We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish and Atmosphere!”
Review of Bite on the Beach

Bite on the Beach
Ranked #17 of 28 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We ate dinner there 3 times during our stay, and every meal was great! We ordered the spicy red snapper and spicy grouper and both were great. I tried the pineapple sauteed grouper, but it was too fishy for my likes.
The drinks are great and the key lime pie is the best ever!
My only complaint is that the menu is not very extensive.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rickidanae12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    115
    40
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Drink a monkey la la and have a lobster dinner with mashed potatoes and a salad (they use purified water for salad)”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Get there early to enjoy the private cabana for sunset dinner

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracytraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and good food to boot!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We like to sit up top on the deck. This way you have a front row seat for the sunset and eels. After sunset the big green eels come out in the water down below. They feed fish scraps to the eels. Fun to watch!

The food is yummy and consistently good.

We have had the same waiter every time. He has been nice and helpful each time.

Come check it out for yourself! It's an easy walk down West Bay beach.

A word of caution: Where shoes! The last bit of the walk is a boardwalk. Shoes ensure that you don't get a splinter!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moochelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annandale, va
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Go late to see them feed the Eels”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Late night eats on the water for us. The meal was decent and the drinks were cold. Right next to the bar, in the ocean are three big eels, a barracuda and a giant puffer. Each has a name, so they must be there all the time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LL_in_NoVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great ambience- good food!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Went here for dinner - the menu was tasty and had a good selection! Wait staff had good service....the ambience was great! Dishes of pasta, seafood, chicken, beef were good but sitting outside on the upper level was wonderful! We could watch a few green (large) moray eels hang out below us along w/ a large pufferfish! Staying in West Bay, the restaurant is only a 15 minute walk along the beach....especially nice at sunset and moonlight! Definitely enjoyed our time here!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbugchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bite on the Beach also viewed

 

Been to Bite on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing