We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertainment wonderful”

Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Entertainment wonderful”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Found drinks and food a little expensive. Does have one great buy the pizza and very good . Run lunch special two slices of pizza and a beer for $7.00. Don't miss the music and the crab races fun

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 5127ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the entertainment and meals... the pizza is amazing and the lunch special is great, but only served from 11 to 2... its tough to walk away from two slices of pizza and a soda for 6 bucks! I will suggest to all future guests that liquor prices on Roatan and throughout Honduras will be going up pretty quick over the next couple of months. Honduras just implemented new liquor prices for importing and some of them are in excess of 150%... just a heads up... by the time you pay, ship, pay freight and customs its going to go up... it is possible that some restaurants may have a large inventory and the prices will stay the same for awhile... but eventually you need to restock. All our prices on our drinks DO include the 15% tax for liquor...many other restaurants do not... I really hate surprises on my final bill!
Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    333
    117
    43
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“ask for alex, he is a very good and friendly server”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Beach side eating with great wood oven pizza, ask the mojito with very little lime in it with lots of mint. They have karaoke here, I drop the dj nuts!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Alex is absolutely Amazing and the only server that I know that speaks fluent French! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for sharing your experience with us/future guests. Tiger Tim does really well at the Karoke... the more you sing with him the more you will drink so be careful:)

Thank you again,
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, great view, reasonable price”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This little restaurant/bar has a lot going for it. For anyone staying at any of the West Bay hotels, it's a great place to get dinner or lunch. We stayed in Roatan for a week and came here three times. Of all the restaurants on the beach, this was my favorite.

The menu had something to please everyone in my family. Service was prompt and very friendly (really important to me). The food took a little while to come, but the ambience and view made the wait seem short.

Different evenings feature different events. We were lucky enough to enjoy a live band one evening, and a movie on another evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calgary_Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are really happy you enjoyed your service, atmosphere and food. The food at times can take a bit longer than expected as we work hard to ensure our products are cooked fresh... we dont pull deep fried crap out of boxes to fry up for you:) Each item on our menu is prepared by hand and we appreciate that you enjoyed your time here with us and are great full for your patronage:) Movie nights on Monday night are one of my favorite nights with my family... part because of the movie on the beach, but mostly the 2 for 1 pizzas are incredibly affordable for families:) Its great to see kids run around and have fun with the different activities. Thank you again for taking the time to review our restaurant, service and overall quality. We look forward to having you guys back with us soon:)
Sincerely
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Best pulled pork on the island. Our waiter, Alex, was wonderful and so good to us. We will be going back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We do smoke our pulled Pork in the smoker right behind the restaurant! Alex is one of my favorite waiters and many of our Canadian guests seek him out as he is one of the few Honduran local waiters who speak fluent French! Who would have ever guessed? He is amazing and we receive a number of great compliments from guests... Thank you for taking the time to let us know your favorite waiter.
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill was located right on the beach in front of Bananarama Dive and Beach Resort (where we stayed for 5 nights). All of the service staff was friendly and there was a great vibe in general. Dishon and Victor took care of us several times and were both excellent. The bar also had different activities depending on the day of the week including live music, karaoke, music trivia, crab races and more. It was a very lively but laid back bar. Definately the busiest restaurant/bar that we saw while in Roatan. The food was good and the beer was cold. I would highly recommend if in West Bay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Lindsey,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and to let us know which employees made your meals special. Knowing which employees are doing well helps us with promotions, increases and bonuses:) Victor and Dishon are fantastic employees, friends and representatives of our restaurant. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill also viewed

 
West Bay, Roatan
West Bay, Roatan
 

Been to Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing