We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,392)
Filter reviews
1,392 results
Traveler rating
843
376
102
37
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
843
376
102
37
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thirsty turtle vintage pearl garden cabana crab races movie night fire dancers live music cruise ship laid back fun activities west end great diving fish the wait staff front porch took great care lounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
866 - 871 of 1,392 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just returned from a one week staying at Bananarama. Overall impression: fantastic! for what I have seen on West bay the best spot and the best deal. We had a 7 nights package inclusive of 3meals, round-way pick up from airport and free rental snorkelling equipment. Everything @ 440$ each. The resort has a rustic feel, nice decorated cabanas, restaurant on the beach and a dive center. We were in two rooms, n.12 and n. 22. Both large, modern and well equipped. the room 12 is facing the garden, has a bit more space and is very quiet. The number 22 is in front of the bar-restaurant, not much of privacy but very conveniently located just a few steps from the beach.

Restaurant: breakfast is everyday different, you can also ask for delightful fruits, fresh every day. Menu for lunch or dinner is limited but tasty and not expensive, The waiters are very nice and smailing at all the time, We were served often by Carolina who is a very attentful and reliable person (thank you again to understand all our needs travelling with young kids!).

What can be improved? Customer care at reception! I spoke to three different ladies and every question I was asking, it appeared to be something bothering them. Therefore, there is a lack of information about what a client is entitled for. Ex. Wireless Internet is free for guests but you have to ask and insist for it; we had one dinner included at Vintage Pearl but in the restaurant they did not have the voucher so we ended it up paying a certain amount and from the reception they didn't know how to sort it out and we never got our extra money back .
Every night there is a different entertainmet: movie night, karaoke,live music, etc...
Anyway, I highly recommend this place and just because of the reception I'm not giving a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: garden rooms are larger and quieter than beach front rooms. Room 22 is just in front of the restaurant, so less privacy and a bit noisy at night. room 15-16 look to be a good choice: beach front but somehow far from the crowd.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anitg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very relaxing beach front resort with a rustic feel. The service was great from the Bar Staff, (especially Steven), wait staff, cleaning staff, and Sara and Denise in the office. Everyone was very friendly. Great place for snorkeling, diving, or just relaxing on the beach (and don't forget to paddle board with Anita). Would definitely go back there for another beach trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I don't tend to like big resorts, so I was pleasantly surprised by how small Bananarama is. We stayed in #26, which is a small 2 bedroom villa with a kitchen and a porch. The resort is located amid several other resorts along a pretty beach, so you can walk up and down and eat at other hotels just off the beach. We went snorkeling off this beach (starting from in front of Infiniti Bay) and saw beautiful coral and fish - amazing! The villa was very nice, clean, and well maintained. The bathroom shower is covered in a beautiful mosaic. There are comfortable chairs and couches on the porch, along with a hammock, and an area to shower and wash your feet when you come in from the beach. The only down side was the hardness of the beds, but I guess if you're a back sleeper they would be fine. The breakfast was good, the drinks at the bar were strong, and we had good food from the restaurant. I would definitely stay here again. (The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars is the bed.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a package deal: 8 nights, three meals a day (for two people), unlimited use of kayaks, snorkels, chairs, etc. Total price: $1008. (Yes, you read that correctly.) It's all good, as you read on nearly all of these reviews. Location: right in the middle of West Bay beach. Cabanas give a feeling of isolated privacy dues to lush vegetation. Beds in great shape, remote control A/C, and windows all around to let through the wonderful breezes if you wish. Our water cooler had a refrigeration unit on it. Thirsty Turtle has an impressive kitchen staff turning out a variety of Westernized menu items in large portions for low prices (their $7 wraps are delicious and feed two people). Believe it or not, the on-site wood-fired pizza is some of the best we've had anywhere, and with servers like Jessica on staff to start your day, nothing is lacking. Housekeeping is impeccable, and the office staff will find the answer to any question you have and immediately respond to any issues. Fun activities every evening, and twice-daily specials at the bar. You can lounge in the shade at the Island Pearl and watch the tourists and vendors. West Bay "mall" is a block away with several shops and a market to stock your fridge. My wife got her diving certification while we were there, and raves about the dive shop's program and staff. I overheard one old-timer say the dive staff makes diving easier than any other place he'd ever been to. Granted, we were there during the "low" season...I imagine it can get pretty hectic on cruise ship days during "high" times, but even then, once you're swimming out on the reef, it's just you and the fish. Oh, yeah: I didn't wear shoes, ever, for 8 days straight...

Room Tip: Cabanas are smaller than the Garden Rooms, but feel so much more private.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BruinPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Really enjoyed our recent visit to Bananarama. The staff was great - especially our waitress Sheena and our bartender Steven. The beach is magnificent, the snorkelling amazing. Just loved the whole experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews