We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great location at the edge of west bay...quite in the shade with great helpful staff. After trying most restaurants in west bay we found out that the Las Rocas one serves the best tastiest and safe food in the area. The staff at breakfast and dinner are great

Room Tip: the family bungalows have a king and a single bad in each one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    154
    44
    25
    13
See reviews for
80
223
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I am SO glad i found Las Rocas! When i was there I explored the whole of West Bay and West End and Las Rocas is definitely the best location- a private haven away from the tourists, hawkers and cruise shippers of the busier ends of the beach.

I did 12 dives there and it was the best diving I've ever done and i learnt way more from Alex and Laura than from any other dive centre. They were brilliant and made the dives as stress free and enjoyable as possible.

The food in the restaurant was also exceptional and all the staff were lovely and friendly.

If you want to get away from the masses and enjoy the natural beauty of Roatan I highly recommend you stay at Las Rocas and nowhere else!!

Room Tip: Standard plus rooms are definitely worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East End, Honduras
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We were excited to return for the 3rd time. Asked for the same bungalow that we stayed in each time before. Was told I would get the old rate even tho they were upgraded. The only upgrade was new paint and the bathroom wall was built up to completely enclose the bathroom. It was great to still see the same housekeeper as 6 years ago as well as Winston still part if the staff. The resort is small, private and very enjoyable. The dive staff was great. We really have always enjoyed Las Rocas. A big downfall for us is the owners. They spend their time at the resort in the office. They do not go out of their way to be part of the resort and their guests. We missed our first day due to a flight delay. When asked about any type of credit I was turned down. I would still recommend Las Rocas it is a nice quaint resort if your looking for peaceful, fun, good diving, good food and great monkey la la's.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sherridee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was our first time to Roatan and after reading a few of the reviews I was a bit nervous about our accommodations. Everything exceeded our expectations. The location of Las Rocas is absolutely perfect and we were able to enjoy West Bay and West End very easily. We had the bottom value bungalow and luckily had very quiet upstairs neighbours. I agree with some of the bed comments, a bit noisy and uncomfortable but over all we highly enjoyed our stay at Las Rocas and would absolutely stay again.

The staff were very friendly and helpful from pick up to drop off. Great happy hour cocktails and one of the best places to watch the sunset!

Room Tip: The value bungalows are absolutely worth the price, try and get a top floor just to avoid having som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned from Las Rocas Resort and Dive Centre. The location was great; right at the start of West Bay Beach so quiet, but close access to the activities of West Bay. Staff was very friendly (Winston at breakfast was great and Alex in the Dive Shop was very helpful - made us doing diving certifications feel comfortable and cared for), food was overall pretty good at the restaurant (service / how soon food came out in the evening could be hit and miss however.... but like I said, food was overall quite good).

The cabin style accommodations were quaint and fun. The beds were comfortable and living area descent, but the bathrooms desperately need attention. Gutting and upgrading the sink area / vanity and shower should be done ASAP (lots of mold, grunge, and loose fixtures). It wasn't just our room either, we were staying with others and their room was the same (descent living area, but needs refurbed bathroom). Rooms tended to have a bit of a musty smell as well (maybe old water damage??). A couple small amenities would go a long way as well, such as an in-room coffee maker and larger bar fridges that guests can use for personal items, not just the items for sale.

Overall a great experience and we'd stay there again for the right price, but more willing to return if the bathrooms are upgraded (just makes a person feel icky in a grungy bathroom).

Loved Roatan and the west end of the island was our favourite for staying at after driving the rest of the island. Water clarity, warmth, etc off Roatan (especially northwest side) is awesome!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_and_N_s_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

These bungalows are quaint and comfortable. We loved the peace and quiet. This property is at the end of the beach and you can walk to the main beach in 2-3 minutes where all of the restaurants and bars, stores are located. Winston always had a smiling face. The food was excellent - breakfast is provided and dinner was excellent. Everybody there was extremely friendly. All of our requests were handled quickly and professionally.

The beds are very noisy and need to be replaced as soon as possible. They are wooden and cot-like. The mattress is not comfortable.

We had a great time on the island!! Great vacation spot.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor or one that does not have a second floor above it. Ask for a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terrilynnusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The staff is friendly and the room was very clean. This hotel is located at the end of the beach so it is very secluded, but less that a 5 minute walk to the main area on the beach. Breakfast was included each day and they provided us with a free shuttle to and from the airport. The diving offered at the resort was some of the cheapest we found.

The only problem we had was our room smelled a little musty when we checked in, but the smell dissipated after the first day. It was an excellent hotel, especially for the price we paid. I would definitely stay there again.

Don't forget to bring beach towels. They don't provide any and the towels in the bathroom aren't a good size for the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slp1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.5 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#9 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center

Property: Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center
Address: West Bay Beach | Roatan, West Bay, Roatan 33132, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#5 Family Hotel in West Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Roatan's most beautifull beach, Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center offers the perfect setting for your intimate getaway vacation. Dive Roatan's marine park from the doorstep of your cabin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Rocas Resort And Dive Center
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Hotel West Bay
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras
Las Rocas Hotel Dive Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing