We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation at West Bay Village”
Review of West Bay Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Bay Village
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just returned from a week's vacation at Mary's House in West Bay Village. Location and beach was great. Just steps from bars, restaurants and snorkeling. Mary's house was perfect. Everything we needed. Maid service and security included. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caselady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 65 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed ourselves at West Bay Village. The location is great, the beach wonderful, proximity to diving is good and feeling of being part of a "community" is unique. MLL Studio is the former ground floor office of the property management company that was converted into a studio apartment. Maid service is included once per week and bottled water also included. Free Wifi is provided. The bed was comfortable. When we checked in we got a bouquet of fresh flowers and welcome supplies including coffee, milk, bread, eggs, beer, etc, which was a nice touch.

Unfortunately Monkey La La Studio has a number of drawbacks:
- MLL studio has a generally rundown feel to it. Floor tiles are stained, louver windows are coming apart making them difficult to close, walls are scuffed, furnishings are old and thrown together
- the bathroom towels were old and worn (beach towels were fine)
- the gas oven and burners (which are lit by matches) have limited heat control making it difficult to cook properly
- the frying pans are dented and with non-stick finish missing, there is no baking sheet to warm things in the oven
- utensils are fine, but plates and dishes are mismatched
- only one electrical receptacle in kitchen - always unplugging microwave to make toast, etc
- the kitchen window faces into a maintenance room with hot water heater
- the shower stall is very small and has low water pressure
- air circulation is not good, even with all windows open making it hard to sleep
- the freezer frosts up quickly and rains water on the contents of the fridge
- lack of natural light makes the studio a dark place to be (we called it "the cave")
- there was no comfortable place to sit and watch tv because the tv is on top of the fridge
- the outside patio is unappealing with tired landscaping, unusable hammock and old kitchen table and chairs
- eaves troughs overflowed when it rained causing water to cascade down right outside the bedroom window
- large crack under the door allows crawling insects in, we did have a few cockroaches
- cobwebs in the corners were appreciated for catching mosqitoes in the room
- howling feral cat kept us awake many nights

But, given the price I guess we shouldn't complain too much. It just felt like staying in an old cabin more than staying in a vacation home. Thank goodness for the loungers at the beach where we spent many hours relaxing. We really appreciated the security guards, maintenance man and housekeeper.The property management company (Brad, Ruth and Sam) were helpful and responsive. We made a number of suggestions for improvement which hopefully will be acted on.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roncasual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad V, Manager at West Bay Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, roncasual.
We work hard to make sure our guests are happy and our owners are very accommodating when it comes to meeting guests's wishes. I truly wish we'd been made aware of some of the issues you mention because we could have done something about them to make your 3-week stay with us more comfortable.
When we spoke before your departure you made mention of some of these issues, and you even kindly spelled them out in an email to us. In response, here is what we did in the week after your departure:
-added a door sweep
-repaired all the louvered windows
-added an electrical outlet in the kitchen
-installed a shelf for the microwave to increase counter space
-rearranged the garden area to look more appealing
While we've chosen not to purchase all new appliances or a flat screen TV (per your emailed comments) we think these improvements will help guests be more comfortable.
We rely on guest comments to help improve our business, and we thank you for yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is not my first time to stay at Upper Barefoot Dream. We return again and again as it feels like home. This 2 bedroom 2 bathroom property is such a better way to enjoy West Bay Beach than a hotel room. The property managers Ruth and Brad make you feel so at home and there are so many returning guests that you feel like family. Lourdes the housekeeper is very helpful and sweet and the house was spotlessly clean. The house is only steps from the ocean but feels very private at the same time. The bed in the master bedroom is what you would expect on a Romantic Carribean getaway. The kitchen is well equipped but there are so many wonderful restaurants on the beach now that if you don't feel like cooking you can get wonderful meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are also so many tours and activiites offered on West Bay Beach that this location is very convenient. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goroatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just spent our very first 2 wks in Roatan. Access to beach & snorkeling was best we have experienced. We had whole area to ourlselves the first week. Met the owners who were here the second week finishing up a property directly behind St.Mac's. They made sure we had everything we needed besides the mgmt team. 24 hr. security was reassuring and basically we never left West Bay/West End area. You will be tranfixed!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a wonderful week here but the place could use a little TLC. Must say, though, that Brad, Ruth and Sam were very responsive to anything we needed. If you have Blackie cook a meal for you - and you definitely should - do it early in your stay as there will be enough food for three meals. Delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacksjaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

3rd return to west bay for our Parrothead group. Barefoot dream lower this year as opposed to Barefoot upper last year. ( Easier on the knees) Absolutely magnificient. Well equipped, plenty of room for 5 adults . Beach area is the greatest, I am posting some pictures of our dive trips and only a few taken off the property. Things to note . : Great grocery store in Coxen hole now. Caters to almost every culture with plenty of varied selection. If you buy meat, cook it fast.
Magiamos' , the little groceery store/deli in West Bay is closed on Sunday. good selection for a little store. Try subs or Pizza from the Monkey shop next door. For diving, only one way to go, Bananaram!!!! Ask for Martin, Marco, or Sophia. Be sure to dive West End wall, MAGNIFICENT!
Ate at the Thirsty Turtle often, the dailiy special is hard to beat and Trivia night is lots of fun.

Room Tip: Schedule a trip about the island with Big Daddy and his van. Try to see Camp Bay Beach if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My family of six stayed in Casa Martin in West Bay Village from May20 2012 until the 31st. Wow. What an amazing location and fantastic accomodations. We had the beach to ourselves as in May there are very few cruise ships around and when they are they are no where near capacity.The snorkeling off the beach was absolutely fantastic. You only had to swim out a few yard and would start to get in great fish and coral and for the more adventourous a few hundred and word could not describe the abundance of sea life you would encounter. A must for any one who never has been. Brad and Ruth are great and made sure we had eveything we needed to make this the best beach vacation ever. This location can not be beat. We were right on the beach not steps away or a short walk ...it was amazing.
Zip lineing on south sore ziplines was fantastic and the guys made it a great fun experience.
Bodden tours Marty gave us a great tour of the island in his air conditioned suv which is very new and comfortably fit all six of us.His brother took us out fishing for a great rate and we caught numerous Tuna and a Barracuda which made a great lunch and dinner. All and all a great time. After we tour more of the caribean we will definently return. A+ all the way thanks Ruth and Brad.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakeythe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Henry Morgan Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Village

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, west Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in West Bay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Bay Village is an oasis of privately owned homes directly on West Bay Beach on Roatan, Honduras. Each charming house was built in the traditional island style with wood constriction and spacious decks. All the houses are individually owned and therefore unique in their own charm and character. You will find each home fully furnished to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Whether you need one, two or three bedrooms, we have the perfect house or houses for your family and friends! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Bay Village Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing