We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and clean dive resort hotel on white beach, good food, and great diving!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and clean dive resort hotel on white beach, good food, and great diving!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was my first experience at a Dive Resort after getting my dive certification, and was very satisfied with the beautiful Villas at Vintage Pearl (with help in scheduling from Jane, Sara, and others); and ate every meal at the Thirsty Turtle and Pizzarama (without being 'All Inclusive') because the food was so good, and enjoyed the fun and friendly staff (Zebbie, Jennie, and others). Also, not too many owners, such as Louis and Jeff, would take the time to make sure all our needs were taken care of and that we were happy! With our 10 dive package, I can't say enough about Dive Masters, Marco and Mal, and Captain Emanuel, for a fabulous diving experience on the beautiful Reef surrounding the Island of Roatan. Every dive I do will be compared with my experience with my very patient and skilled Dive Master 'Marco', and the variety of diving at the Mesoamerican Reef.

Room Tip: The Villas are great for quiet and secluded settings, and Queen/King Garden rooms are also recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CletaGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    330
    84
    30
    25
See reviews for
313
495
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

At Bananarama, you have everything.
Great Staff - Honest, awesome customer service
Best Beach in the island
Entertainment
Great food
Bananarama makes you feel at home, verious staff members showed a personal interest to all of us. Our friend had been feeling sick before we arrived at the hotel and Carolina, our waiter, gave him some house remedies to make him feel better. She was checking up on him throughout our stay. (it must've worked!!!!!!!!!he was fine the next day after feeling sick for 3 days)
Victor was also one of our favorite waiters as well as Dolly. Thanks Guys!!!!
Everyone at Thirsty Turtle was class act, they followed thru with the drink special of the day after we had suggested caipirinhas. GOOD AND STRONG, thanks Angela Rodezno and Steven Raymond, I'm craving one right now.
Something that impressed me the most was customer service amongst all staff, including owners. My sister-in-law lost her wallet various times and one of the security guards found it on the beach late at night without us know about it. He showed up at our room and gave it to us. Sorry I couldnt get his name, but he always had a Washington Nationals baseball hat.
The other time that she lost her wallet was in a taxi cab, after going to the receptionist, she called Gamero (taxi driver) and he found it and returned it at the hotel later that night.
Never expected meeting amazing people at Bananarama.
There was several couples that visited bananarama from other hotels near by, but always came to Bananarama for great entertainment and better staff service than their hotel.
All the guards work 12hr shifts everyday and always staying on top of their job, making sure we feel safe, and at times, watching our personal items on the beach while we would kayak or do ohter water activities. It would be nice if they worked less hour shifts to spend more time with their famalies, they deserve it!!!!!
The pizza was delicious at pizzarama, best pizza in the island, and the best one I've had since going to Italy a few years ago.

Room Tip: Beach Villas are the quietest rooms at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just got back from a cruise that stopped in Roatan, Honduras. We booked a day trip to hang out on the beach at this resort. $35 per person for R/T private transfers, 2 drinks, and beach lounge chairs. Even though it rained the whole time we were there it was still a great place to relax, enjoy the music, and chill. I also got a massage (arranged by Julio) in the lovely and private tree house massage room. Edgar, the massage therapist was wonderful. professional and an excellent therapist. I would definitely go back to this resort again, whether for the day on a cruise or even to stay a while.

Room Tip: Did not stay in a room although we did look ata one of the villas on the beach.....perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cruzfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a cruise that stopped in Roatan, Honduras. Steven Raymond & Angela Rodezno were our awesome bartenders and we had a blast. Great service, great drinks, and an overall great time! If you are visiting Roatan, definitely check it out! There was live music, games, swings at the bar, and lots of beach activities.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Bless!!!! The staff at the Thirsty Turtle were amazing. Where in the world did you find such amazing workers? Good for you Bananarama owners for hiring these fun, hardworking pleasant employees. We always made the effort to get served by the talented,charismatic Albert, the beautiful Shanny, the handsome Steven Raymond, the very sweet Sheena, the hard-working and great dancer Victor and the super cutie Darwin. You are all exceptional. Love and Respect, Sandy and Georgina :) see you all next year!!!!

Room Tip: room #13 is the best!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorgi-gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great food, good times, especially on St. Patrick's Day. Carolina Walter, one of the wait staff at the Thirsty Turtle was the friendliest person in Roatan. We will definitely visit when we go back and enjoy the festivities again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arboles, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Bananrama Dive and Beach Resort was "taken over" by the Naughty Nine dive group and I don't think they will forget us for a while!! Look for the dollar bill initialed by all and stapled to the beach shutter at the bar. We managed to score the Green Sizzle Special which gave us a weeks accommodation, transportation to and from the airport, 10 boat dives with Marco who led us on the best dives EVER, all meals directly off the Thirsty Turtle menu including the wood fired pizza,and Sunday brunch at the Vintage Pearl along with one Dinner! Cabana 2 was just right for my husband and myself and we always enjoyed returning from our morning dives to see what towel critter was going to grace our bed. The resort is well run and you never get tired of the smiling faces of the management and staff. A big hug to Carolina at the Thirsty Turtle who had found a place In our hearts from the very first night. She went out of her way to make our stay happy and even helped us celebrate one of our groups birthday. What I will never forget is the shore interval we spent at the Thirsty Turtle and there she was meeting us with a tray of ice water for everyone getting off the dive boat. We had so much fun...hope you had fun with us as well. From doing the twist to the live music on Saturday night, to the crab races and fire dancers on Sunday night to Monday Night football at the bar with Steven and Zebby, Derry and Edison, to Quiz night (which by the way the girls team won and subsequently donated the cash prize to the milk for infants program- check this out on their facts page) on Wednesday to the Jenga Tournament among our guys, played in the rain with no shirts, we had a great time!!! If you're going to Roatan go to Bananarama. Love you all!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
526 reviews
11.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#2 of 7 in West End
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Property: Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing