We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Foster's West Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foster's West Bay
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have stayed at Foster's on 4 different trips to Roatan. Each trip it seems like it goes further downhill. Now they have a zip line out over the water and a booze cruise junky boat docked at their pier. Their rooms are in desperate need of remodel/repair.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lthomas132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    121
    36
    29
    27
See reviews for
100
152
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Spent a lovely week at Fosters West Bay. Our cabana was very nice with king bed, air conditioning, big deck with hammock and direct, direct beachfront! Seems that there are few truly beachfront rooms and cabanas on West Bay and Fosters has a beautiful beachfront location that is totally paradise. My husband spent a lot of time in the hammock with some much needed rest, and I went snorkeling every day, something 2 and 3 times a day. The reed is amazing. The cleaning staff was very nice and did their job well. The restaurant was excellent with lots of specials and they had live music with a latin band and it was so much fun. Otherwise the resort is very laid back and everyone very friendly. We cant wait to come back next year. Lovely vacation.

Room Tip: stayed in the Deluxe Duplex Cabana which was very nice and wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I would like for my review to center around the specific room where I stayed, Sky Cabana 4. Foster's Resort has quite a few different room categories, so I would like to focus on this particular cabana. After staying here for one week, I suppose I can offer an insight.
Background: One couple, both 41 years old, no kids.
I had been looking at Roatan for years and finally pulled the trigger and came here. After research, we booked this specific room more than a year in advance. So far in advance, that our confirmation had the wrong year on it. It was corrected easily, and there were no hiccups on check in. For two people, Sky Cabana 4 had more than enough space.
The interior: King sized, comfortable bed, user controllable A/C, and a medium sized refrigerator. The kitchenette also included a coffee maker, microwave, and large water cooler. We drank a lot of water, and when it ran low, we were given more upon request with no fuss.
The bathroom has a large tub and shower. Unfortunately, the jets did not work on the tub. There is a safe in the room, but you have to ask the front desk for the key.
Exterior: The front porch has lots of room. The overhang was large enough to protect our shoes and other items from the rain. There is a single hammock. My wife claimed that for the week, and I was happy to let her have it. The view from this front porch is incredible. It has wonderful ocean views, with a nice tree to the right (hummingbird included). The left side of the cabana has a deck. We could have moved some of the furniture up there, but just laying on the upper deck and watching the stars was very enjoyable.
Other thoughts on Foster's:
We came during the height of cruise season. Most resorts and restaurants began the day with rows of empty beach chairs crammed together. Yes, Foster's encourages cruiser business. However - A new beach lounger was withdrawn from the stack only as needed. A nice touch that did not significantly change the vibe, as their beach never got too crowded. The only cruise impact was an influx of folks getting lunch. They were not there for long, and it did not affect our meal.
Negatives? I wish there was a non smoking area. We spoke to the owner about this, and he pointed out some construction adjacent to the open air restaurant that would provide enclosed, smoke free dining. Furthermore, the owner was very interested in getting the opinions and suggestions from all his guests. I could tell he was displeased about the bad reviews from TripAdvisor and wanted to make sure guests told him about things so they could be fixed, rather than slamming the place later. I was wary about staying here based upon TripAdvisor reviews, but I had a feeling about the place. I am glad I stuck with it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swegert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We only ate here, did not stay. Live music, was not too crowded, and we had the lobster special with sides.

Lincoln our waiter was fantastic, the best we have had in several cities on Roatan. Actually this place was the fastest service we have had as well.

Food was good, lobster, rice and beans, vegetables, fries. Kids loved it as well. Would recommend if not crowded.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravisRymal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

As soon as we arrived at Fosters West Bay Resort, I knew Kathi and I would want to stay there again and again. It is the perfect spot on Roatan’s best beach. We were met with a smile, a drink, and no surprises. Our room exceeded our expectations, clean, spacious and definitely on the beach.
Mr. Foster is a true gentleman. He and his family and staff work hard and genuinely seem to love caring for their guests. The grounds are well maintained. Our room was always clean and the food and service were great. We felt safe and welcome.

It seemed that anything one would wish to do can be done from the beach at Fosters. We went snorkeling with Anenoma, the on site dive company. They are a first class outfit, very professional and friendly. Fishing, Water Taxis, etc. were all available at Fosters dock. And the location made the walk to West End easy.

My only regret is that the new, over water Zip Line was net yet completed before our weeklong stay was over. We have already recommended Fosters to friends and family. We will be back, soon.


Kenny DeMars

Room Tip: We liked the duplex and will try for an upper unit next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kennydemars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Fosters is a great find and like many resorts was probably perfect 10 years ago.
Unfortunately the Foster family is encouraging visits by the cruise ship people and is constructing activates for them; a zip line now goes directly over the beach to the dock, a trampoline is proposed. What was once a quiet corner of the beach is getting noisier all the time.
The up side; The employees are excellent, friendly and helpful. The restaurant is managed by Leslie and serves delicious food for a very reasonable price.
Many other restaurant are in walking distance on the beach or boardwalk; no shoes, no problem. Our favorite was; Bite on the Beach, Hi Barry!
A PADI dive shop is on the premises and is well run with good boats. There are dive packages that include; breakfast, airport transfers and a free drink every day, A great deal!
The rooms are just adequate, many bathrooms are in needed of renovation and they say that is going to happen this year. Most rooms have great porches that look out over the ocean and have nice afternoon shade, it does get hot. Refrigerators in all rooms and 5 gallon water dispensers . Do not drink the island water.There are sand fleas that can be very bothersome so bring bug spray, this is an island wide problem. All in all a great spot and one our best Caribbean vacations.

Room Tip: Sky Cabana #3 and #4 are great and Deluxe cabana upper is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

What a great time I had while visiting Roatan. My stay at Fosters West Bay couldn't have been better. The rooftop deck of Fosters treehouse provided a beautiful setting for rise & shine morning coffees and tranquil sunset cocktails. Only steps from the ocean and beach Fosters was just the vacation I needed. The hospitality of Foster, Leslie and the crew was an unexpected bonus. I can't thank the dive team Julie, Federico,Patrick and Megan from Anemona Dive shop (located at Fosters) enough for their support and patience as I returned to the beautiful depths of the sea after a 25 year break. Thanks everyone! See you next year!

> Cindy Savage, Smithers British Columbia, Canada

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.4 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.3 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foster's West Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster's West Bay

Property: Foster's West Bay
Address: West Bay Main Road, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foster's West Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Foster's West Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foster`s West Bay Hotel West Bay
Fosters Hotel West Bay
Fosters Resort West Bay
Foster's West Bay Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing