonderful Island drinks and at resonable prices.
The staff is friendly and excursions can be arranged for on location.Eager taxi drivers wait for fares.The water taxis are like sightseeing tours.
The evenings are a delight at the resort.Most nights there is live music in the courtyard.
We also dined at fine dining room ,Vintage Pearl.There we dressed up a little.
The resort is attractive to scuba divers because of the corral
reef.The Dive shop is on site and staff is ready to take you diving.However the clear warm water of the ocean are a delight for all.
Travel light and bring cool,light clothing.flip flops and a goob pair of walikng shoes.Dont forget the shopping bag and camera.
Lightladie

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Lightladie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Bananarama had great customer service and was a great place to stay to experience the island. The food was good and the view was perfect, what more can you ask for? The beach is beautiful and clean and the sunsets are amazing. We ate at the Vintage Pearl Restaurant and it was to die for. I recommend everyone go, there is nothing else like it on the island. Overall I had a wonderful vacation while staying at Bananarama and plan to stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fun4jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

I spent a wonderful week at the Bananrama Dive & Beach Resort last October. It was fantastic! It started with Omar, the fabulous cab driver, who made getting the luggage and getting to the Resort so easy and stress free. Loved the cabins and their closeness to the beach. Breakfast under the palapas was quiet and relaxing and the food was so good. The snorkeling, kayaking, and diving were outstanding. Every employee of the resort went out of their way to ensure we had the perfect vacation. The grounds and rooms are immaculately kept. Walking the beach, visiting at the bar while enjoying a MonkeyLaLa just added to a wonderful week of fun and sun. I highly recommend the Bananrama as a destination resort.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank italiantan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

My husband and I have made mulitple trips to Roatan, and every time we come away with wonderful memories of a great time. We have stayed at Bananarama 4 times now, every time in a different area/room, and have always found our accomodations clean and comfortable. Not luxurious - we don't want to be waited on and coddled, what we like most about Bananarama is the 'real' people that we meet there, both other travelers and local residents. Food is always very good and fresh (my new favorite is the Tropical Cobb Salad), and the kitchen staff has always been willing to adjust what they are fixing to meet any special requests that we have had. We love the bar staff (Tim, Sabino and Puma all make a GREAT monkey-lala, and Yolanda's Pina Colada is SUPERB), and eating at the restaurant at Island Pearl (Vintage Pearl) was a treat this time - truly delicious gourmet food, very warm and intimate atmosphere, and we went dressed in shorts and T-shirts, and even took off our shoes when we went in! We went on a day trip for snorkelers and divers to the East end of the island, arranged by the Bananarama Dive shop (we only snorkeled this time, didn't dive), and that was the highlight of our week this trip.

If you're looking for a luxury resort, this is not the place for you. No, rooms aren't large and carpeted with saunas and jacuzzis, but they are all air-conditioned, clean and comfortable - but if you want a place where you feel like you're really on a tropical island and beach, you need to check out Bananarama. You will probably leave with e-mail addresses of new friends, and definitely feeling like you were really in the Caribbean!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PJaneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We stayed at Bananarama for our one-year anniversary at the end of July. We stayed in cabana #8, which doesn’t have an ocean view but is nestled in a beautiful garden in the back. This is our fifth Caribbean vacation and without a doubt this was our best trip ever. The accommodations were very nice for the price, much bigger than we are used to. We had a porch with two rocking chairs, a living room with futon, TV, and refrigerator, a small bathroom, and a bedroom with closet, bureau, side table, and a/c. We arranged for someone from Bananarama to pick us up from the airport and he was extremely pleasant and took us to the grocery story to buy small items for our stay. We have always been avid snorkelers but decided to get certified for diving this time because of all the hype about doing it in Roatan. On our first day we wandered over to the dive shop and one of the owners (Louis) was very friendly, gave us a lot of information, and showed us around the property. It is right on the most beautiful beach on the island and a two- minute walk to the best snorkeling. The best restaurant on the island, the Vintage Pearl is also on their property.

Everyone who works there is extremely friendly (the exception being the front desk staff, who are a bit tight lipped). The bartenders at The Thirsty Turtle are wonderful (we love Sabino!) and we preferred to hang out there instead of other bars on the beach. The drinks are wonderful (especially the Bananarama Sunset) and there is nothing better than sitting in front of the bar watching the sunset with a cocktail in hand. Our only issue with the bar was the giant TV that was on all the time, sometimes showing things like ultimate fighting. Why do you need a TV with this gorgeous beach right there? As a vegetarian, food was not a highlight for me anywhere on the island, although the kitchen staff was very nice in accommodating me with my special request.

By far the best part of our trip was diving. The dive staff is incredible. We were quite nervous on our first dive, as we had only done our checkout dives in Monterey the week before, which has a visibility of 10 feet and is freezing. Martin was totally calm and helped us relax on our first dive. What a difference to dive in warm water with visibility of 100 feet! We ended up diving almost everyday, which was far more than we had planned! We dove mostly with Marco who was amazing. He was very concerned with safety but also managed to find incredible things in the water that we would have missed had it not been for him. Every dive was amazing and it was such a pleasure to interact with the dive shop everyday. Even the people we didn’t dive with were really nice, including the young men who drove the boat. We did one night dive with Sofia who handled the group seamlessly translating between Spanish and English.

We stayed ten days and were truly depressed at the reality of having to leave. Our days consisted of diving, reading on the beach, swimming, and then drinking and eating. Pure heaven. The beach is not crowded at all (with the exception of when the cruisers come – my advice is to STAY AWAY when they are there. Cruisers take over the beach in front of Bananarama and are pretty trashy. I don’t understand why you would take a cruise to spend a couple hours there when you could stay there cheaply for a week!)

Overall, Bananarama and the people on this beautiful island gave us the best vacation we have had yet. This is the first time we want to come back instead of trying somewhere new. If you are looking to not spend too much money on accommodations, but still receive great service in an unmatched location, Bananarama is the perfect place to stay on Roatan.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissapaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews