We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had an awesome experience with Malcolm!”
Review of West Bay Divers

West Bay Divers
Ranked #1 of 18 Tours in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Bay Divers is a PADI 5 Star Dive Center located in beautiful West Bay, on the Island of Roatan. We dive on the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef, the second largest reef system in the world, home to over 95% of Caribbean marine species. At West Bay Divers we have earned a reputation of professionalism in the dive community by using high quality & well maintained Cressi rental gear, and staffing experienced dive professionals with a commitment to safety. With daily fun dives, snorkeling tours, PADI certification courses, and specialized Island excursions, we are sure to have something for everyone. Let us share our passion for the underwater world with you! Coming to Roatan on a cruise? Contact us to build you a personalized schedule to suit your group.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Roatan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had an awesome experience with Malcolm!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We went on a few dives with West Bay Divers, checked out Mandy's Eel Garden, and we had such a great time. Their equipment is new and reliable, and Malcolm pointed out so many creatures, big rays to tiny tiny sea slugs, that it made our dives unforgettable! I definitely recommend this dive shop.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    4
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakefield, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great folks, great diving”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were amazed at the variety of dive sites within a very short disance either direction of West Bay. It's nice to be a a new site in minutes and unbelievably calm compared to other places we've dived. The staff at West Bay are all top notch, really appreciated the professionallism demonstrated but all, we were led by Deborah, Naomi, Nick and Kiernan and had nothing but great things to say about all. And Luke saved the day for us not once but twice , repairing faulty gear that needed some maintainence. Really great service, we will be back !!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Experience!!! Thanks Nick!! :)”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I visited Roatan a week ago and got my Open Water Diver certification with West Bay Divers, very professional and cool + friendly people, (Luke thanks for everything!!) . Love it, id deff would go back to this place for future dive classes!!! Very secured, organized and fun!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JareGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome experience!!! thanks, nick!!!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

i recently visited west bay, roatan and west bay divers for the first time. it was an amazing experience and everyone is beyond friendly and accomodating. this was my first dive and nick was super patient, knowledgable and helpful. it was a most epic time!!! and i am definitely going to get my certification now. thanks to luck, naomi and nick for everything! you will definitely be seeing me again!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Awesome Dive Shop”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just spent a week diving with West Bay Divers.
This shop is located behind the Paradise Oceanic Hotel, across from the Paradise Beach Resort Reception office.
This is a well organized, professional dive shop. They cater to small groups and limit their dives to a managable amount of people. Their guides are knowledgeable and very professional, their equipment is up to date should you have to rent some and I did.
They watch the weather very well and know which side of the island to dive on depending on the conditions, ofcourse I prefer to just dive on the West Bay side as then you do not need to go out to the van and pile in with all the gear.
This shop does run a shore "check out" dive for everyone that dives with them, which seemed a bit odd to me, but after the initial nervousness of doing skills again, I was comforted in the fact that they were also taking care of my safety in checking out to make sure the other divers in the group wouldn't put me in danger.
They run a discover scuba and two of my friends did that course with them and one was very sucessful and will continue the course at home.
The young man that owns the business Luke is very kind, considerate and professional. A shout out to Naomi, Nick and Kerin our dive masters for the week.
Please check them out if you want affordable, safe and amazing dives in Roatan.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sprocak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestBayDivers, Owner at West Bay Divers, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you guys here diving with us and we hope that you come back and dive with us again soon, thanks sue and chris best wishes from the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Bay Divers also viewed

 

Been to West Bay Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing