We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous villas, right on the beach!”
Review of Island Pearl

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Pearl
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We got to stay in the Island Pearl side of Bananarama for 1 night of our trip - wish we could have stayed here the entire time! It was so rustic, beautiful, and relaxing. We got to stay in #25 - the one right on the beach. Such a gorgeous view that you can see from the 2nd story master bedroom, or from the gigantic front porch!! When we go back, this is where we want to stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starlynn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Island Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Starlynn,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and future guests. Villa #25 is amazing as it sits right at the edge of the resort yet right on the beach! Thank you for joining us for part of your vacation and we hope you guys will be back soon!
Sincerely,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 158 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Island pearl is in a great location on a very nice beach. There is a lovely courtyard surrounded by the accommodations which is really great when the beach gets crowded by cruise ship people. We stayed in units 29 and 26. The owners villa (29) is really spacious and comfortable. Only negative was a cabbage smell which seemed to be coming from the restaurant below. Never had any problems with noise.

Do be advised that Roatan's infrastructure is non existent! Roads were awful and electricity went out several times although the resorts generator always kicked in after several minutes.

Never felt unsafe or uncomfortable will on the Island. Diving was awesome.

Room Tip: I think the best location would be the beach front villa farthest from Bananarama. I think it was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbareed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Island Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you for your time to write such a great detailed review. I am not aware of any cabbage or sourkraut that is being made at the Vintage Pearl, but I will check into in and figure out what it is! Room 25 and 27 are the quietest of the 4 Villas. Unit number 29 is my favorite for my family when we are all the island together! Thank you again for your time and sharing your experience with us and others.
Sincerely
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just back from Banarama/Island Pearl. We stayed in villa #27 which is one of the beachfront houses. Not directly on the beach but we still had a good view of the beach on the porch. We were next to the Island Pearl restaurant but that was never a problem.

The whole time Denise and Bianca took great care of us. They explained all the restaurants, activities and features of the resort as well as arranged taxis as we needed. Checkout was a breeze.

The grounds were well kept - they ranked the sand a few times a day to keep the sand fleas at bay. That is the only problem are sand fleas and mosquitos which the resort obviously has no control over so be prepared for them. We brought Cactus Juice which worked well when used frequently.

We were a family of 4 and it worked perfectly. We took the queen bed upstairs in what felt like a loft and the kids had the two twin beds downstairs. The kitchen has everything you need to cook in and not have to go out. You can arrange s top at the grocery store on the way from the airport. There is a $10 charge - just make sure you remind the driver.

The activity center was very helpful in arranging activities when we were not diving and had full use of the chairs and kayaks. The beach was very clean and security kept the beach sales people to a minimum.

We are already planning to go back.

Room Tip: #27 was great - good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Island Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Bill,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We have tried to keep Island Pearl as rustic as possible while increasing a number of our guests requests such as chilled water dispensers, quiet AC's and ceiling fans on the decks overlooking the ocean. The best part most guests enjoy is that all our Villas have a great beach view and are only steps away from the beach.

We do our very best to minimize the chance of sand flies or mosquitos by raking twice each day, spraying the property once per week and spraying rooms once per week or upon each check out. One trip outside of West Bay and most guests can tell the difference:)

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and experience with us. We look forward to having you with us again soon!
Sincerely,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Island Pearl is a smaller, quieter part of Bananarama, that is authentic while still having modern conveniences of wireless service, purified water in your room and air conditioned rooms. Jeff and Robin made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and made everything from taking the kayaks out to pointing out the most beautiful spots to snorkel, so relaxing and EASY. Our room was amazing... very clean, spacious, amazing views (I highly recommend Villa #25), and the stunning ocean was our front yard. Hammocks, swings and chairs are everywhere, and the floating dock was a special treat.

When you read that breakfast is included, don't expect the typical bagels and muffins. We enjoyed a delicious Roatan breakfast (french toast, breakfast burritos, fresh fruit, etc...) each morning along with a daily chosen juice (my son's favorite part of breakfast). Prices for food and drinks were extremely fair and the options were amazing to us, given that the resort is more intimate rather than a big commercial resort. We could grab a pizza (made in a brick oven... yum!), eat at The Vintage Pearl (our favorite meal of the week) or just grab something off the menu and eat on our porch.

I LOVED the location! Beautiful coral and fish, yet still a swimmable gorgeous beach and sand part of the water. During cruise day, the resort roped off our part of the resort, so we could still get the privacy and peace we came for.

Our trip was to celebrate our 20th anniversary, and we couldn't have picked a better place. I am already checking the calendar to see when we can go back. The sooner the better! We almost stayed at the West End, and I'm truly glad we didn't. At Bananarama, you could participate in activities and have a lively atmosphere if you wanted, but you could also have much more privacy and peace and quiet than we would have gotten in West End.

Room Tip: We spent one night in the one room suite that is next to the restaurant, and loved it as well. We c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

First trip to Roatan and we had much debate on where to stay based on all the TripAdvisor reviews. We ended up picking Island Pearl/Banarama, and couldnt have been more satisfied. It's right in the middle of the best beach, and has the best bar scene on this island by far. We ate several meals there, and the food was always very good. Vintage Pearl is just as good as the reviews say. The staff were super friendly and always willing to help or lend advice. We booked a couple activities with the onsite activities center and had no issue, though probably paid a bit more for the convienience.

We stayed in the studio #28 and found it fine for just 2 people. Make no mistake, it is a small space as others have commented, so if you are the type that spends any amount of time inside your room, you may find this room a bit cramped. Really just a bed and a very, very large shower. Another table or shelf in the room would be a nice addition as there was no place to set anything down. We had no issue with noise inside the room, but there was noise outside on the porch primarily from hotel and restaurant staff who liked to hang out in the hallway between the room and the Vintage Pearl. If you like to sit out on the deck, dont expect much privacy. We really liked the other larger Island Pearl rooms and plan to stay in one of the others on our next trip with family.

While on Roatan, we looked at all the other places we had considered staying, and feel we definitley made the right choice by staying here and are already making plans to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aggie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in the studio apartment and it was perfect. We arraived early and even thought our check in was until 2:00pm they had our room ready and let us stay without paying extra. we really like our room. was perfect for our 5 day stay. just the 2 of us. Yes, the Vintage Pearl Restaurant is at the side... but other than smelling the delicious food they cook, we didnt have any problems with noise or anything else. The beach is just steps away... but the place is secluded enough to not feel overexposed. i will love to go back and yes will love to stay at the same room. The maid did an excellent job, clean and smelling wonderfull, she made us towels animals.. we are really happy with our stay overall... :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karlita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We just got back from our second stay at Island Pearl. We stayed in number 29 right above the restaurant. It was just as wonderful as the last time. Marco and Marc in the dive shop are outstanding. If you want a chill vacation with amazing diving, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Henry Morgan Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#7 of 14 in West Bay
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pearl

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in West Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: $110 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover a little known wonder in the Caribbean, where you can bask in near perfect weather steps from the silken sand. With intimate villas and a spacious owners villa, Island Pearl provides a serenity undiscovered in Roatan. Canopied by swaying palms, the beauty and intrigue of an Island Pearl visit has always drawn guests who are looking for something more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Pearl West Bay
Island Pearl Hotel West Bay
Island Pearl Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing