We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the penthouse but not the smaller rooms”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Vue Luxury Condominiums
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Pros:

Pool
Beautiful hotel grounds
Amazing location near the beach
Free purified water in the rooms
Vehicle and snorkel rentals
Beautiful Penthouse Suite with amazing views (took a peak as it was being cleaned)

Cons:

The room we stayed in was small (bed next to the refrigerator and kitchen).
Rock-hard bed
Noise from the outdoor lobby, fridge running & room overtop the generator.
Cold shower
No view
On-site construction early in the morning
Internet didn't work

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugatree_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 66 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2009

My husband and I traveled to Honduras with two other couples for a much needed two week retreat. I can't say enough good things about our stay. The apartment was beautiful and the hosts were gracious. They have lived on the Island for quite a few years so were an invaluable source of guidance in eating, shopping, and touring. The units were kept very clean and our hosts were always ready with the little extras that larger hotels forget. They checked on us frequently to make certain we had all that we needed and most that we wanted. We were especially impressed with the level of honesty of the workers. They were a few times that we would inadvertently leave some of our more valuable belongings behind very visible to the work staff. We NEVER had a problem. That means a lot to us the way the world in general is today. We were always comfortable and truly enjoyed our stay.

If you don't want to get "lost in the crowd" of vacationers at the larger resorts, treat yourself to a beautiful, tropical, home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Good location and clean apartments but at a ridiculous price for what you get. The hotel is still under construction so expect builders to wake you early in the morning. Frequent power and water cuts. Not unexpected on Roatan but given the rent, one would expect a generator. Showers are poor (lukewarm water and very weak water pressure). Again, a relatively small inconvenience but given what we paid, we were very disappointed. You stay in some of the bigger hotels on the beach for the same price, and enjoy much better facilities and service. Note that the studio flats do not have sea views and the view from the flats on the first floor is only partial as it is blocked by the hotel directly in front of the apartments.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiara6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

This March a large group of friends and I decided to stay at Sea Vue for just about a week. It was the perfect selection! It is located very close to the beach with amazing views from the balcony. The pool and infiniti hot tub were both delightful complements to the living arangements. The property is clean and peaceful due to it being slightly removed from the main hustle and bustle by the beach. The family who lives in and runs the hotel is very sweet and accommodating in every way. I would suggest that anyone looking for a good hotel in Central America or just a place to visit in general should visit Sea Vue Hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tko3888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed at the Seavue in early January 2009. We are a family of 5 with 3 children ages 9, 11 and 13. Everything started superbly by a warm welcome from our hosts at the Ferry dock. This building is managed by two couples: Jim and Karma (the parents), Willow (their daughter) and Carlo her husband. These four people were never short of little attentions for us during our 10 day stay. Our younger son adopted Carlo and spent hours in his company chasing turtles and carrying rocks around to built a rock garden (to this day we suspect that Carlo was in search of cheap labor).

Back to the dock, our hosts, knowing that we would be a family, came with 2 vehicles: one to take the kids and luggage (and the dad…) directly to the condo and another vehicle to take the mommy shopping for groceries. Regarding food, there was a relatively good variety of food at the grocery store and the price of food in Roatan is comparable to what you would pay in Florida. There is no deal to make on this. This said, we expected worse.

We occupied the condo on the last story of the main building, the one overlooking West Bay Beach. The view is breathtaking all day, not to mention sunsets. We travelled to many places (Columbia, Cuba, Venezuela, Florida, Costa Rica, Nicaragua) but the spectacle of a sunset at the Seavue was one of a kind.
The condo itself was terrific. The mahogany flooring is gorgeous although I have to say that it was a little bit stressful coming back from the beach with sandy kids… Our hosts appeared to be less stressed than us about scratching the floor. Our condo had a cathedral ceiling which made it feel even bigger. It looked, felt and felt clean. The kitchen was fully furnished (nicer than home…) and cooking was not an issue. There are also a couple good restaurants whitin a walking distance. If you go, ask about the pizza place (2 for 1). The master’s bedroom is huge and the second bedroom is also of a fair size. Usually pictures on the Internet are nicer than reality. In this case it was the opposite.

When we were there, the pool wasn’t completed. We saw pictures of it once completed and it seems to be fine. We can’t comment on it though. Although it is not huge, the beach is made out of white powdery sand. For those who travelled to Cuba it is very like. Before going we had heard about bugs in the sand but we had no bug problem. If you go there YOU HAVE to take your snorkelling gears. The snorkelling is awesome. The variety of fish and corals that you can see from close to shore is awesome. We already knew, by reading all kinds of reviews, that snorkelling was going to be great but you really have to experience it to understand.

We visited the Marine Science Institute of Roatan. We swam with dolphins. We had previous experiences with dolphins in other countries and we have to say that this one was the best. Staff is so respectful of these animals and you can see it by the way everything is set up. This was a bit pricey but well worth it.

We also tried the Canopy Ride, a chain of zip lines that ends up on the beach were you meet macaws and white face monkeys. What a blast for the kids! Once again it is a bit pricey (if my memory is good about $300 for the family) but the kids are still talking about it.

At the end of our stay we flew out of the Island via TACA Regional. Planes are nice, the ride is enjoyable. HOWEVER, you have to be very very very patient to do business at the service counter. It is true that we, North American, drive on efficency and that we have to adapt when travelling abroad. This said, it took almost two hours to purchase 5 plane tickets at the counter. For some reason, no one seemed to know what was the price for kids. The manager was gone, Internet was down. Eventually we got our tickets. The staff wasn’t rude at all and there was no point for us to be rude either. It just takes lots and lots of patience to do that. On the day of the flight there was a big rain storm and our flight was cancelled. Again Internet was down and it took ½ day to figure out were they would fit 5 people on a later flight. We had a connecting flight through San Pedro Sula to Miami. We missed that flight. TACA took good care of us. They couldn’t fit us on any flight to Miami so they sent us to San Jose Costa Rica were we took a flight to Miami, where we arrived 36 hours later than expected. Except for the s-l-o-w service, I have to say that TACA offers an outstanding service, especially in flight.

Overall the experience was great. The place was nice, our hosts were simply great, and we would, and probably will go back to the Seavue (although there are so many nice places to see on this earth…)

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElGravellos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow_SeaVue, Manager at Sea Vue Luxury Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2015

Come again, we would love to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Our stay at Sea Vue was great. We stayed over at one of their studio apartments. The room was beautiful, clean and it was decorated with great taste( loved the lenca pottery!). The kitchen was fully equiped. The hotel has a nice pool and jacuzzi, since the hotel is up on a hill you can enjoy and amazing view of the sunset. We also had a really warm welcome from our hosts,they were more than willing to help with anything you needed. Also the hotel is in a 5 min walking distance from one of the most beautiful beaches in the caribbean, West Bay. Is everything you could hope for, white sand and turquoise water, great snorkeling, etc. We totally recommend it. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ker83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow_SeaVue, Manager at Sea Vue Luxury Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2015

A belated Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

This is a beautiful condominium on a hilltop in West Bay. The view is a absolutely amazing from the penthouse! But even the studio is pleasant to stay in. They also have a newly built pool with spa jets. It is about a 3 minute walk to West Bay beach from Sea Vue. West Bay is the best beach in Roatan! White sandy beaches, turquoise blue ocean waters - just like you'd see in a travel brochure. There's a huge reef that runs almost to the shore, and you can have beautiful topical fish swimming around you just swimming out into the water.

My husband and I spend 6 nights here with another couple. We stayed in the studio the first night and then moved to the penthouse. The studio is small, but also has a full kitchen. The penthouse is extremely beautiful. Beautiful hardwood floors everywhere and white vaulted ceiling in the penthouse. An extremely clean, streamlined look that is relaxing and refreshing. There is a fully supplied kitchen, air conditioning, nice beds, walk-in closets, cable tv, movie selection, laundry service, huge shower, purified water cooler, one full bathroom and another half bath. The whole property has an extremely private feel that makes it very easy to sit back and relax. The owners are extremely accommodating and nice.

We also stayed one night at Foster's, which was very dirty. Sea Vue was very clean and beautiful. The owners take real care of their property and it shows.

They have a website, but I found it difficult to locate when searching for accommodations on Roatan. The website is: http://www.seavueroatan.com/default.htm. They are hands down the best place in West Bay!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahBeth81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow_SeaVue, Manager at Sea Vue Luxury Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2015

A belated Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.9 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#6 of 14 in West Bay
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Vue Luxury Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Vue Luxury Condominiums

Address: West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range: $80 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodations with amazing ocean views offering open floor plans 1, 2 and oversized 2 bedrooms private condos for your stay. All are exquisitely furnished and equally equipped with full kitchen areas. Private patio on each unit. Pool and jacuzzi and beautiful, serene surroundings. Stay at Sea Vue Luxury Condominims for spectacular ocean views and an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Vue Luxury Condominiums Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing