We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate beach of the Island”
Review of West Bay Beach

West Bay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Zipline, Monkey and Parrot watching plus Beach Resort Combo Tour in Roatan
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Shore Excursion: West Bay Beach with Lunch
More Info
$36.00*
and up
Snorkeling Tour from West Bay
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Bay is what many consider the picture-perfect Caribbean destination: white sand, clear, calm waters and full service resorts. The variety of water activities include scuba diving, fishing charters, snorkeling and parasailing. Scuba diving and other outfitters leave directly from the beach so starting your water-based activities is easy and convenient.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ultimate beach of the Island”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Roatan's best beach is West Beach, you can swim directly to the barrier, it is safe if you do not touch anything as you should not.
Not an excellent swimmer take a boat.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,708
    495
    141
    38
    16
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Channin Bodden Tours”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We recently went to Honduras off of a carnival ship. Our neighbors visit there at least 2 to 3 times a year. They recommended Channin Bodden Tours. Channin was the best. He gave my husband and I a tour of his beautiful island. We were his only tour for the day. We got excellent service and experienced the culture of his island. He was very knowledgeable and we adored him. We went snorkeling at the undewater museum, zipling at South Canopy, and snorkeled with our neighbors who were there also. We ate at Birdies, and the cuisine was great. We are now planning a trip back for 7 days and plan on staying at West Bay Beach. We will definetly use him again. Well worth being his only ones for the day. First class service all the way. We would recommend him to anyone, and we have done so. Cannot wait to go back so that we can experience more. It was great to get off the beaten path. We loved it and have made a special friend in Channin.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

West Bay Beach is by far the most beautiful beach I'd ever been to. Soft, white sand, calm and crystal clear water. It's perfect for everyone. You can snorkel right off the beach. Tons of activities offered by various resorts. You can take a water taxi for $3 US to get to West End. Restaurants are along the beach side. They have excellent food and offer different specials every day. If you like quiet time, head to the end of the beach where you'll see lots of fish. If you're lucky you may be able to see a friendly pelican gobbling fish.
People may approach you and offer all sorts of things, sunglasses, jewelry, dives, glass bottom boat, etc. If you're not interested, just smile and say no to them and they won't bother you.
Ice cream man is working hard every day pushing his cart up and down the street in 32 deg C. If you see the guy with the blue cooler, his empanadas are delicious.
This is definitely a place we want to come back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“beautiful beach with fantastic snorkeling”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I visited the Isle of Roatan with my family as part of our Carnival Cruise. I knew that my husband and I wanted to do some snorkeling by the reef, but I also had my parents with me who weren't as keen on the snorkeling idea. I decided to book round-trip transportation to West Bay Beach so they could relax in the sun while I met some nice fish by reef. This ended up being the perfect spot for everyone. We booked round-trip trasnportation, beach chair rental, and access to the club's restrooms for $30 per person. Since our group of four were the only ones to arrive at the same time, we ended up having our own private driver who stayed with us for the duration of our stay. The beach itself is beautiful. The sand is soft and white and the water is crystal blue, warm, and inviting. We brought our own snorkel gear and had read enough reviews to know that we could access a good place to snorkel without having to pay for a guide. We walked down to the very left of the beach (as far as you can walk) and entered the water here. The water is shallow for quite a way and you do have to be careful not to touch down or bump the coral, but the sights are amazing. We saw countless fish of many sizes and colors. The water was very calm and we never felt unsafe wtihout a guide. After a few rounds of snorkeling, we relaxed in the sun with the rest of the family and tried a few local beers. As many people have pointed out, there are a lot of vendors on the beach. You do have to say "no" to quite a lot of vendors while you're here, but that didn't spoil our time in the least.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LSwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Roatan Beaches”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very clean beautiful beach area. Close to shopping and dining and various sporting vendors available on the beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scoobydiver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Bay Beach also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to West Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing