We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dive Center Review only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho
Level Contributor
284 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Dive Center Review only”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in a private house and dove with Las Rocas for several days. We also ate at the restaurant a couple of times which we did enjoy. With regards to dive center I would never go back. We were recommended to them by the home owners. There are many many good choices on the island. We actually found out there were some people staying at the resort but dove with other dive operators due to issues. The staff was friendly but there were not enough of them. My husband I are are experienced divers but there were varying degrees of experience on the boat including beginners. The number of staff per divers was as bad as 9:1 at one time. The crew helped very little with the prep work of the tanks because there just were not enough of them. When the pound weights were questioned a couple of times we were told they were OK and my friend was underweighted twice and also had here weight belt break and fall off her in 70 feet of water flinging her to the surface. She aired her concerned that the clasp was cracked before the dive but they didn't carry an extra belt on the boat. Lack of back up equipment on the boat was a daily occurrence. We have dove in many places in Caribbean and feel this was truly the worst. I think the overall place could be improved more appropriate staffing and attention to detail.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank potatofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    160
    44
    29
    13
See reviews for
83
230
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This resort was absolutely wonderful. My friend and I were so happy with our choice. The food was excellent, the rooms were clean and the staff were warm and friendly. Las Rocas is tucked away beside West Bay beach so you get to escape all the people while still enjoying a beautiful view of the ocean. We completed our PADI open water certification on our trip and the staff at the dive shop were professional, helpful and fun. We will most definitely be visiting again! Note: the rooms here are not fancy, but are as I said very nice and clean. We didn't spend much time in our rooms anyways because we were out enjoying Roatan!

Room Tip: try to ask for a room on the top level for a nicer view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovedining20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

What a difference a few months make. We visited and loved it in March of 2013. And went back.
I would like to start with positive points. They did pick us up from mid town when we decided to change hotels simply because we wanted air conditioning that the other one did not offer. Winston was definitely someone you could not forget. A gentleman very good at dealing with people and providing impeccable service. He made you feel like your at home. Was nice to have breakfast as part of the stay there. Was ok. Coffee was good. The restaurant was not bad either. Menu was limited. Found a gem of a restaurant not far from there called the Argentine Grill better food, better value.
Our cabin was infested with sand fleas I thought it was just the season we had already been in Roatan for a few days but after our stay there we could not get out quick enough. We we loaded with bug bites. The bathroom and shower was in awful condition. The bedding looked so used and worn. Very Disappointing! Will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LorenaGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed at this resort with my husband, 2 teenage kids and my in laws. This place is rustic..in the way that there really aren't any frills. That being said it was perfect for us. We stayed in one of the up and down accomodations...Loft uptop and 2 beds below, there is only 1 bathroom and a small fridge. There is also a deck outside the loft and one below when you come into the room. The "concierge" was helpful...but I wish they had explained how breakfast worked..since it was included in the price of our stay. When we stayed here there was no FREE internet..so what we would do is go along the beach and have meals or drinks and get their WiFi pass word. From the resort there is a promanade that takes you to the rest of west bay..tons of restaurants and things to do...All in all..this resort was worth the money and I would go back...

Room Tip: Pick a room that works best for you...sometimes the people above you are not very thoughtful about n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalstorm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just returned from a week at Las Rocas with my wife and three (young adult) daughters. We dove and ate at the resort for 7 days and it was a great introduction to Roatan. The staff were fantastic - especially Winston and Edgar in the bar - and they all went out of their way to do everything to make our stay more comfortable. The food at the restaurant was delicious and there was enough variety to cover us as we chose the meal plan to save some $. Fantastic lobster, shrimp, snapper and sea bass and the Italian flair made for some memorable meals. Plus Las Rocas' location on a quiet point at the West end of West Bay meant that a lot of folks from other resorts came to hang out, eat and/or have a drink. Dive staff was sharp and put up with five of us for six active days of diving. The boat goes out for three one-tank dives a day, which was perfect when my kids wanted to take a dive off and catch some sun. Our two story bungalow had recently been renovated and was small but comfortable although it would have worked better for four instead of five. Overall a great week as the food and staff definitely exceeded our expectations. The only negatives are that the wifi speed is achingly slow and the overhaning vegetation made it nearly impossible to see the ocean even though our bungalow was only about 100ft from the water. Small negatives really and I would recommend a visit if you are looking for a relative bargain and a nice quiet time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccerman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I took the open water diving course with Nick Lakoff here this November and had an incredible time. Great instructor, great facility, everyone was very kind and patient. Despite substandard conditions (rain, wind, etc) we managed to safely get all of my dives in to become certified. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danimatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

In planning my solo trip to Honduras I knew I wanted my last days to be relaxed. I decided to go to Roatan, one of Honduras's coral reef barrier islands and found Las Rocas Resort and Dive Center. I am not a diver but I liked the reviews of the resort so I booked 4 nights for the final days of my trip and it was very happy with my choice!

My room was a 2 floor cottage that could have easily slept 6 people with a deck and hammock on each floor. A pleasant walk from my cottage through a nicely landscaped courtyard, only a few yards from the beach, was the bar and restaurant providing great food, drinks and service. I liked it so much I ate there every meal although there were many nearby options for food.

The resort is small enough so that you do not get lost in the shuffle but with all the amenities of the much larger hotels on West Beach. If you do not dive, Las Rocas Dive Center offers several snorkeling adventures.

The location is perfect as it is at the end of West Beach and it is a short water taxi ride to visit West End. If you are there when the cruise ships come in, you'll feel twice as fortunate because of Las Rocas location being at the end of the beach.

I am 55 and there was a younger crowd in Roatan then I had previously experienced during my trip, I enjoyed the energy tremendously. I felt very safe there and often times didn't even lock my doors.

Room Tip: Try to book the one of the 2 story cottages but keep in mind that the bathroom is downstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaritaHoldaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.5 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#7 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center

Property: Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center
Address: West Bay Beach | Roatan, West Bay, Roatan 33132, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#5 Family Hotel in West Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Roatan's most beautifull beach, Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center offers the perfect setting for your intimate getaway vacation. Dive Roatan's marine park from the doorstep of your cabin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Rocas Resort And Dive Center
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Hotel West Bay
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras
Las Rocas Hotel Dive Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing