We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & quite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay. Our bungalow had a nice beach view. Rooms were very unique and clean. Guest services were friendly.
Although we were not aware there is free transportation to and from airport. Make sure that you make arrangements to have them pick you up.
Internet was available for a small fee in the office during our stay. To have wifi code was too expensive.
Breakfast was included. Nice bar and seating area over looking the ocean. This is away from the main area of Roatan where there is more going on but transportation going there is good. Water taxi or regular taxi is reasonable.
Winston at the bar was so good at making sure you were ok, good music selection. Very relaxing environment. Had amazing views of sunsets!
This is popular for people who dive or want to learn. We were not there to dive but our next trip there we will give it a try.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenaGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 501 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in a villa right around the corner but Las Rocas soon became our place for lunch, dinner or just a place to meet new friends for drinks to watch the sunset. It has a very laid back beach vibe with a small bar/restaurantt area and a nice patio overlooking the water.

The staff is friendly, the prices are reasonable and the food is fantastic. Make sure you try the mustard lobster. I know, I know....it sounds weird but trust me on this.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Woodshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for a week at Las Rocas. We could not have been happier with our choice. Our room was a private bungalow at the front. There are 16 rooms and the resort is in the perfect location between the West Bay beach resorts and the town of West End. The staff at Las Rocas were fantastic. Everyone was friendly and accomodating. I have dietary restrictions and there were no issues at all. We did 4 scuba dives with Las Rocas. Calvin was our guide and he was friendly and very knowledgable. The food was good, breakfast was included. And nearby there are many more restaurants you can walk or taxi to. We did not have a single bad meal on the island. One couple we met actually had a break in through there bungalows window but we had no problems, even left things out on the balcony. There is a safe in the office but none in the rooms. Every room has its own hammock and we used our often. The beach and water are very nice and Las Rocas is relaxing and seren with fun and attractions near enough to be excellent. I was sad to leave and would recomend this resort to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are much closer to the beach and restaurant and are still quiet. The singles are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikol86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

When in Roatan we did not meet one person that was not friendly. Our stay at Las Rocas was fantastic except for the hard beds that need to be swapped out. The staff at the resort are second to none. The head dive master Kelvin was great!!! Kelvin and Laura were there to help when ever you needed them. It was a pleasure diving with the both of them. The one big draw back was the run down boat they had to use for diving. The motor had to be hot wired in order to start. I really think the dive stafff would be exstatic if they had a decent boat. (Hope they get one) Every other dive shop seemed to have a nice boat!!!!! The bartender Winson had to be one fo the nicest bartenders I have ever met. In fact my wife Mandy asked him if he wanted a job at our restaurant in Colorado in his off season. Randy was great also, as he was also there to make sure we had our fill of the fantastic Rum. This resort is great as it is not in the middle of the hustle and bustle like some of the others. We cannot wait to go back to Roatan.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunterschophouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hola!
We just returned from our first trip to Honduras; a whirlwind trip of 8 nites and 9 days.
We had the pleasure of spending 4 days on Roatan at Las Rocas. We booked Las Rocas online without much info and were not sure what to expect, except from looking at pix online and a few reviews.
We were very happy we choose LRRC, and after looking around at other properties nearby, we feel we got "lucky" and made the best choice.
The 3 main attributes that set LRRC apart for us, were a friendly but casual, quiet, safe & fairly "off the beaten track" location, EXCELLENT STAFF & SERVICE, and really beautiful surroundings.

You felt like you had the place to your self sometimes, but there was ALWAYS someone on duty, whether Alex or Randy in the bar, or Kim or one of the other other reception staff around to help in any way.
We have traveled quite a bit, and found this little rustic gem to be exactly what we were looking for! Close enough to other areas on the island to walk out to eat, listen to music, and snorkel.
One GREAT POINT is the breakfast was included. It was a fresh organic breakfast every morning, with eggs or pancakes, plus fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, and juice and wonderful Honduran coffee. Plus, for sleepy heads like us, you could eat as late at 10 AM! !
Thanks, Winston
The food was very good, and the fresh whole grilled red snapper was our favorite. Best ever! Be sure to meet Randy and ask him to give you a taste of his Guffini medicinal liquor!
Alex, who always seemed to be on duty, is absolutely the best, and we thank him for being so patient and helpful with answering our million questions!
The resort is located on a small sandy beach, with water taxi access, plenty of beach chairs and al fresco dining areas.
The woodsy 2 story bungalows are cute and romantic with private decks or balconies complete with a nice soft hammock and chairs.
We do agree from reading other reviews, that LRRC should replace the worn out and ratty towels, and perhaps offer more hangers, as we had a lot of wet clothing hanging around.

The landscaping is gorgeous and well maintined and the view of the sunset is spectacular.
The best part is that you feel far away from it all, but you only need to walk a short way down the boardwalk and you will find several beach bars and restaurants within a short walk.

We would definitely recommend LRRC and hope to return one day!
Jennifer & Scott, Deerfield Beach, Florida

Room Tip: Book one upstairs with an unblocked view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenScott135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stay here each year. We like smaller, more intimate places and feel like even in the few days we are there, we know the staff and they know us. Recently stayed in one of the newly renovated bungalows and they have done a nice job on the upgrades. I agree that new towels would be nice, but disagree with the person who had issues with the staff. We have never experienced anyone that did not go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Winston, I miss you handing me my morning coffee before I even asked for it. The guys at the bar know how to make a mean monkey lala. The front desk helped in all ways asked and our drivers were a delight to talk to on the trips to and from the airport. We do not rent a car, and having airport transfers included is perfect. After all the crowds on the beach, it is a pleasure to go back to our more secluded accomadations.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yeahcardinals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great location. Far enough from the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk to of that's what your into that night. The girl who picked us up from the airport was genuine and very informative. There were only two major issues: the towels were very old and were torn and holy, and one of the bartenders was extremely rude (Randy). He was very unapproachable and deliberate with his rude responses. On one occasion he was annoyed that I asked him for a wine glass that he turned off the radio at the bar and said inferring of others 'it's your vacation you can get what you want". On another night he would not order my dinner because he thought I was taking the dish put to the patio. Randy made it to where we didn't want to be in the bat area when he was there. After his shift he would often stay and drink at the bar which I find unprofessional. There was another gentleman there by the name of Vincent who was stellar! No problem there. He was always polite and accommodating. Thankyou Vincent!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riviatnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.0 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center

Address: West Bay Beach | Roatan, West Bay, Roatan 33132, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#5 Family Hotel in West Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: $81 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Roatan's most beautifull beach, Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center offers the perfect setting for your intimate getaway vacation. Dive Roatan's marine park from the doorstep of your cabin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Rocas Resort And Dive Center
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Hotel West Bay
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras
Las Rocas Hotel Dive Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing