We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foster's West Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Foster's West Bay
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Myself and ten friends stayed at Fosters West Bay the first week of March of this year (2012). Two of us stayed for ten days, while the others stayed for shorter periods of time. I loved Roatan and especially Foster's West Bay Hotel. If you want to just relax, recharge your batteries, and forget the world at reasonable prices, this is the place for you. If you want a five star hotel with all the ameneties (and prices) stay somewhere else. If fact don't go to Roatan. Leave the place for those of us who enjoy our islands unspoiled. Mr. Foster, the owner, greeted us with open arms on our arrival and made our stay at his hotel a memorable one. We had a room on stilts which over looked the entire length of West Bay beach. I highly recommend this hotel for total relaxation and a great affordable vacation.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a good view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkview533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    110
    27
    27
    27
See reviews for
80
136
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Have to say- you really get more bang for your buck here! We went to Foster's on a Thursday night, where the special is 2 lobster tail dinner for $12.99! Although the lobster tails weren't the biggest, they were very tasty- and met local size requirements. Foster's provided live music, which added to the lively beach front atmosphere. They even had a rum and coke drink special- 2 for $4.....we should've went here for dinner more often than we did! The service, food, value and atmosphere were worth it- not to mention it was a nice walk along the beach! If you're going to go here- go on a Thursday night! You can't beat 2 lobster tails for $12.99 anywhere in the States!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Best part of our Honduras vacation was Roatan island. Also really enjoyed out stay at Fosters Cabanas. We like the more laid back, rustic island feel of the property. Our cabana had a a great deck overlooking the beach and my husband and I argued about hammock time, till we decided just to share it! Very romantic. We went diving with their dive shop, who were great, and also the snorkeling is really good, especially if you walk down the beach just a bit where the reef is just a bit closer. Fosters restaurant has great food and great drink pricing and the sunset views are fantastic. Just one word of advice is to not bring any traveler checks as no one on the island wants to accept them for some reason, but credit cards and cash worked out fine for us. We rented a car one day from the office and drove all around the island which can be pretty much done in a day and easy to get around. Afterwards. we felt we stayed at the best place on the island. Very island friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at Fosters West Bay with some friends and had the vacation of a lifetime. Our group was several couples and a family and the accommodations were perfect. My husband and I stayed in the Sky Cabana #3, and our other couple friends stayed in the two Deluxe Duplex Cabanas. These all were very nice, very clean, king bed, and each had a small eating area inside with larger refrigerator and microwave. Our cabana had a large front deck with hammock, wonderful, wonderful views, and there was also a second observation deck. The other family group stayed in the larger 3 bedroom, which is also beachfront and perfect for families. We had excellent maid service, no complaints. The rooms were very clean and if we ever needed anything, we just asked Vicky or Gladys and they were very helpful. The beach at Fosters is amazing, white, white sand , blue, blue water and the snorkeling is right off shore. They have a great little restaurant and bar with specials daily and very good prices. We ended up eating there at least one meal every day and never missed their 2 for 1 happy hours! Check out their lobster special on thursday for $12.00 A lot of fun! Foster is sweet and wants to adopt everyone and very accommodating. He has one of several docks off West Bay beach where you can always get a water taxi to West End, which is busier at night with more bars and some other restaurants, however, we just loved the peace and beauty of West Bay. You can safely walk the beach at night and there were several nights we all swam under the stars and the moon. Fosters was lots of fun, relaxing and just a great place to feel very comfortable. We cannot wait until we can come back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kristell m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalispell
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Several things going for this hotel-location, our room had a comfortable bed, small 2 burner stove, coffee maker, sink, refrigerator

Needs improvement-Our room needs a thorough cleaning, shower disgusting, I am tall-on top of the shower was hundreds of mouse droppings, large spider webs, bed sheets do not get changed. If we are going to pay US rates, we expect US cleanliness-bottom line. Manager looking for every cent she can squeeze out of you.
Would not recommend staying here. Will not return to Roatan-Many places in the world with great beaches, much better prices. We stayed in Utila for 7 nights Mango Inn-dove with UDC-highly recommend them

Room Tip: Don't stay at Fosters
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevern2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My Wife and I ate here and took advantage of their 2 for 1 lobster dinner special. This particular night they had 2 for 1 deals and live music the Kultura band. Music was great and the food was just the same. They do have a variety of seating options a little tucked back from the ocean front. We chose to sit and the swing set tables which were closest to the band. The service was great and the Monkey La Las were too. We both had 2 lobster tails, rice and beans and plantains for only $12. Keep an eye out for these specials and don't pass it up. I think we ate there on a Saturday night and I know the specials do change a bit. This restaurant is down toward the end of the west bay area near the Foster's rentals. It is typically quiieter down there and if you are staying at the other end the walk is safe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marazzani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

My husband and i spent 7 nights here and for $600 US couldn't expect a lot but, still feel we were over charged since it was the low season. At the very least expecting the sheets to be clean is not asking for much. There were a lot of hairs from the previous guests in the bed, on pillows and in the shower. The shower curtain smelled really bad and had mold as well as the shower it self. The room had a kitchenette in which only one burner worked properly and the fridge was not cold. Everyday housekeeping will enter your room to just make the bed (not change it) and change out towels but not to clean. So we asked them not to enter as we had valuables and there was no safe in the room but, they entered anyway. Don't see the need of changing towels everyday....we don't even do that at home. The day after we checked in the receptionist asked what time we were checking out because they had guests checking in on that day....that made us feel welcome. The internet only worked one day out of the seven. We chose to stay in West Bay because we were told it was a lot more relaxing than West End but, on local holidays and weekends the hotel allows the locals to use their grounds for celebrating. So, if you plan on peace and quite you wont find it here. We do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If possible choose a cabana type room so you don't hear everything your neighbor is doing and sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuckyQ02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.4 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
1.4 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#7 of 9 in West End
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.5 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foster's West Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster's West Bay

Property: Foster's West Bay
Address: West Bay Main Road, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foster's West Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Foster's West Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foster`s West Bay Hotel West Bay
Fosters Hotel West Bay
Fosters Resort West Bay
Foster's West Bay Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing