We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Steps from the beach with incredible people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steps from the beach with incredible people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel was awesome. It gives you a more rustic feel than other hotels on the island and still has most of the luxuries of the others. The employees were absolutely unmatched. I usually like to do a lot of exploring, but ended up spending almost every night at the Thirsty Turtle. Zebby, Derry, Eddison, Angela & Sandra at the bar were incredible entertainment! Before I was used to the currency conversion, I accidentally left a waiter a $20 tip at breakfast and he ended up finding my room and asking if I meant to. Their on site massages from Edgar are also a must-do. The activities staff was very helpful, we set up a trip with Franklin and it was awesome, he brought us places we NEVER would have found on our own, I loved the spider monkeys. I'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    301
    71
    27
    21
See reviews for
270
464
58
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a must go! our waiter on the thirsty turtle, Victor Palacios, was amazing! Me and my wife could not be anymore happy! our only problem was with the activity center, dont take the snorkeling + dolphin show + starfish, its a complete rip-off!!!!!! the "show" is just being on a boat that goes near the place were the dolphins are... then they show you 2 or 3 starfishes on the boat, the they take you to a very bad place for snorkeling... we paid 45$ each for that... then we found out that you can get the same trip at the beach for 15$!
but the rest is perfect, we were on a very calm week of december not too many people so it was very relaxing, the hotel is great and clean. the diving is also great!! we will go back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

This coming June will be my fourth time staying at Bananarama. Honestly, I think that says enough. The staff is friendly, the food is a tasty and a great deal, and if you are diving, you can not beat the dive shop. I've been diving with other outfitters on the island, but as soon as I dove with Banarama the first time, I knew I had found my home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrzmartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was my first experience at a Dive Resort after getting my dive certification, and was very satisfied with the beautiful Villas at Vintage Pearl (with help in scheduling from Jane, Sara, and others); and ate every meal at the Thirsty Turtle and Pizzarama (without being 'All Inclusive') because the food was so good, and enjoyed the fun and friendly staff (Zebbie, Jennie, and others). Also, not too many owners, such as Louis and Jeff, would take the time to make sure all our needs were taken care of and that we were happy! With our 10 dive package, I can't say enough about Dive Masters, Marco and Mal, and Captain Emanuel, for a fabulous diving experience on the beautiful Reef surrounding the Island of Roatan. Every dive I do will be compared with my experience with my very patient and skilled Dive Master 'Marco', and the variety of diving at the Mesoamerican Reef.

Room Tip: The Villas are great for quiet and secluded settings, and Queen/King Garden rooms are also recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CletaGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

At Bananarama, you have everything.
Great Staff - Honest, awesome customer service
Best Beach in the island
Entertainment
Great food
Bananarama makes you feel at home, verious staff members showed a personal interest to all of us. Our friend had been feeling sick before we arrived at the hotel and Carolina, our waiter, gave him some house remedies to make him feel better. She was checking up on him throughout our stay. (it must've worked!!!!!!!!!he was fine the next day after feeling sick for 3 days)
Victor was also one of our favorite waiters as well as Dolly. Thanks Guys!!!!
Everyone at Thirsty Turtle was class act, they followed thru with the drink special of the day after we had suggested caipirinhas. GOOD AND STRONG, thanks Angela Rodezno and Steven Raymond, I'm craving one right now.
Something that impressed me the most was customer service amongst all staff, including owners. My sister-in-law lost her wallet various times and one of the security guards found it on the beach late at night without us know about it. He showed up at our room and gave it to us. Sorry I couldnt get his name, but he always had a Washington Nationals baseball hat.
The other time that she lost her wallet was in a taxi cab, after going to the receptionist, she called Gamero (taxi driver) and he found it and returned it at the hotel later that night.
Never expected meeting amazing people at Bananarama.
There was several couples that visited bananarama from other hotels near by, but always came to Bananarama for great entertainment and better staff service than their hotel.
All the guards work 12hr shifts everyday and always staying on top of their job, making sure we feel safe, and at times, watching our personal items on the beach while we would kayak or do ohter water activities. It would be nice if they worked less hour shifts to spend more time with their famalies, they deserve it!!!!!
The pizza was delicious at pizzarama, best pizza in the island, and the best one I've had since going to Italy a few years ago.

Room Tip: Beach Villas are the quietest rooms at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just got back from a cruise that stopped in Roatan, Honduras. We booked a day trip to hang out on the beach at this resort. $35 per person for R/T private transfers, 2 drinks, and beach lounge chairs. Even though it rained the whole time we were there it was still a great place to relax, enjoy the music, and chill. I also got a massage (arranged by Julio) in the lovely and private tree house massage room. Edgar, the massage therapist was wonderful. professional and an excellent therapist. I would definitely go back to this resort again, whether for the day on a cruise or even to stay a while.

Room Tip: Did not stay in a room although we did look ata one of the villas on the beach.....perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cruzfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a cruise that stopped in Roatan, Honduras. Steven Raymond & Angela Rodezno were our awesome bartenders and we had a blast. Great service, great drinks, and an overall great time! If you are visiting Roatan, definitely check it out! There was live music, games, swings at the bar, and lots of beach activities.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center
0.3 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#9 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Property: Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing