We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd year and it is still a charm”
Review of West Bay Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Bay Village
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“3rd year and it is still a charm”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

3rd return to west bay for our Parrothead group. Barefoot dream lower this year as opposed to Barefoot upper last year. ( Easier on the knees) Absolutely magnificient. Well equipped, plenty of room for 5 adults . Beach area is the greatest, I am posting some pictures of our dive trips and only a few taken off the property. Things to note . : Great grocery store in Coxen hole now. Caters to almost every culture with plenty of varied selection. If you buy meat, cook it fast.
Magiamos' , the little groceery store/deli in West Bay is closed on Sunday. good selection for a little store. Try subs or Pizza from the Monkey shop next door. For diving, only one way to go, Bananaram!!!! Ask for Martin, Marco, or Sophia. Be sure to dive West End wall, MAGNIFICENT!
Ate at the Thirsty Turtle often, the dailiy special is hard to beat and Trivia night is lots of fun.

Room Tip: Schedule a trip about the island with Big Daddy and his van. Try to see Camp Bay Beach if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    13
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My family of six stayed in Casa Martin in West Bay Village from May20 2012 until the 31st. Wow. What an amazing location and fantastic accomodations. We had the beach to ourselves as in May there are very few cruise ships around and when they are they are no where near capacity.The snorkeling off the beach was absolutely fantastic. You only had to swim out a few yard and would start to get in great fish and coral and for the more adventourous a few hundred and word could not describe the abundance of sea life you would encounter. A must for any one who never has been. Brad and Ruth are great and made sure we had eveything we needed to make this the best beach vacation ever. This location can not be beat. We were right on the beach not steps away or a short walk ...it was amazing.
Zip lineing on south sore ziplines was fantastic and the guys made it a great fun experience.
Bodden tours Marty gave us a great tour of the island in his air conditioned suv which is very new and comfortably fit all six of us.His brother took us out fishing for a great rate and we caught numerous Tuna and a Barracuda which made a great lunch and dinner. All and all a great time. After we tour more of the caribean we will definently return. A+ all the way thanks Ruth and Brad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakeythe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, TX
Level Contributor
205 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We rented the St. Mac's Beachfront Apartment and it was wonderful. Great location, well-stocked kitchen, great view just steps from the ocean, palm trees for shade and lounge chairs,
and great beach and snorkeling. The owners and managers are very helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at Barefoot Dream lower level for two weeks (March 17-31). We booked this location as we had a large group of people staying in the village and we wanted to be close to them all. When we arrived a day late because of airline mishaps, we were dissapointed to find the playpen hadn't yet been delivered (requested at time of booking), and found the house really run-down. Brad was able to find me a playpen eventually, but it smelled horribly of cat urine and he non-chalantly advised me that there were no other playpens available for my 6month old son - not cool. Thankfully, we were able to get one from another couple that were staying in the vilage.
The bedding linens/pillows were worn & uncomfortable, none of the dishes/utensils matched, we only had 2 bowls, the ensuite bathroom had no plug for the drain, the main bath bathroom shower was worn & the shower curtain was ratty & didn't do much to protect water from escaping. The drain in the main bath sink was broken, so my husband put a brush in it so water would drain out.
They provided us with 4 beach towels, but maid service came twice while we were there so the towels got pretty gross (as well as our linens - that sand gets everywhere). We had to pay extra for A/C, laundry and we found if we didn't tip the gardner enough he didn't replenish our water.
The positives -
the deck was where we spent most of our time. The PVC chairs are all falling apart, but we made due & the hammock was very comfortable. The beach was beautiful and only a few steps away, it was nice to have a private area where we could hang out, and security was constantly around keeping the locals & others out of the village. Our maid Lordes was great, she was really sweet and worked around the baby which was awesome.
Our family wouldn't return to this location, we found the cost was high for the amenities & we would probably stay at one of the resorts nearby next time we head to Roatan.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noosa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Our family of four stayed for 2 weeks at Monkey La La, one of the smaller houses of the seven in West Bay village. There is no water view from the house but it is a very short (about 100m walk to the beach and water) where you have your own (named) sun lounges which you can set out for the day. Monkey La La was a very comfortable home - made even better by the speedy and incredibly helpful service from Brad and Ruth, of Island House Roatan, who manage this group of houses.
The first lovely surprise when arriving from the late La Ceiba ferry, was the welcome package of food, coffee, beer. We had done a very big grocery shop at La Ceiba before catching the ferry (and we recommend that - wider range and better prices than on the island), but it was still a really nice welcome and we loved the banana bread!

As we were there for two birthdays and Christmas we noticed a few pieces of kitchen equipment missing that we would need and within no time at all Ruth delivered new items to us. We also mentioned that there was only one towel rail in the bathroom, for four of us (no one had apparently mentioned that before) and the handyman was over within hours of saying that with a new rail that he installed.

The location of the West Bay Village is the best on Roatan in our opinion. It is best to bring your own snorkels (hire is expensive if you plan on doing it regularly) and you can snorkel directly off the beach in front. The large Infinity Resort is immediately to the left of the houses, but we did not really notice it. The only issue we had was the ongoing construction of the apartments next door to Monkey La La. I would expect this might be completed now - but they were working pretty non stop during our stay (mid to late Dec 2011). Brad and Ruth allowed us to run the airconditioner and close the windows at no extra cost, to compensate. But there is no airconditioner in the living room, and with the windows closed it was very dark in there. We just chose to not let it bother us - as the place was otherwise fantastic and we really loved it.

We walked to West End and back one day and were quite surprised that the cafes, shops there were very expensive and of course the beach is no where near as nice. It just reaffirmed our decison to stay here.

None of us wanted to leave - and that includes our two teenage boys. We snorkelled for hours every day. Just fantastic and so easy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noosadreamboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband and I have visited Roatan 4 or 5 times before and always stayed at Infinity Bay. This was our first time to stay at St Macs Upper Level. We love Roatan because our main activity is snorkeling and on West Bay we can snorkel from the beach whenever we want instead of having to book a trip with a boat snorkeling tour. Also, the snorkeling was so easy. No waves or current to fight. We had seen St Macs before because it is right next door to where we ususally stay. We stayed at St Macs because we had 6 people going and wanted something right on the beach. The deck was the most used area of the home for our family. We loved being able to see everyone walking the beach and know when the sun was about to set so we could run out to the beach with our cameras right at sunset. We loved early morning coffee/tea on deck looking out over the calm waters. The kitchen is fully equipped and the owner provided us with a few essentials to start out with. (coffee, butter, eggs, muffins). The air conditioning worked great but seemed like it always struggled to keep up in the afternoon when the sun was hottest. The water pressure was low in the second bathroom but didn't seem to bother anyone but me. A few days before we left I found an outdoor shower at the back of the house which was nice to rinse off the saltwater. The security guards were great at keeping watch over everything and keeping vendors from approaching. There is a vegetable/fish truck that comes weekly. There were lounge chairs we could pull out to the beach or to our back yard. It was a great location and the vacation and home fit our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TennesseeNurseRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed in the St. Mac's beach apartment from August 6th-13th with my boyfriend and couldn't have asked for a better place, he actually tried to figure out a way for us to not go back home for another week! House was very well maintained with a great kitchen that is fully equipped and excellent location on the beach. The grounds were raked and leaves were picked up every morning, security on site the entire time which was a nice feeling, even though I am sure it was not needed. Brad was extremely helpful and quick to respond to emails and my ever annoying questions before and during our stay!

Stayed at a resort my first trip to Roatan and wasn't too pleased with the traffic and noise.. St. Mac's was close enough to the busier part of the beach but far enough away to escape it which was perfect!

Snorkeling right off of the beach to the left of the dock is spectacular, definite must. Bite on the Beach and Foster's were are go to places for lunch or you can buy stuff for lunch to make since it sure is hard to leave that beach and house! Water taxi's into town are cheap and right outside, or you can walk up the road and catch a cab into town.

Also would recommend renting a car to explore the island one day, Brad set this up for us and it was delivered from the airport at a very good price. Camp Bay Beach Adventure Lodge which is at the other end of the Island was a great place to spend the day, have lunch, take a nap on the beach and a nice swim. Maybe 45 minutes from West Bay.

Bring bug spray if you are like me and get bit by anything that can possibly bite or sting you! But other than that sunscreen, camera, bathing suit and toothbrush are all you will need!!

.. tried to upload photos but site will not let me..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise4805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Village

Property: West Bay Village
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, west Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in West Bay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Bay Village is an oasis of privately owned homes directly on West Bay Beach on Roatan, Honduras. Each charming house was built in the traditional island style with wood constriction and spacious decks. All the houses are individually owned and therefore unique in their own charm and character. You will find each home fully furnished to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Whether you need one, two or three bedrooms, we have the perfect house or houses for your family and friends! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Bay Village Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing