We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just okay...”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Las Rocas for three nights in June 2012. I've been living in Honduras for almost two years so I generally know how things work at hotels/resorts in and around the country, but this resort was okay. We paid for a Standard room because we were told that it would have a guaranteed ocean view but our view was okay. We didn't stay on the resort much of the day so it didn't bother me that much. We don't dive and we weren't interested in learning (we earn our salaries in lempiras so it was quite pricey for us). One of the guys working at the dive shop offered to take us out snorkeling but it was $15 per person, and we found a place farther down on the beach (we walked ALL the way to the end almost every day, it was actually really enjoyable) that only charged us $5 per person for as long as we wanted. We went right offshore and snorkeled, so we liked that.

Our room was okay, although the shower needed some attention. The water came out of the shower head in all different directions, and the shower wall was missing some tile... also there was some water stains above the shower. It was nice that they had hot water, which we don't have at our house. So that was a nice treat considering I miss it! Our bathroom door was hard to shut (I had to practically slam it to make it close). We could hear everything that the people were upstairs were doing - every time they moved in the bed or they walked, they could hear it. The bed was pretty noisy as well but relatively comfortable. My fiance slept like a rock!

The deck on the bungalow was nice - I loved laying in the hammock. I booked this resort because they DON'T have internet (unless you want to pay for it) or TV because I wanted us to have an intimate relaxing vacation. The maids were lovely - they made our room up nicely every day, creating something out of the towels and scattering flowers on our bed. It was very sweet.

We ate breakfast at the resort every day, although there was a little bit of confusion about the time that breakfast is served. We were told that it was from 8-12 every day (another guest also mentioned that he was confused as well), but the staff at the kitchen told us it was 8-10 and the sheet in the room said 8-9:30. They offered a really small buffet and one option of a hot breakfast (whatever they were making for the day). I think they could offer a little bit more to the guests in terms of the breakfast buffet, but it was satisfactory.

Like I said, my fiance and I didn't stay on the resort any of the days that we stayed there -- we went to the beach every day, and one day we went to Anthony's Key for a dolphin encounter. The day that we went to the encounter, we asked the girl at the desk to please call us a taxi (looking back, we should have just taken a water taxi but oh well). She asked us why were going to Anthony's Key and I told her that we were going to their dolphin encounter. She seemed really angry that we were going there instead of doing their dolphin encounter (although I never saw it advertised and no one mentioned it) and told us that if we had done the dolphin encounter at Las Rocas, we wouldn't have to pay for the taxi and then said, "but whatever" really rudely. She called us a taxi and told us it would be $15 (285 lempiras) to take us there. My fiance asked her to assure us that it wouldn't be any more than that. She said it wouldn't be. When we arrived at Anthony's Key, the guy charged us $20 (400 lempiras) claiming that the lower price was only if he took us back to Las Rocas. I felt scammed! I totally suggest taking a water taxi because I'm not sure who was really telling us the truth about the price and/or the agreement.

Many other people talk about the bugs and sand flies on Roatan which is TRUE but the resort cannot control that, although the bugs DID invade our room one night which was kind of unpleasant.

Overall, our stay was okay. I enjoyed the time we spent in Roatan because I was with my fiance, but I don't think we would stay at the resort again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    160
    44
    29
    13
See reviews for
83
230
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had the best down time, great water, people and food. We were at Las Rocas for a week and could have stayed longer. Don't take anything other than flip flops, shorts and your swim suit of course. You must go eat at Berties, great food and the father-in-law to Pasquale, a hidden secret on the island. We did not want to come home.

Room Tip: All of these are bungalows, no TV in most, but the AC is freezing and you sleep like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Las Rocas was a fantastic establishment to stay at. The people were all amazingly friendly and helpful, the location right on the water is hard to beat. The hotel is a minute walk to the white sand beach where there are lots of attractions, shopping, hotels and restaurants, but seemed to be the perfect distance away from all the hustle and bustle. The onsite restaurant was great, breakfast was ready every morning when we got up. The bar was a fun place to socialize in the evenings too and watch the sunset. The dive shop was a great time, we had many amazing dives with Peter and Kelvin, who are both excellent instructors. The small pool was very convenient to cool off from time to time throughout the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquamacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Las Rocas resort is a great place to stay if you like a casual atmosphere, friendly staff and a reasonably priced room/cabana. Our room was cleaned daily and the linen/towels replaced - the housekeeping staff made "creatures" out of the clean towels and hibiscus blooms on our beds every day. Breakfast is a main course with fresh fruit, baking, juice, coffee, yoghurt and cold cereal. Las Rocas is at the north/east end of West Bay, so isn't actually on a sandy beach, but has great ocean view. It's actually a lot quieter than the rest of West Bay.

The dive shop is also great. We did 16 dives over 2 weeks and never went to the same site twice. Both divemasters are knowledgeable, safety conscious and competent. The equipment is as good as we rent from our local dive shop in North Vancouver - what you would expect from rental equipment. We were fortunate enough to do a night dive, a wreck dive, a deep dive and a cavern dive....along with several drift dives. We never had more than 8 divers on any one dive.

If you're thinking of a diving vacation in Roatan you should consider Las Rocas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Moderately priced hotel steps away from main beach area. Room needed attention upon our arrival. Shower curtain appeared dirty, door lock did not work upon our return to our room on the first full day, plaster fell from ceiling and our friends in the room below us had a plumbing problem. Instead of finding another room, hotel staff came to attend to our concerns. All problems QUICKLY corrected when told to management. Employees/staff were VERY, VERY, VERY helpful and took care of all of our concerns. Roberto at the bar took care of all food/drink requests. Rooms had a/c and hot water and area was safe. Breakfast included with room charge. No in-room entertainment of any kind in our rooms. Non-potable water at the Las Rocas, buy bottled water at a market. Did NOT have a bad meal at Las Rocas and in Roatan for that matter until the last night in West Bay. We went to the Paradise resort roof top restaurant and meal was disappointing. Many terrific places to eat all along the beach area there in West Bay.

Went to Roatan to scuba dive. My dive buddy and I did not like the dive operation there at Las Rocas due to size of boat and number of divers we saw getting into the boat the next morning. I personally do not like "cattle car" operations and that appeared to be the case here. We found the TGI scuba center a short walk way from Las Rocas with much larger boats. We gave TGI our business and never regretted the decision. Large boat, off season diving, and on our last dive we only had 4 paying divers on a boat that could easily hold 15+ divers. There were more dive masters and boat crew members than paying divers which made for enjoyable trips to/from dive sites. Not stepping on other peoples fins and banging air tanks getting into/out of the water is important to this diver. You're never more than minutes away from fantastic diving.

Finally, it was a good thing we went early to check out and review our room charges. Hotel staff got our bill mixed up with our friends bill and it took a good half hour to correct. Hotel had my charges on my friends room bill and my friends home address on my bill. All was corrected but it took time.

Room Tip: Get bungalows located near office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasrocasroatan, General Manager at Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Hi Frank and thanks for your review. I am glad to read that some initial problems with your bungalow were promptly taken care and resolved. I would like to comment on the negative review about our dive operation. It's been defined as a "cattle car" operation, which is quite the opposite of the type of service we provide to all our guests. We have 2 dive boats and we generally go out with 4/6 divers maximum on each boat. The day you arrived you noticed a "big" group of 10 people on one of our boat. It was actually a Dive Club that specifically asked us to dive all together. As a matter of fact, none of our other guests dove with them for the entire week. We used our second boat for our average 4/6 group of divers. It's a pity that you did not come inside the dive shop to ask about for some info, but headed straight to the beach looking for another option. We would have gladly explained and assured that you would have been diving on another boat and not with the Dive Club.
Some Bar/Restaurant tabs were mixed with the ones of your friend because you were eating/drinking together; it's our fault , I apologize for that.
I hope you had a pleasant experience in Roatan and we look forward to seeing you back at Las Rocas Resort.
Pasquale Paonessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great lodging on West Bay in Roatan is Las Rocas Resort. It is on the beach, has a restaurant, clean and comfortable rooms with AC and hot showers, a dive center, close to snorkeling and beautiful beaches and has a wonderful and friendly staff. It is moderately priced and usually includes breakfast and can include all meals. It is just a water taxi away from the West End. The website is lasrocasresort.com. I have stayed there seven times out of the last seven years visiting and I was there the week of Thanksgiving.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonifuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Just got back from Las Rocas. I was there with my son for his 12th birthday
The main reason was to get him certified mission accomplished. We had a wonderful instructor and the rest of the dive staff was great. The girls at reception area were really nice and helpfull and when I had a small complaint about the people above me being to loud they moved me right away. The room was nice and The staff at the bar were great always ready to mix one up, Randy even showed my son how to island fish.
In the morning of my sons birthday there was a knock at the door and we found the whole staff there with cake and singing happy birthday to my son This really shows what kind of place it was and how thoughtful the staff really was.
WE Will be going back some day I just hope it is soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.5 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center

Property: Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center
Address: West Bay Beach | Roatan, West Bay, Roatan 33132, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#5 Family Hotel in West Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Roatan's most beautifull beach, Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center offers the perfect setting for your intimate getaway vacation. Dive Roatan's marine park from the doorstep of your cabin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Rocas Resort And Dive Center
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Hotel West Bay
Las Rocas Resort & Dive Center Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras
Las Rocas Hotel Dive Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing