We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Time Fantastic, Won't be Our Last!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“First Time Fantastic, Won't be Our Last!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I'm not really sure where to start since everything about this holiday was great.
The island is really beautiful with a lot of relief and quite lush with vegetation.
The welcome was fabulous (far better than we got at Sandals in Exuma in November !!!).
A drink and a quick walk around the property and our room for orientation.
We stayed in Cabana #1 right across from the Dive Shop. It was clean, a bit funky and a lot of fun.
Food and drink throughout the entire week were great. Our main man, Alex, showed us amazing service and true friendliness. He, and the rest of the staff, couldn't have been better.
Jeff and Louis introduced themselves to us as owners and insisted that if there was anything we needed, to just ask. How many places do you get that kind of treatment from?
The Dive Shop was great. Marco runs a great operation. Very well organized and everything ready to go.
We dove mostly with Marc and Zoe for the week and they were great. My wife has had some (?) issues with buoyancy and these were sorted out this week. She now has a deep dive under her belt having done the wreck dive on the Aguila at the end of the week. That is thanks to Marc's patience and Zoe's teaching during the PPB course.
The diving is amazing. We have not dove that long (40 dives), but we now know what a healthy reef is supposed ot look like! It actually looks like we see on some of the dive shows on TV. It was fantastic. I won't go over the dives, but we did 15 dives each through the week and only went back the same place twice because we wanted to.
We did the Ahark Dive and if you haven't done one before this is great. It is very well organized and you feel absolutely safe. Did I mention that you dive with about 15 - ten to twelve foot Caribbean Reef Sharks!! My wife came too and was blown away.
The nightly entertainment is a lot of fun. There isn't much else to do, and we were tired from the diving, but this gave us some really fun entertainment that was different each night.
Overall the place is a bit quirky, a lot of fun and absolutely worth visiting more than once.
When you look at the value for money for a room, food and diving, it is exceptional.
If you want a great, really relaxing vacation, with great diving and great staff, come here.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank3892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    315
    78
    28
    24
See reviews for
290
481
62
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our second trip back. This time we brought two of our married children and my mother. We wanted a relaxed family vacation for a group with a variety of interests and Bananarama had something for the entire group. Whether laying out on the beach, snorkeling or arranging an excursion, the staff accommodated. We had four divers in our group and we had a super time with Martin, Zoey and Marc. The accommodations are simple, which we like, well maintained and cleaned daily. There was fun activities every evening from hermit crab races to live music. We over ate all week. The entire staff is very friendly, quickly learning our names. To Carolina, Alec, Shanny, and all the rest at the Thirsty Turtle, Sara and the front staff and the tireless grounds, beach and security crew that sweep, rake, clean and smile to us always: THANK YOU VERY MUCH! (there is bug spray available to purchase, but we did get some bites that itched. We didn't have this issue when we went previously in January. They really ate up my mother!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsfiedler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I spent the last week of May here and it was a fantastic experience all round.

The accommodation was simple while being clean and comfortable. The rooms were well maintained and cleaned daily. We had aircon all the time. The staff were all very friendly and attentive to any issues. Keep in mind that this is a very 3rd world country and a very remote island, so they do make do with their own water system and even power generation at times. There will be things like sand fleas and mosquitos, which can be managed very easily with deet - the staff were more than happy to assist with any issue. I found the restaurants very good and reasonably priced (especially if you buy their meal plan). The vintage pearl fine dining restaurant in the resort is out of this world and definitely worth a try even if you dont stay there.

But the main reason we were here was for the diving and these guys were the best! I've been around the world now on quite a few dive trips and these guys are definitely the best that I've encountered. They all clearly love diving and marine life. Dives were all unrushed and made as long as was safely possible. I had 11 dives and dont think 1 was under 45 min, mostly around 60 min. The instructors knew the reefs well and pointed out all sorts of interesting little creatures from pipe horses to strange little crabs on the coral. They knew what interesting and special fish would to find at particular depths and different locations. And the night dive is an absolute must to experience the bio-luminescence. They had a good selection of clean and working equipment that gave no problems to anyone that I could see that week.

If a diving holiday is what you are after, I think it would be very hard to beat these guys.

Thank you Marco, Martin and Marc for a fantastic vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller11447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Have stayed here twice and will be back. We stayed in villa number 29 right above The Vintage Pearl Restaurant. It has two bedrooms, two full baths, living room and a full kitchen. If you want a chill, affordable dive trip this is the place to stay. Marco and Marc were fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was at the resort for a wedding on the beach and absolutely loved it. After the wedding, we feasted on low-carb foods, including desserts. The atmosphere is relaxed-- it is Honduras, after all, and our host and hostess made us feel very welcome. I would definitely go back and stay longer than a day!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berta41098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The conditions at Bananarama are rustic - hot water is inconsistent, and the resort needs work. Overall the resort is just ok. Expect bugs and prepare accordingly. On days when they spray for mosquitoes it just forces them into the rooms (one night we stopped counting when we killed 40!). You'll also want to bring your own beach towels.

We stayed in the small studio room next to the Island Pearl restaurant. The location in the resort is great but the room is really small. Unpacking is not really possible as there isn't anywhere to put your things. The houses were very nice with full kitchens and nice rooms (only 1 bathroom) if you have more people but would be pretty big for just 1 couple.

Drinks and food are pretty expensive - close to what you would pay in the US - all the beach restaurants are about the same price. You can find better values if you look outside the resorts or if you bring/buy ingredients to prepare meals.

We met great people at this resort, and the dive shop is one of the best. The grounds are well maintained. You can get a beach umbrella for shade on the beach which I didn't see at any other resort, the sun is HOT so it was a nice option. However, on cruise ship days the beach gets pretty crowded and this resort actively solicits the "cruise ship day trippers". Look up the days in advance and plan to be away from the beach on cruise ship days.

Room Tip: Rooms near the main restaurant/bar are going to be really loud. The water quality and bugs were wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WA_kometes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! All of our rooms at Bananarama are wooden structure, with AC and a hammock out front. We agree that our vision of Roatan is not for everyone, but we are pretty laid back here so if anyone has a problem please let us know. We have over 100 staff members to accommodate our guests and our goal is for each guest to enjoy their stay here at Bananarama.

We have had problems since we switched over to the propane insta-hot units earlier this year. If anyone has a problem please notify us immediately as it is easy to fix. We are still working the kinks out of the system, but we are aiming for clean, comfortable and affordable on our accommodations.

The resort grounds are sprayed every week and the rooms are sprayed every week. If any guest has extra mosquitos or sand fleas that flew in through an open door or tagged along with you please let us know and we are happy to respray your room immediately... it only takes 2 minutes to spray and left empty for 30 minutes:)

I would encourage each guest to review the pictures on the website prior to booking. Our pictures are pretty accurate and we prefer that you get exactly what you are expecting when you arrive!

Many of the resorts up and down the beach are importing food from the US to feed guests. It is difficult purchase the food, pay for inspection, shipping, duties (taxes), transport and holding to turn around and sell the products at a cheaper price than the US... Its really hard to just get the price close to the US. I believe you get what you pay for here in Roatan and in life in general. My advice is to try other places, but be careful! Trust your instincts and remember that you are in a third world country where mom and pop shops cut a lot of corners which can lead to some pretty serious issues if your not careful. Here at the resort we do our very best to insure that your food and beverages are what you pay for:)

Thank you again for coming. I would encourage each guest to research and plan prior to booking your vacation. Roatan has a number of different accommodations and we hope you choose us, but more importantly we hope each visitor leaves Roatan happy with plans to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Found my way her via a cab off a cruise ship. Knew this was the part of the island we wanted to visit, and he dropped us off here ( him and a dozen other cabbies.. they obvlously have ties to this somehow )

That all being said, paid $10 per person to get in, enjoy the beach and it guaranteed i had a chaise to use while there all day.

Had some burgers and drinks. Food / Drinks were a good value. Server was over the top friendly. Beach was nice and clean. Water was excellent.

Only thing I would say that isn't a pure plus... the beach is buys and these small resorts dot the whole area... lots of choices. But, don't think you can go wrong with this one!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickkcir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#9 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Property: Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing