We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Stopped here on cruise vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stopped here on cruise vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This review was based on a day trip from Rony's excursions (1/23/13). We did not stay over night although the resort is within yards to the beautiful beach, tiki bar, and restaurant. The little bungalows seemed nice from the outside. The overall atmosphere was great. This was a family friendly beach/resort area. The bartenders at the Bananarama hut were extremely nice and provided great customer service. The drinks and food were great and reasonably priced. Another plus was that there were multiple security guards on the beach, so that made us feel safe.

The only con I have is that when you get on the beach, you are bombarded by people trying to sell you something, braid your hair, or give you a massage. So much so that we had to tell people no multiple times through out our time there. However, I think this may be out of Bananarama's control.

Overall, we had a great experience with the family. The food was great, customer service was great, atmosphere was great, reasonably priced food and drinks, beach was great, and there were security guards visible. We all had fun. I would definitely consider staying there a few nights in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvgkmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    301
    71
    27
    21
See reviews for
270
464
58
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Beautiful sandy beach, snorkeling and diving, yummy rum drinks. Loved it!! Resort is no frills, but a perfect place to relax and forget your troubles. Trees and hammocks give you a place to relax away from the intense Caribbean sun. Kakaks and rafts enable you to enjoy to crystal blue water. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austin_ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Bananarama gave us a great first experience in Roatan. The staff was great, the food was good, and the drinks were STRONG!! We did a smaller dive package, and had a wonderful experience with our guide. My only complaint here was that our dives were often scheduled around the ppl who went diving every day... not necessarily when we wanted to go. The accommodations aren't 5 star, but they are definitely nice with a local feel. I did miss having a pool, however I would definitely recommend this beautiful bay to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Bananrama through a Groupon purchased for a 4 night stay. It was really fantastic! The staff is excellent ( Danery and Denise were very helpful at the front desk) and the bartenders at the Thirsty Turtle are so much fun. Tim was unforgettable, but they were all great! The food at the Thirsty Turtle served us just fine for the 4 Days we were there...The lobster on Thursday is incredible! The breakfasts are delicious- My boyfriend LOVED the breakfast pizza. We ate at the Vintage Pearl one night, and it was good, but a bit pricey for us. We walked along the beach another night and had a similar quality meal at "Argentinian Grill" for a better price. The beach is stunning! Crystal clear water, clean white sand, and plenty of beach chairs! If you rent some snorkel gear you can swim out to the reef in minutes and see a huge variety of fish and coral. We had an amazing experience and I definitely want to come back so we can take advantage of more of the things they have to offer- like trips to other islands, taking a boat out to see some more of the reef, and maybe some fishing and diving. The bugs were never problem for us because it was nice and breezy while we were there. I definitely recommend staying here! Thanks Bananarama! --- Megan & Javier

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We learned to dive at Bananarama five years ago with our youngest son and couldn't wait to come back with the whole family, all eight of us. It was the perfect reunion vacation. We rented the King house and had lots of together time. We dove everyday. The dive master and instructors - all highly professional - worked up a great schedule for us so that those of us who were not yet certified quickly completed their course. We had wonderful family dives all together at the end of the week.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The food at the Thirsty Turtle and Vintage Pearl was delicious. The evening live music was fun. There are plenty of activities for non-divers. Great snorkeling right off the beach.
All this was surprisingly affordable (except the Vintage Pearl, which serves gourmet cuisine). This is not a five-star resort. It has a more rustic feel, which to us is its charm. It is sparkling clean.
The dive shop is absolutely top-notch.

Room Tip: The King House worked very well for a group of eight, with two large bedrooms and two queen size Mur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our first visit to Roatan and the Bananarama Resort was a great one! After a marathon journey from Edmonton it did not take long to settle into the relaxing atmosphere of this friendly resort. We were immediately recognized as newcomers to the resort and were made to feel welcome. Specific thanks go out to to Jessica, Alex, and Victor for their daily smiles and awesome service. In particular, our 10 and 7-year old daughters always looked forward to seeing Jessica at breakfast time and loved that she referred to them as her princesses. Dolly did a wonderful job braiding the girls' hair as well! The food was quite good - particularly the fish and shrimp! We had the opportunity to go on a fishing trip (which was organized by Franklin - awesome job) and after catching six black-finned tuna, the kitchen cooked up the fish for us and this turned out to be one of our favourite meals. Franklin also organized a full-day island tour highlighted by a visit to the Mangroves and a Butterfly garden - we highly recommend booking trips through Franklin who was both very informative and super friendly. One of the negatives...the sand flies! Hardly anything that the resort could do about that. The rooms were comfortable - a little small and pretty basic, but certainly met our needs. We were blown away with the beach, the clear water, and the proximity of the reef to the resort. We did a lot of snorkeling and hope to one day return to try our hand at diving. Kudos to Jeff et al for running such a successful resort. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

After a bad experience in another hotel, Bananarama made my stay in roatan perfect. Very good rate, the best location, clean and comfortable rooms.
I have been in the hotel a few times, service always consistent, professional and warm.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center
0.3 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#9 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Property: Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing