We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Pearl

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Pearl
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing wedding week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

My husband and I recently got married on Roatan. We had the most incredible week at this resort with our friends and family. Please see my full review under Bananarama Resort.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkonotchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    30
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

West Bay Beach is gorgeous with lots of fun activities. The drawbacks of West Bay are that it can get flooded with day cruisers and there are several ugly mega resorts. You can fix all that by staying the Island Pearl where you are close enough to the action, but separate enough to still have peace and quiet. It is comprised of quaint individual cabins that are available for a steal.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

This was a second trip to Roatan for my 18 year old daughter and myself (stayed in a cabana next door at Bananarama last time.) It was the first time to Honduras for my fiance and my daughter's girlfriend. After seeing the villas on our last trip we thought it would be the perfect choice for the 4 of us. We were not dissappointed. We chose an oceanfront villa that has a large stone front porch overlooking the water. There is a large upstairs bedroom, a smaller downstairs bedroom with twin beds, a well equipped kitchen and a beautiful bath with a sunken tiled shower. The large front porch was a great place to hang out, read and stash our snorkel gear, beach towels, wet suits, etc.
Daily housekeeping is provided and was very efficient. Any needs were taken care of quickly by the staff. Guy, one of the owners is very visible and accessible. All the staff at Bananarama/Island Pearl is friendly and helpful. Wireless internet access is available free although the girls had to go to the office almost daily to get a new password.
Breakfast is included and was generally quite edible with fresh juice and good strong coffee. A fruit plate is always offered if you don't care for the "typico" breakfast.
Thirsty Turtle has good quesadillas, coconut shrimp. Vintage Pearl is a great place for a delicious, romantic meal.
The best part of Island Pearl is the location--best beach, best snorkelling PERIOD.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

The Island Pearl offers an intimate and romantic environment with villa’s set back just a bit from the beach and some landscaping that offers a little more privacy. It’s a beautiful location and with charming villa’s filled with appeal! I especially like the balconies with chairs and hammocks where you can enjoy the breeze with a good book or conversation, and a gorgeous view of the water only a short distance away.

What I appreciate about the Pearl is you have the advantage of what Bananarama makes available but you can enjoy the tranquility of what the Pearl provides.

The Owners Villa was a good option for us on a couple of visits as it is a large space and can accommodate a couple of couples or number of friends. (Two bedrooms, two baths, and pull out in the living room.) Large enough common living area that we even brought our Wii down and provided ourselves some entertainment in the evenings! It offers a full kitchen and extensive dining area if you prefer to make your meals or be the gathering spot for friends and family that may have joined you on vacation!
(It does not offer the open balcony which I enjoyed at the smaller villas, but that was offset by the value of having more people under one roof and mutually enjoying what the Owners Villa had to offer.)

I wholeheartedly recommend taking advantage of the Island Pearl accommodations!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovemyPTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

What a great jewel on West Bay Beach (the best beach on the island). Only 30 steps away from the warm Caribbean water. Walk the white powdery sand and let your mind unwind and realize you are truly in PARADISE!! Facing almost due west the sunsets are some of the best I have ever seen. My girlfriend, friend and I stayed in the villa above the Island Pearl restaurant and had a great time. The Island Pearl is slightly secluded as it sits back from the beach under swaying palm trees and various flora and fauna. Green iguanas hang out in the trees and various birds sing there songs of happiness. All the villas at the Island Pearl are a perfect getaway. Try them and you'll return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RIVERLVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

I love the atmosphere at this resort (read my view under Bananarama Dive Resort) and highly recommend it for anyone that wants the option of socializing with other independant travellers, vacationers from neighbouring all-inclusive resorts, local expats, and the wonderful staff that work there.

But I especially recommend a villa at the Island Pearl for more luxury, space and privacy. The villas still maintain an authentic rustic feel, but with higher end furnishings and room amenities (full kitchen, large custom washroom, sliding door walkouts, etc). But the true piece de resistance is the large front balcony with lots of seating and a hammock ... that overlooks a beautiful quiet spot on the beach. It is paradise!

It easily and comfortably sleeps 4 people, and whenever I return with at least 2 other peo0ple, I guarantee that I'll be booking a Beach Front Villa at Island Pearl.

Feel free to contact me with any questions.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoatanBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

We just loved our little beach front villa. We had a beautifully tiled bathroom in our suit. It was 50 feet from water and 300 feet from Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill were we got free breakfast every morning. The fine dinning at the Vintage pearl restaraunt and wine cellar was 100 feet behind us, and we could use the bananarama dive shop as often as we wanted. We loved the snorkeling and 90 degree waters.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hey_take_me_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.9 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#7 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pearl

Property: Island Pearl
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in West Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover a little known wonder in the Caribbean, where you can bask in near perfect weather steps from the silken sand. With intimate villas and a spacious owners villa, Island Pearl provides a serenity undiscovered in Roatan. Canopied by swaying palms, the beauty and intrigue of an Island Pearl visit has always drawn guests who are looking for something more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Pearl West Bay
Island Pearl Hotel West Bay
Island Pearl Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing