We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Roatan Vacation!!!”
Review of Island Pearl

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Pearl
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here 3/3/14-3/10/14 with a groupon, the villa was more than expected, with two bedrooms, the lower bedroom in the two villas we stayed in had two twin beds, and the master was upstairs with a queen bed. I was worried staying here about the water and needing to buy filtered water. To my pleasant surprise we had a poland spring like bubbler in both villas where we could fill our nalgene bottles and ice containers for the beach! We stayed the first three nights in villa #27, then moved to villa #24. Some reviews did not like villa #24 because it is right near the bar, we had no problem or issues with noise. There is security there that is vigilant on who is entering the property and I felt very safe there. The villas were clean and had a nice big fridge for our leftovers which we could re-heat with the over or microwave in the room. If you are debating between a beach front or beach side villa really they are the exact same layout except the beach front villas are located in front of the beach side villas (four villas in total) and are closer to the beach. We did have a better view of the sunset from our porch in the beachfront villa #24. I would recommend bringing bugspray related to the mosquitos. The food was delicious, every morning with our groupon breakfast was included, it changed daily, but always was super fresh with fruit, fresh squeezed fruit juice, and french toast, or a burrito. The lunches and dinners we got were fresh and reasonably priced. I have had some of the best chicken I've ever had from Roatan! The coffee at the resort is free with breakfast and delicious! The Vintage Pearl restaurant is so good with a three course meal, I even got a salad takeout the next night, so fresh and fantastic homemade dressing!

Room Tip: Beach side and beach front villas are exact same layout/size, so if you are debating, the beach fron...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 831christiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Island Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Christine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and future guests:) We work really hard to make sure each of our guests have an amazing experience. Thank you so much for your feedback and comments they greatly help us to improve your next experience:)

Room 24 is one of my favorite rooms... it is important to mention that the villas are mostly concrete and little noise actually bothers guests inside the Villa. We do have live music next door at the Bananarama Thursday through Sunday and Monday through Wednesday we have other activities for guests... None of our activities are like a Pearl Jam Concert, but during Semana Santa or Christmas weeks our other neighbors next door do get carried away as does the rest of the island:)
Our live music is usually done by 930 and during busy season may go as late as 1030. We are very conscious of our guests experience, but it is important that each guest does adequate research as some rooms are closer to the activities than others... if you are looking for super quiet choose rooms 3-6, 11-16 or any of the villas except 24. The only ones to really avoid if some noise bothers you are 18, 20, 22(especially) and 23. Everything else has a bit of noise but nothing serious that we hear a lot of complaints on.

OK. I've digressed a bit:) All our rooms do have a water tower with 5 gallons of fresh potable water that is refilled as needed during your stay. Our villas have a small kitchen and we are really happy try and accommodate any other special needs that guests may have. Thank you so much for sharing your feelings about our resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the future.
Sincerely,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Island Pearl
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 158 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here with a group of 6 - two children (4 & 6) for a week. We have room #27 and LOVED it. The villa is but a stones throw from everything you need, for example all of 20 seconds walk to the beach, 30 seconds the bar and restaurant. We had NO problems with noise, sand fleas or anything really. We had a mild breeze when we were there so that might have affected them. Bites we did get were no worse than in the states at dusk.

The villa had everything as promised on the website and the staff kindly brought an extra mattress for the kids. For 4 adults and two kids we were very comfortable. It has all amenities including very effective air conditioning. The outdoor porch we found was both large and enjoyable. Equipt with two hammocks/swings.. so relaxing! The WIFI on the website said it was limited to 75 meg (which I thought i'd go through in 5 minutes) seemed to be valid for a week - I certainly didn't hit a limit.. not that you want to spend too much time on it anyway!

We didn't bother with the aforementioned stop at the supermarket, we ate here pretty much every night and loved it. We did fill the fridge with craft beer brought from home when we weren't at the bar simply because we love it.

My tip would be - take as much sunscreen as you can carry as you won't get bored of being outside on the beach and if you're fair skinned you will get toasted in the midday sun.

The location itself allows both a relaxing and adventurous, We did a mix of beach, diving, snorkeling, Gumbalimba Park, Sandblasters dune buddy tour and Pico Bonito.. ALL of which can be safely and effectively organised through the travel desk on-site. There's a great snorkeling spot towards the at the end of the beach near the black rocks, you can follow the arrows under water and end up at the dock near the hotel. We saw a LOT!

Personally, I wouldn't bother with a car if you're thinking, the hotel offers safe, polite and prompt mini buses or trustworthy taxi drivers. After adventuring out a LOT, I felt the island is very safe and the driving is no better/worse than the Caribbean islands but would advise booking trips/transportation through the hotel. They are value for money in my view and one less worry.

The kids we went with were my family's. As someone who doesn't have kids, I did not find this resort or beach overrun with kids in the slightest. It's very quiet and relaxing. We found the 'cruise shippers' who came in a big obnoxious as they came down complaining they couldn't sit in a marked hotel area for free and one lovely family from Texas buried their beer bottles / trash in the sand.. classy!

The staff are fantastic here. The breakfast staff (in particular Carolina) made us feel welcome every day, playing with the kids and bringing us excellent food. The maintenance staff are out every day making the place look spotless and when we requested extra mattresses etc were given without issue quickly.

I'm usually one that goes for relatively posh/expensive hotels (bit snobby). I found this place fantastic and would go back in a heartbeat. I have a feeling this will be VERY hard to get into in a few years when people start to find it.

Room Tip: Beach side and front are both great from the looks of it
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_-_-_-HIM-_-_-_-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Island Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our resort. West Bay beach is an absolutely amazing place and we are very blessed to be right in the middle of it! Julio who runs the activity center does a great job organizing our guests on fun, safe and affordable activities. We are really happy you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at the Island Pearl for four nights in January 2014. It's actually part of the Bananarama complex. The management is very accommodating and desires its guests to be happy and satisfied. The villas are air conditioned (helpful in this humid hot climate), spacious, clean and comfortable. Queen bedroom upstairs was lovely. Off the bedroom was a screened porch on the 2nd story level! Quite enjoyable to spend one of the rainy days in there reading. The downstairs bedroom had two twin beds (also AC). Small but workable kitchen. Super patio area overlooking the ocean. Only problem is, our villa (one of the only two which are right on the ocean) was right next to the Bananarama restaurant/bar (which had live music entertainment nightly during the weekends). Additionally, instead of being able to see the ocean from our patio or inside the villa, our view was obstructed by an oceanside bar (not manned) around which the 24/7 security guards (and others) hung out and talked, and talked, and talked. As well, a lot of the resort's excess beach loungers were stacked up just outside our patio wall. Sadly, there was very little privacy in this villa and quite a bit of human noise. Request Villa #25 instead ... it appeared to have the exact same layout (which was great) but is located across from Villa 24 (ours) and had unobstructed views of the ocean and quite a bit more privacy (especially nice if you just want to hang out on your patio at night and enjoy the calming sounds of the ocean).

Room Tip: Ask for Villa #25 which is right on the beach and has a great view of the ocean and sunsets.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTravelBuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Island Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Worldtravelbuffs,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and future guests. All our villas are laid out the same here at Island Pearl and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will talk to the security guards about conversations around the mini-bar which is around your property.

The villas are solid concrete, but when you are out on your porch you will be able to hear the live bands anywhere at the Island Pearl Resort. That being said Villa #24 is the closest to the Thirsty Turtle Beach Bar being approx 120 feet away.

Thank you again for your review, suggestions and recommendations. We look forward to your return visit.
Sincerely,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We just got back from 5 days/4 nights in Villa 27, and are already planning and looking forward to going back!! Start with the Villa, #27. Nice, clean, and cozy, for what little time you should be spending inside, and was way above our expectations! Downstairs, a decent sized kitchen/dining area, a bedroom with 2 twin beds, and the bathroom/shower area, and then upstairs is the queen size bed and a cool little balcony, enclosed over head with screened louvers surrounding the balcony that keep the bugs out, but let the sound and sight of the shoreline in, very relaxing to sit out there at night, and even leave the sliding patio door to the balcony open at night to be able to hear to the waves crashing at night!! We also really like the porch/deck on the lower level with its great view of the beach, complete with table/chairs and 2 hammocks, though, it did leak through the ceiling of the porch when it rained, but hey, its a wooden shake roof with a low pitch, it's bound to leak a little, and only on the porch, the rest of the house was dry!! We also liked the wood flooring/trim through out the house, very rustic and beautiful work. Outside of the villa, a cool courtyard that was groomed daily to keep out the sand fleas, and then it was literally 5 second walk to the beach front, The Villa far exceeded our expectations, and we were very pleased.
Next, the staff. All I can say is that other hotels/resorts around the world, especially the ones here in Vegas, could learn a lot about customer service by spending some time with this amazing staff at Island Pearl/Bananarama/Thirsty Turtle!! Every member of their team went out of their way to acknowledge us, everyday, with a genuine smile, consistently for our entire stay. Whether we were needing some snorkel area tips, needing a beach chair, or just passing by, they ALL made sure to say hello and ask how we were doing. The cordials started every morning with the guys raking the sand, then the guys setting out the chairs, next the security team, over to the wait staff/bartender at the Thirsty Turtle, and then the villa cleaning staff, ALL were wearing a smile and each willing to help in anyway they could, and even Guy was sure to shake our hands each day and strike up some conversation ending with making sure to ask if he could get or help us with anything. This staff is a big part of our reasoning to want to come back here.
Now, resort amenities/activities. There was absolutely no reason for us to seek activity arrangements outside of the resort, at all. Everything we could want to do was available for us on property. Snorkeling, sea kayaks, paddleboards, beach chairs/towels, internet, and scuba diving/instruction. Our only drawback was an issue with Roatan Activity center(I think that was their name) that was running the activities. We booked the day trip for Cayos & Cachinos through Julio and Franklin, who started the price out at 170$ per person, my better half "talked" them to 150$(which I'm sure is their actual going rate, anyway, but they inflate it for their own reasons), but later we found out that others on our trip were charged just 120$ per person. We confronted them on this after the trip, and got the run around that we expected we would, but got no compensation or straight reasonable answer to their price gouging. I don't think they are official "staff" of the resort, but, either way, would not deter us from staying here, again.
Some guests had complained in other reviews about the problem of cruise ship passengers clogging up the beach. Well, they do clog it up, but they also make for some great people watching, as we were thoroughly entertained by their short stays on the beach!! They are only on the beach for a couple of hours on certain days of the week, and then they are gone. I did have a problem with the way the "Wall-E's"(cruise ship passengers) treated the staff of this resort, as they were very rude to the guys who were setting up the beach chairs for them and the wait staff who were trying their best to cater to the needs of some very demanding and unreasonable people. But again, all of the staff were very cordial the whole way through the rush of the Wall-E's, and met every demand with a smile.
Overall, we were very pleased with our stay here and will be booking here, again!! I highly recommend the Island Pearl,,,, though, my selfish side doesn't want to.....

Room Tip: Although there is a distinction between villas as "beachfront" or "beach side,"...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fixinta777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Island Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, staff and your experience with us. We look forward to having you back soon. Thank you for your detailed description and we will see you soon.

Sincerely,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We got to stay in the Island Pearl side of Bananarama for 1 night of our trip - wish we could have stayed here the entire time! It was so rustic, beautiful, and relaxing. We got to stay in #25 - the one right on the beach. Such a gorgeous view that you can see from the 2nd story master bedroom, or from the gigantic front porch!! When we go back, this is where we want to stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starlynn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Island Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Starlynn,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and future guests. Villa #25 is amazing as it sits right at the edge of the resort yet right on the beach! Thank you for joining us for part of your vacation and we hope you guys will be back soon!
Sincerely,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Island pearl is in a great location on a very nice beach. There is a lovely courtyard surrounded by the accommodations which is really great when the beach gets crowded by cruise ship people. We stayed in units 29 and 26. The owners villa (29) is really spacious and comfortable. Only negative was a cabbage smell which seemed to be coming from the restaurant below. Never had any problems with noise.

Do be advised that Roatan's infrastructure is non existent! Roads were awful and electricity went out several times although the resorts generator always kicked in after several minutes.

Never felt unsafe or uncomfortable will on the Island. Diving was awesome.

Room Tip: I think the best location would be the beach front villa farthest from Bananarama. I think it was n...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbareed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Island Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you for your time to write such a great detailed review. I am not aware of any cabbage or sourkraut that is being made at the Vintage Pearl, but I will check into in and figure out what it is! Room 25 and 27 are the quietest of the 4 Villas. Unit number 29 is my favorite for my family when we are all the island together! Thank you again for your time and sharing your experience with us and others.
Sincerely
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just back from Banarama/Island Pearl. We stayed in villa #27 which is one of the beachfront houses. Not directly on the beach but we still had a good view of the beach on the porch. We were next to the Island Pearl restaurant but that was never a problem.

The whole time Denise and Bianca took great care of us. They explained all the restaurants, activities and features of the resort as well as arranged taxis as we needed. Checkout was a breeze.

The grounds were well kept - they ranked the sand a few times a day to keep the sand fleas at bay. That is the only problem are sand fleas and mosquitos which the resort obviously has no control over so be prepared for them. We brought Cactus Juice which worked well when used frequently.

We were a family of 4 and it worked perfectly. We took the queen bed upstairs in what felt like a loft and the kids had the two twin beds downstairs. The kitchen has everything you need to cook in and not have to go out. You can arrange s top at the grocery store on the way from the airport. There is a $10 charge - just make sure you remind the driver.

The activity center was very helpful in arranging activities when we were not diving and had full use of the chairs and kayaks. The beach was very clean and security kept the beach sales people to a minimum.

We are already planning to go back.

Room Tip: #27 was great - good location
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Island Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Bill,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We have tried to keep Island Pearl as rustic as possible while increasing a number of our guests requests such as chilled water dispensers, quiet AC's and ceiling fans on the decks overlooking the ocean. The best part most guests enjoy is that all our Villas have a great beach view and are only steps away from the beach.

We do our very best to minimize the chance of sand flies or mosquitos by raking twice each day, spraying the property once per week and spraying rooms once per week or upon each check out. One trip outside of West Bay and most guests can tell the difference:)

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and experience with us. We look forward to having you with us again soon!
Sincerely,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
536 reviews
0.9 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#6 of 14 in West Bay
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
1,472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pearl

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in West Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: $110 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover a little known wonder in the Caribbean, where you can bask in near perfect weather steps from the silken sand. With intimate villas and a spacious owners villa, Island Pearl provides a serenity undiscovered in Roatan. Canopied by swaying palms, the beauty and intrigue of an Island Pearl visit has always drawn guests who are looking for something more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Pearl West Bay
Island Pearl Hotel West Bay
Island Pearl Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing