We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dive Center and Divemasters”

Bananarama Dive Center
Ranked #4 of 18 Tours in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bananarama Dive Center offers the full range of diving activities on the worlds' second largest barrier reef. Experienced staff, small groups and the best dive sites make diving with Bananarama an unforgettable experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Great Dive Center and Divemasters”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Bananarama divemasters know what they're doing, where to go and how to make the most out of the island sites. The four of us arrived to get our certification dives in after taking the on-line tests. Zoe is the best guide I can imagine having - cheerful and upbeat but under the water she is clear and in control. On top of that, our youngest daughter (10) was stung at the beginning of our second open water dive - Zoe spent her free afternoon catching her back up so that we could get certified together. We were so jealous of Liv getting two one-on-one dives with Zoe!

We also stayed at the resort (Island Pearl), and loved it. But the true strength is the dive center. They know the island so well that even with the three days of windy weather we had, they knew exactly where to take us to find the calmest and clearest water. The staff, Marco the head divemaster, the drivers, boat operators, instructors - well everyone basically, all worked together - the operation is very well run. We look forward to returning!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    24
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, great dives.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This review is for the dive shop only, not the hotel.

We spent a week with Bananarama. All of the dive sites were beautiful and required no more than a 5-7 minute boat ride from the beach. Group sizes were always small (typically one group of 5-6 divers to a boat). The boats are fairly small and do not have a head, but this wasn't an issue considering the length of the trips.

What sets this dive shop apart is the truly outstanding service. We dove with four instructors throughout they week. They were all safety-conscious, helpful, professional and enthusiastic about the dive sites- even more, they were truly enjoyable folks to spend a week with. When one of our friends had difficulty operating the rental BCD, an instructor generously lent her his personal BCD for her remaining dives.

I had two relatively minor complaints. First, some of the rental equipment is in poor condition and needs to be upgraded (wetsuits with holes and tears; difficult to operate regulators). Not an issue if you bring your own gear. Second, the instructors frequently required divers to finish at 50-55 minutes regardless of the air in their tanks (instead of permitting them to dive to 60+/- minutes).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindsayBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Dive Center”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

To be clear, this is a review for the Dive Center ONLY. The hotel needs a lot of help and is not a great value but the dive center is top notch. I traveled with a friend and we purchased an all inclusive package that included three daily dives. The staff were extremely knowledgeable, helpful and fun. The diving was great. The equipment needs to be updated. They maintain it as well as they can but it is getting old and I needed to change regulators a couple of times because of issues with functionality. The boats are also a bit, well, different in that they do not look like dive boats but more like small fishing boats but they serve their need. Roatan has really amazing diving and this is a great center from which to base your dives. That being said, I do NOT recommend staying at the resort. Come for the diving and leave for the sleeping.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraz7270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dive shop!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was our first time diving since becoming certified. I was very nervous checking in on that first morning to dive. However, the Dive Masters made me comfortable right away and made sure that my equipment was set up properly and did it in a very professional, friendly way.Once we got in the water, they were very patient in waiting to make sure everyone came down safely and kept a close eye on those who had some challenges just from being new or "rusty" as it. My son had some trouble clearing his ears and they took their time with him, showed him some tricks and he never had trouble again. The diving down there was incredible and we saw some amazing things. We never wanted to get out of the water.
As our special dive we chose the night dive. Marco was our Dive Master and he was amazing with us! I was a little scared when we turned our lights out so Marco held my hand while we swam through the string of pearls which was SO cool! Marco you are awesome!!!
The equipement here was all in very good condition and was prepared for us each morning. Everyone was just so friendly and helpful...we cannot wait to return!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank klc484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top notch dive shop”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just spent the Ontario March break (11-18th, 2013) at Paradise Beach Resort next to Bananarama. We had planned to dive while on Roatan and ended up with Bananarama thanks mostly to Marko at the dive centre. He squeezed our 16 yr-old son into the Open Water Certification course with Zoe despite being swamped with guests. They were both very encouraging and motivated him to sign up and get it done. Our family of four got in 21 dives last week with most of the excellent dive masters including Zoe, Daniel, Martin and Marc. Zoe was a terrific teacher and our son loved the course. Due to a stormy West Bay some days, they shuttled us to Flowers Bay and the dives were spectacular at all sites. On another note, one of our dive boat captains, Olman, took us fishing with his brother and we managed to catch ourselves a tuna dinner. We'll be back for sure.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PierreStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bananarama Dive Center also viewed

 

Been to Bananarama Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing