We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location on Roatan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Best location on Roatan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

One of the best Caribbean vacations we've ever had! Excellent value for the money! Located on a secluded coral outcropping (the rock) at the north end of West Bay. Quick access to West Bay beach, bars, dining, shopping, water taxi's, etc.

Would rate the (superior) rooms as 3.5 stars...clean, comfortable, with queen bed, hide-a-bed/futon, bar fridge, and air conditioner, ....plenty good enough for the wife and I during our 2 week (Oct. 26 - Nov. 9) stay, considering we only used it to sleep at night or cool off during the day.

I give the staff 5 stars for exceptionally friendly service! Always willing to accommodate special requests, offer advice about the island, suggest things to do, and where to find the best deals. It's easy to see they love their jobs.

The restaurant has a limited, medium priced menu compared with other restaurants in the area, but everything we ordered was exceptionally well prepared. You must try their deep fried whole snapper. Their conch balls are the best I've ever tasted!

The Dive Shop seemed to have the best prices for diving / certifications on the island, and their competent, hardworking Divemasters Laura & Dorian, along with boat captain Jose, ensure you experience some of the best dive sites in the western hemisphere.

We will certainly be back, only next time the wife will bring more powerful bug spray for the sand flies, and I'll bring my own Tabasco sauce as there seemed to be a short supply when we visited.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurboRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    157
    44
    29
    13
See reviews for
82
227
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Las Rocas for 10 days. So glad we did! The staff was fantastic. Alex, George and Raul are hilarious behind the bar. Meals from the restaurant are delicious, though a bit pricey. The chef was kind enough to accomodate my dietary preferences, and everything still tasted divine.
The diving and snorkeling are unbelievable! Laura was our instructor and was very patient with my lack of experience. Dorian, Salo and Yovanny came with us on some dives and were a blast to have around underwater- while always making sure we were safe.
the rooms were pretty basic but very clean. Definitely didn't spend a lot of time indoors with so much to do!
Again, thank you to the wonderful staff for being so friendly, fun, hard working and knowledgeable! I hope to return. Thanks again Pasquale :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The staff are wonderful, the rooms are clean, and the best is that it is near West Bay without being right on West Bay (easy walk on the beach). Very good value considering the other prices in the neighborhood

Room Tip: if you are more than one person take the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMY6319BY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McArthur, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there for 5 days the first four days were great really nice people and good service. The only problem that ruined our trip was our last night in the privacy of our room during sexual activity the resorts security guard was watching threw the window at 10pm and we had no idea how long he was there. I had to chase after him as he ran behind the buildings tell I caught him. I then spoke to the owner and he then told he that he would be terminated. But who knows if he kept his word. That little incident ruined our trip.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shilohrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasrocasroatan, Owner at Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hi and thanks for your review. I am very sorry for the incident about our security guard. There are no excuses for his acts, we just can't accept this kind of behavior. He's been fired and he's been reported toward the authority.
Please accept our apologies, we hope you will still consider coming back to Roatan.
Pasquale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent the day in West Bay and decided to head to Las Rocas for lunch. No one was there except the bartender ( common in slow season) so we went up to the bar and ordered a pizza. We grabbed a drink menu and went I sit on their colorful deck chairs over looking the water. No one came to take our drink order as promised, not even when they came to take the order of the next couple who came in a good 15 mins after us. Interesting enough this new couples pizza arrived before ours. At this point we had been waiting over 45 mins for our good, and my boyfriend went back up to the bar to inquire. They waiter told us it would be just a couple minutes. Another 15 mins later ( now an hour after ordering) a pizza arrives at our table. This is not the pizza we ordered as this one has shrimp and we ordered one with Italian sausage. We tell the waiter that this is not what we ordered and he starts to take it away. This is when the other couple says ' so we did get your pizza, we tried to tell the waiter that we didn't order what we got too but he told us we were wrong' Then the waiter comes back to the table to tell is it will be another 15-20 mins. We tell him we also want to order drink and he tells us, just a minute and runs off. We're hungry and not really wanting to wait, so we ask if we can eat the mix up pizza at the same cost as the one we ordered. He
tell us no. We would need to pay full price for a pizza we didn't order or wait. We asked for a manager, and he told us he was ( but since I live on Roatan I know this isn't true). We chose to leave and not wait any longer.
There was absolutely no customer service. No one seemed to know what was going on or how to run a restaurant. There was lots of confusion and only 2 different tables, who arrived separately and 15 mins apart. I would hate to experience what would happen if there was more than 4 people who wanted to be serves at this location. We will not be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

! Have stayed at Las Rocas twice for a week in the last six months.... once in May and one in October. The people there are very lovely and friendly and strive to help you in any way they can. The diving has always been wonderful . The accommodations are clean and comfortable.... but don't expect a 5 star hotel. The dive shop staff are fantastic and helpful and very accommodating. The breakfast there is always pleasant and the service and the staff are always wonderful. I have had dinner there five or six times and it was always very good. It's a great value to stay here and I would recommend it to anyone. I may come again but in two trips I have visited most of the dive sites in West Bay and West End so I might consider the south side of the island but I think Las Rocas is the best "dive value" on the Island.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

First the Good! 1)Great staff Alex ,Winston, and diving crew were awesome, and Guillermo ,the best maintenance man around ,kept the place running 2)nice location for divers ,small beach at the resort but 5 minute walk to West Bay the best beach on the island 3)Very clean. Bad & the Ugly! Limited menu at the restaurant limited supplies as well,no french fries one day at lunch,no oj at breakfast,no limes another day ,so they could not make margaritas or make any ceviche. Rooms are old and dark,bathrooms are disgusting(see pictures)overpriced food at restaurant can walk 5 minutes and cheaper and better food No beach towels, you had to buy them at $15.00/towel,we travel the caribbean twice a year and had never encountered this problem. No free wi-fi,again walk 5 minutes and get it for free in most places on the beach. No pool, more like a hot tub. No tv. Only want you to flush the toilet once per day,NOOOOOT!! Waterfall in the bathroom from upstairs unit Shower once per day. You can make up your own mind Everything closes at 9:00 pm

Room Tip: Good location & staff old and dark rooms ,read the review make up your own mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaribeanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasrocasroatan, General Manager at Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for your review, also for the "Bad & Ugly" part. All our "value" bungalows (like the one you stayed ) are currently going a through a renovation. At stages , all of the 6 units will be completely redone and ready by december 15th. New bathroom, new furniture, new air conditioner, they will all be brand new! We are currently selling the one not yet renovated at an incredible 399.00 $ deal per couple, for a week stay! You will not find this price anywhere on West Bay Beach. We also include the transfer from/to the airport and the daily breakfast.
Let me just politely disagree on a few points of your review though :
- we do not provide beach towels. You are welcome to bring your own , and if you do not have one you can conveniently buy one for 15$ at the reception, what's wrong with that ?
- a few people have complained that the wi-fi was expensive (it used to be 35$) . We heard that and we lowered our flat rate of unlimited wi-fi to only 20 $ per stay. We are also offering FREE internet connection at a shared computer in our reception. Other business are offering free wi-fi but that is only available in limited common areas of their property . Our wi-fi is available in the comfort of your bungalow and throughout the property, it's a premium service.
- we do NOT advertise to have a pool. We have a salt water plunge pool , carved on the rocks at the edge of the water. It's like a big jacuzzi where you can relax, sip a drink and watch an amazing sunset.
- we DO have TV in our one story units ( the standard plus and the superior bungalows ) . Some people do not have the need of a TV and we pass the saving (of not having to install a satellite system in the room ) into the price of the bungalow.
- we ask you to flush the toilet once a day, and we even ask you to shower togheter with your partner! It's a funny way to ask you to be eco-friendly and save water . I am sorry if you interpreted that little flyer we have in the bathroom literally. Guest are welcome to flush as much as they want .
Thanks again for staying with us, we appreciate good and bad reviews ( we like the good one better though) they help up improve and be better.
Pasquale
(manager/owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.5 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center

Property: Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center
Address: West Bay Beach | Roatan, West Bay, Roatan 33132, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#5 Family Hotel in West Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Roatan's most beautifull beach, Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center offers the perfect setting for your intimate getaway vacation. Dive Roatan's marine park from the doorstep of your cabin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Rocas Resort And Dive Center
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Hotel West Bay
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras
Las Rocas Hotel Dive Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing