We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Don't Know”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradise Oceanic Hotel
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I Don't Know”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

You will hear this often when you stay at this hotel. Wifi does note work. You ask them. They will tell you I don't know and look the other way. Wifi is not included in the hotel rate by the way but paying for it useless because it won't work unless you go to the bar. So if you want to do anything on the internet, you have to go to the bar to get any kind of wifi service. Get it fixed people instead of saying I don't know. Add a router or something. Seriously. The AC unit does not work properly. I heard the same thing when I asked about the on again and off again AC unit. I don't know. Really. Get a clue. People are paying money to stay at a hotel and expect things to work. The only good thing here was the room service crew. They do a great job, are very respectful, and do a complete cleaning every day. But customer service in other aspects appears to be a new concept to the hotel but until people working here start paying attention to customer service at this hotel and they include their bad wifi as complimentary for everyone, I recommend to stay away and use other hotels that are in the same high price range on West Bay.

Room Tip: The rooms are actually clean and the room service crew does a great job!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Universal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    39
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
41
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

What a great resort! The rooms at the Oceanic are 5 star. The staff go out of the way to please. The towel art on the beds is just great,The food is what you would expect from a buffet, Its good,but not five star. If you want that, then go to a resort in Mexico and share your experience with 2 thousand other guests. This is a small intimate resort, where you get to know the guests and the staff and by the end of the week you and they are a lot like family.
Roger is one of the Chefs. Say Hi and give the big guy a hug. He is a real asset at this resort!
To sum up, this resort is laid back in every sense of the word. The staff go out of their way to please. Oh yes, the snorkling is out of the world. One hundred feet off the beach and you are in one of the best reefs in the world, My wife and I have been here two times in the past two years and will be going back again next March. If you want a great experience, then this the place to be.

Room Tip: Try to get a second floor on the Ocenica just in case the elevator is not working
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OntarioSnowbirdOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed in the Paradise Oceanic for a week in March,2014. We generally rent a house or villa but since it was only two of us we decided to try the Oceanic. The rooms are spacious, clean, and just a short walk to the beach. The elevator leaves a little to be desired but considering it probably one of three or four on the island I guess it's okay. Couple of small issues, refrigerator is very small, no soap dish in shower so you will get some water on the floor, and vessel sink looks cool but not really practical. Overall great deal for the money.

Room Tip: Second floor is great. Elevator is small so we just used steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snagshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Two of us stayed here for three nights at the beginning of March. It was a good value for the price, we would stay there again. I had wanted to stay in the Beach resort part, but was convinced to try the Oceanic instead. It really wasn't any further from the beach, and the rooms were newer and very clean. We even had cute towel animals a couple days!

The food was good in the buffet, nothing special, just what you'd expect at a buffet. A heads up on the wifi... It is free only in the beach bar where you have to give your device to a manager to have them put in the password. Otherwise you have to pay- per device, not per room- to have wifi anywhere else on the property. Since we were on vacation and didn't want Internet 24/7, it wasn't a make or break thing for us.

Also, be sure to bring bug repellent for the sand fleas. They were viscous!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MargaritaGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We just arrived home from our weeks vacation at the Paradise Oceanic. It was a great week. The hotel is nice, comfortable and more modern than other resorts in west bay. Resort is well kept. We did the all inclusive and the food was good. We never had a bad meal at the resort. We did go out to eat at other restaurants on the beach and in West End a few times, but that is because we like to try new places.
The staff at the Oceanic are all very friendly and try their best to please. The bar staff at the beach at night are a very fun group.
Their is an amazing rooftop bar ontop of the oceanic that is for guests only. This is not used to its full potential!! The view and the Caribbean breezes you get up there are beautiful!
This is not a resort where you will be waited on hand and foot, if that is what you are looking for, maybe try Infinity Bay. If you want a laid back, clean, friendly, comfortable resort, this resort will be good for you.
As for Roatan.... It is my favourite travel destination by far. The ocean, the beaches, the people, all are amazing! You will never feel unsafe here and once you go you will hooked!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank ker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was concerned about our selection after reading some reviews but was pleasantly surprised at this resort. The rooms are large and clean with everything you need. One of the resorts below complained about no hairdryer - but simply ask at the front desk and they will provide one. There are three pool areas which are all nice - however the beach is even nicer! Beautiful sunsets can be seen from the beach or from the roof top pool in Oceanic. The food at the seafood a la carte was great and so was the pizza. The buffet was very good - it did get a bit repetitive after a few days but thats not a big deal since there are so many great restaurants around that you have to try some of them out anyway! Fosters on the beach has 3 lobster tail dinner for $15. on Mondays and the restaurants in West End are also fabulous! If you like Mojitos - you MUST stop by the Booty Bar on the main street in West End - we swear they are the best in the world! The people were all friendly and we had a great week! This resort really should be rated way higher than #9 out of 11 hotels. Also - if you are the type of person whom enjoys "paying it forward" - stop by your local dollar store before you go and purchase some beads and necklace making supplies. When you are sitting on the beach someday - give these supplies to the children selling jewellery. If you are looking for a really appreciative little boy - look for Christian and his little brother. They were so thankful that they made the first one for me:) Made my day! I've been to over a dozen places in the Caribbean and this definitely was one of the nicest islands!

Room Tip: We had room 306 in Oceanic - nice room but I do believe they are all similar. Higher floors are nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CJNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you are torn between this spot and the Paradise Ocean (it's sister hotel) next door definitely pick this one. The building is new and the rooms are much nicer in my opinion. More importantly it is safer. At this hotel all the balconies are private - where as next door you can walk across patios and there were theft and peeping Tom problems at the other property. I changed to the Oceanic after a few nights at the older property next door. This place has a nice roof top terrace and bar with a dipping pool. Nice to watch sunsets - although the bartender would sometimes blast some awful music when we arrived - I think he thought he was improving the ambience but he was actually killing it : ) One note - the elevator was broken ALL week so if you can't climb stairs then watch out - this is a developing country and stuff is always breaking down. Finally do NOT take the All Inclusive package! The food in the package is a buffet horror. We stopped eating after 3 days, it was just gross. The beach on the other hand was great - lots of chairs and nice soft sand, no rocks - you can swim laps like a pool. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Fourth floor and up has a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElleFlaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#7 of 14 in West Bay
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Oceanic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Oceanic Hotel

Property: Paradise Oceanic Hotel
Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Oceanic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Oceanic Hotel: Sandy white beaches; relaxing on sun-loungers under cooling parasols, served by Cayuco Beach Bar & Restaurant. Inviting, cobalt Caribbean; gentle sea breezes, tropical gardens. Plunge pool; sipping chilled Champagne at The View, Roatan’s only rooftop bar, overlooking the glorious West Bay Beach. Refreshing Mojitos; seafood platters, fine dining. Snorkelling and scuba-diving right from the beach. Doing nothing at all: Your Freedom to Choose at the Hidden Jewel of the Caribbean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Paradise Oceanic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Oceanic Hotel Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing