We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabyana Beach

Tabyana Beach
West Bay, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$40*
and up
Roatan Shore Excursion: Small-Group West Bay Beach Tour
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Beautiful while powdery sand. Nice vegetation and water with shades of turquoise and blue colours. Excellent for snorkelling. It can get busy during cruise ship months but the beauty makes up for it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dnaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    122
    27
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not bad, just beware of taxi ripoff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Stopped at Roatan at Mahogany Bay with Carnival. We did not book an excursion through the cruise line, but rather opted to sleep in and watch a cab to the famed Tabyana Beach. We found tour taxi (the folks in white shirts) who offered to take my family of four to Tabyana for $100 round trip. The woman advised for $10 per person once we got there we could get a beach chair and relax.

Once there our "guide" spoke with three places on the beach and she kept explaining they were full, even though we saw empty chairs. In reality she lied to us to get the fair but could not deliver on the beach chair deal, since everyone wanted $25 for their chairs and facilities. I got to the bottom if this issue only after speaking with resort owner. We paid him for our admission and wrist bands, and generally had a great time snorkeling just off the beach!

In retrospect I would book a Beach Break Tour through the cruise ship to avoid all the other local confusion. The beach was decent, but crowded from the three cruise ships in port that day. Snorkeling great, bathrooms well maintained, food and bar on site.

Helpful?
7 Thank Ladder43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46761
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Shore Excursion from Norwegian Dawn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We did the Tabayana Beach Party excursion. The beach was lovely, even though somewhat crowded. We did none of the water activities, but many were offered. For us, it was a good beach for a stroll, a wade, and a chaise lounge. We were offered security to watch our belongings if we wished. The lunch was bbq chicken, beans and rice, cole slaw, and wonderful fresh fruit. Shuttles were offered at staggered times so that we could return to the boat when we wished to. It was a pleasant day, but not an exciting one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not bad...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We only spent a few hours on the beach but we both thought it was nice. There were plenty of chairs and even workers (security) who kept an eye on your things if you were in the water. We snorkeled and were able to see some small reefs with a decent amount of fish.

Near the shop was a woman selling beautiful paintings her husband had done. They were really nice! We love artwork that is unique and decided to buy one! I can't wait to get the canvas in a frame and hang it on our wall! It is a beautiful piece of art and a great reminder of our trip!

I didn't like that there were tons of people selling things on the beach who continually would walk up and ask us if we wanted to buy their jewelry, shells, etc. Once was fine but after a few times it was annoying and if I wanted to buy something I would go up to them!

Also, they charged extra to use the water toys (trampoline, slide, etc) which was a pretty big bummer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank foxxy1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

There is nothing it was like I was in paradise !we had the best and snorkeling was amazing my husband was able to snorkel any time he wanted and we fell in love with beachz

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabyana Beach also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Tabyana Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing