We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning!”
Review of West Bay Beach

West Bay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Zipline, Monkey and Parrot watching plus Beach Resort Combo Tour in Roatan
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Shore Excursion: West Bay Beach with Lunch
More Info
$36.00*
and up
Snorkeling Tour from West Bay
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Bay is what many consider the picture-perfect Caribbean destination: white sand, clear, calm waters and full service resorts. The variety of water activities include scuba diving, fishing charters, snorkeling and parasailing. Scuba diving and other outfitters leave directly from the beach so starting your water-based activities is easy and convenient.
Coolidge, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

WestBay Beach is the Hope Diamond in Roatan's beach crown. It is the quintessential Caribbean beach. White sand, clear turquoise water that seems to go on forever. Bars and restaurants galore. You can snorkel, parasail, build sandcastle s or just lounge by the sea. My personal favorites are Argentinian Grill, Beachers and Bananarama but there are many more from which to choose. If you would prefer a picnic Mangiamo's can make you a delicious sandwich and all the other things yo might want. One thing I might say is if you are contemplating a visit check the cruise ship timetable. When the cruise ships are in the beach can be a madhouse; beach vendors, hair braiding, masseurs and throngs of people. On non cruise days (season dependent) you may well have this slice of paradise to yourself.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hotcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,709
    495
    141
    38
    16
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belize City, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My Home town”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Last Christmas I visited my beautiful hometown. I was greatly delighted with the changes. I knew this beach when there was nothing but a hut there. You can imagine the difference now! I love the changes as long as my people can still visit the beach as we used to in the past. Well I was able to swim without disturbance and rejection so far. I will visit this Christmas and will let you know if this is still so.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CHylton60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“West Bay Beach”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We got very lucky to stay at the West Bay Lodge, TripAdvisor's #1 hotel in Roatan. The West Bay Beach is just across the street from our lodge, no more than 100 feet away, so it was easy walking to the beach. What a beautiful beach, probably the most beautiful beach on the island. And that isn't all, as the best of the best snorkeling is at West Bay Beach. There are coral reefs just off the beach, no more than 20 yards out in the water. There are sand/coral pathways to snorkel, with great signs on the bottom of the water to show you the direction to move to see more snorkeling. Since West Bay Beach was so close to our lodge, we went to sit on the beach, swim in the water and snorket every day while there. We put our towels and stuff on the sand and security from the hotels on the beach told us that they would watch our stuff while we snorkel, which was very nice. We were asked to even use the beach lounge chairs at two of the hotels while there. People are the nicest on this beach, always trying to help you have a better time. There are plenty of restaurants on the beach, diving excursions, slides in the water for kids, and even at night, a full movie screen playing a movie with the screen in the water, 20 yards from the shore, so anyone can watch and listen to the movie. That was a first for me to see a movie screen on a float in the water for everyone to watch. We also saw fire dancers at night while walking back from a great restaurant. All in all, the best beach in Roatan, and a definite place to check out while there. West Bay is a beautiful place to stay when visiting Roatan and the beach is GREAT!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooretown
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the beach”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

this beach is one of the most beautifull beach in central america ans the snorkeling is just wonderful the fishing is amazing and the foods omg,s u just dont want to stop lick ur fingers. so guys u can always go to the bay islands od Honduras there,s a lot,more things to do we also have some of the best ziplines

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dadzferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“One of the best on Roatan”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

West Bay is probably one of the best on Roatan. There are lots of restaurants and shops along the beach. There's a good selection of hotels and other rentals there too. Dive shops abound. That being said, Roatan is still quite primitive in comparison to Cancun and has a ways to go when it comes to infrastructure. The cost is also quite high. Seems like Roatan wants to charge Cancun prices when it's not quite there yet. One thing it does have going for it though is that it is not nearly as crowded as Cancun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vern C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Bay Beach also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to West Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing