We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and drinks, slow service...Likely just Island time!”

Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar is located at the heart of West Bay Beach just steps from the turquoise sea of the Caribbean, on Roatan Island in the Bay of Honduras. Nestled in amidst the sea grape trees and white sand, you will find an intimate and romantic dining refuge at the Vintage Pearl. The wine cellar at the Vintage Pearl boasts of the largest wine collection on Roatan Island featuring selections from around the world.The chefs have more than twenty years of cooking experience in the Caribbean and offer a menu that changes daily as they prepare such delicacies as filet mignon, veal, duck, fresh fish, shrimp and lobster, creating a true pleasure to your palate.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We dined here our first night on the island. We all loved our meals. We'd heard that it was one of the most expensive restaurants on the island and we found that to be true. Take your time and a wad of dining cash and you'll have a good time. Frequent power outages at night on the island resulted in an exceptionally long wait to pay with credit cards. Can happen anywhere on the island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Christine,

Thank you so much for choosing us to dine with on your first night! Generally we expect our guests experience here to last 2 to 3 hours including the power outages:) We do have a back up generator, but you are right that our generator does not make the CC machines work correctly... Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 317 of 808 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I dropped in for dinner one night during a large friends trip to Roatan. Neither of our meals were cooked well. Expected more the price. The things that they've got right are good beers and desserts

Thank Curtis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Curtis,

We do have a very large beer, wine and liquor selection... one of the largest on the island... possibly the largest... I have not checked for a couple of years now:)

If at anytime your food or service does not meet your expectations here please let us know immediately. We really want to make sure your experience is special and look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The island of Roatan has many good restaurants where you can get good value with friendly service. The Vintage Pearl is not one of them. 4 of us stopped here Thursday June 19th and the food was very good, a bit pricey but good nonetheless. The atmosphere was beautiful. However, our server was without a doubt the rudest person we have ever encountered in a restaurant. She made us feel unwelcome and would not even give us common courtesy or a word of thanks.There are much better dining experiences on West Bay - avoid the Vintage Pearl.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Ed,

I am extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed our food, but am concerned what you have said regarding the service. I have done the process of elimination to find your server you had and am very surprised if not outright shocked on your comments as the server you have indicated has never had a poor review by word on in writing and has been with us for several years now. If you can contact me and let me know what exactly was said or not said I would great appreciate it. In the future if your server does not have the vibe or level of service you expect here at our restaurant please let us know immediately... we understand that not every servers personality/service is perfect for every situation and we want to make sure that each guests expectations are met here at our restaurant.

Sincerely,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

It starts by leaving your flip flops at the door. We really enjoyed the 3 course meal and the ambience. The service was top notch, the best we experienced in Roatan. They have indoor air conditioned seating and outside seating as well.

Thank Sandandsnow2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Sandandsnow2010,

Thank you for your recommendation and time you have taken to share your feelings. We are one of the very very few restaurants on Roatan to have Air Conditioning in our dining room... AC is pretty expensive here on the island, but for our guests and atmosphere its a must... it also helps when the mosquitos and sand flies are bad around dusk!

Our 3 course meal is what sets us apart and we really strive to make each guests experience here special.

We look forward to seeing you soon and thank you again for your time and recommendation!
Sincerely,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I went the first time two years ago and i did not enjoy it at all. I believe it was because the plates they had that day were not plates i would order. But this time we visited roatan and went to vintage pearl not once, but twice. We had the four plates and four deserts they had on wednesday and i dare to say its my favorite day menu without trying any other day but wednesday and friday. My favorite was the rib eye, gratin potatoes and for desert the dark chocolate- raspberry pie. Spectacular!! We also went on friday and the server was kind enough to let me order a plate that was not on the menu, can you guess which one? Rib eye. And for desert my favorite out of the three we tried was the white chocolate raspberry cheesecake. And to top this wed and fri's there is live music, and she is amazing!! This restaurant is a must and if i would chose a day to visit vintage pearl it would be a wednesday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amyq88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Amyq88,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings you have had for your recent trip and past trip. Our menu is very limited in terms of what guests would expect for a traditional menu... our meal planning goes something like this:

Our chef reviews how many reservations they have for tomorrow nights dinner plus any special requests (ie Ribeye, Ahi-Tuna, Wahoo, Duck, Aligator, etc...

She then moves/prepares the food for the reservations plus 20 to 40% for the following night to account for walk ins... In this way your food is always fresh and the menu rotates daily.

The following night we serve our reservations and allow guests to walk in until the food is gone.

This can add to a few problems... ie it is possible to walk in with out a reservation early, but harder to do it later in the night which can be frustrating... it is also possible to show up and not care for the items or how they are prepared for the night...

To avoid this I would highly suggest reservations and let us know if you have a particular craving... ie Ribeye, Wahoo, Duck, etc... We will do everything we can to make your experience special even if it means only preparing/pulling out just one portion of your meal out:)

Sorry for the lengthy explanation! Sometimes it seems easier to explain lots than not enough:)

I do greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar also viewed

 

Been to Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing